1998 Saab 900

Change Vehicle
1998 Saab 900
Available in 6 styles:  900 2dr Hatchback S shown
Asking Price Range
$709–$5,257
Estimated MPG

20–22 city / 27–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

masquerade

by Want a used car from Hampton VA | June 19, 2014

I hated to rate all areas poor but I had no choice. I was never able to get in contact with the person listed as the point of contact. I was skeptical when I saw the zip code listed for Fort Washington was incorrect. I telephoned the number but it was not a working number. It probably was a cellular telephone number due to the area code which is not the area code for Fort Washington as well. My suggestion is to have someone from this website verify the information prior to posting it on the site.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Surprising Value for the Money

by Amazed Used Car Buyer from North Tustin, CA | November 29, 2010

Recently, my 16 year old son purchased a 1998 Saab 900S Convertible with 77K miles and a solid background of maintenance. Other that a hydrolic clutch cylinder, the car has been solid, is sufficiently underpowered for a young driver, and is a ton of fun. Since it is a manual transmission and we live in Southern California, the car was purchased for $3K due to the lack of demand. It is amazingly clean and has many of the features of my two year old E350.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


a good car

by saaboholic from rochester,new york | January 16, 2009

loved the car..i had total my 95se..at the time it needed a tune up..i had the wires that were really exspensive in the car at the time of accident..car really folded up easy but was really fast...it was a 6cyl..id put it in sport and do 100mph on a side street..gotta get me another

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Car...

by Lil' Jo from New York, NY | August 29, 2008

I am so sad to have to say goodbye to my '98 Saab 900SE. It served me very well, and I, unfortunately, was in an accident that totaled it. I'm heartbroken that Saab let go of the hatchback design, as I found it incredibly handy for hauling things on busy weekends, and yet having things kept private in the trunk. The handling was superb, and the seats very comfortable. I did go through a couple of periods of large expense, but then it would have smooth sailing for another 50K+ miles. It has 130,000, and I felt it could have gone a lot further.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Awesome Car For The Money!

by Saab For Life from Reno, NV | March 30, 2008

I purchased my 1998 Saab 900 SE Turbo Covertible about 3 years ago. I have put many miles on it, both city and freeway and the car keeping on running like a dream. At this time it has 156K on it. The water pump has been out now for 5 months, and the car's temp rarely goes up. For some reason people are affraid to own these cars, but truthfully the repairs are very far apart, right up there with my previous Accord's. It is also a car you can keep for many many years, as it is always recognizable as a Saab. Love it! Buy one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


fun and reliable

by Coach Mike from San Francisco | May 20, 2007

I love my Saab 900. All luxury features and never has had a problem. Great value for the $$$!!! Still looks and drives like its brand new 10 years later. People mistaken it for a new car. I keep mine (black) well polished and clean inside and out. Good gas mileafge too!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


great car for the buck

by Ron George from New England | June 16, 2006

I bought this car new for my sons 16th Birthday. He loved it ran it for 375K miles and now he just Purchased the same car same year he loved it so much. absolutely no issues on either one i bought the 1998 900 stripped and it currently has 285K on it and still goign strong Saab made a fantastic car on these 98 900s theyre even good in snow

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Saab 900

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.