1996 Saab 900

Change Vehicle
1996 Saab 900
Available in 8 styles:  900 4dr Sedan SE shown
Asking Price Range
$232–$4,192
Estimated MPG

19–20 city / 26–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

So far, so good

by pmz2999 from Berlin,CT | February 7, 2013

Purchased a used 1996 Saab 900 SE turbo convertible because I always wanted to won a Saab and was in the market for a convertible. Love the car so far, it of course is used with 116,000 miles on it so it is not new, but I am enjoying it and look forward to summer days with the top down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car I ve ever owned!

by Saab Lover from Waukesha, WI | November 22, 2011

My car has over 260000miles on it and has just required routine matinence which I was able to do at home in my own garage due to the accesability of the parts and ease of repair. Large engine cavity makes it so easy to get at anything you need plus it gets great milage!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


181,000 and still going

by Nick from Philadelphia, PA | November 10, 2007

My saab has 181,000 miles on it original engine and manual transmission. The only think major i had to replace is the top but only because of the back window the actual top is in good condition and it was NOT garage kept. I love this car and will drive it until it drives no more and maybe after that i might just put another motor in it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


fantastic convertible

by Jeff from NC | March 9, 2007

1996 Saab 900 S convertible. Bought with 130,000 miles. Have thoroughly enjoyed driving for a year, loved it so much I bought a 2002 9-3 SE turbo on a semi-impulse. Turns heads, incredibly fun to drive with top down. Visibilty out the back with top up is better on the 9-3. Handles really well, much better feel for the road than my previous cars, Mazda 626, Nissan 240SX, Acura Integra. Most fun car to drive I've had since my 1982 280ZX turbo. Fairly reliable, a couple trips to the saab specialist but nothing major considering the mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Reliability and cost to repair make it a nightmare

by mikeyb from CA | December 7, 2006

I purchased a 1996 900S convertible earlier this year. The handles very well and has reasonable acceleration. It also very subtly attractive. It is "near luxury" car with leather seats, premium sound, and other bells and whistles. But within 2 months, the convertible top failed to a cost of $2800 even though it had been fixed the previous year. In addition, other minor but expensive failures make me extremely nervous about overall reliability. I think Saab/GM was still experimenting when they designed this car and I have heard that reliability has improved. However, I cannot recommend this model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great car for the money

by m@ from Kalamazoo, MI | October 29, 2006

I have wanted one of these for 14 years. I finally got one and it has over 120K miles on it. This car has a lot of pick up, the 2.0 liter engine with the turbo is outstanding. Mechanically it is very sound but you need to be someone who doesn't mind getting your hands dirty because the repair facilities act like it's a BMW. Parts are expensive at a dealer but you can get them reasonably from independent part shops and it is easy to work on. I loved my SAAB, but the back seat is a bit too snug with 3 kids.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


SAAB 900 Turbo

by Ex-SAAB Enthusiast from Washington DC | June 1, 2006

This car has been a repair nightmare. Major components fail at an alarming rate turbo($1400), fuel pump ($900), power steering pump ($920), plastic idler pulley failure , transmission mounts, front end work ($1100), and what seems like about a million repairs for various electronic component failures. The "Check Engine Light" is a feature that really gets a workout on this car. Now the check engine light is on, again and the transmission is hard up-shifting/down-shifting. This car drives great to and from the repair shop. Purchased SAAB when 4 years old and had 45,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


false vehicle description

by adam from Traverse City | May 22, 2006

vehicle does not have a/c, needs new timing belt, leather is in bad condition, sunroof does not work, much mechanical work needed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Saab 900

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.