1999 Saturn SL
Available in 1 styles:  SL 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$298–$5,490
Estimated MPG

29 city / 40 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

21 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

Best bang for your buck

by Blackstock local from Port Perry Canada | July 1, 2015

Bought the car used just over 6 years ago, 1 previous owner with 110K on it. It still runs like the day I bought it, and I have put very little money into it. With the body being all plastic you don't get much exterior damage. Great on gas and drives better then 95% of the vehicles on the road in winter. Only minor thing I have to say about it and may just be my model but it burns oil a little bit. Amazing first car for anyone or a commuter car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Almost 300K, and No End in Sight

by sosoclever from Lee County, Illinois | February 10, 2015

GM seriously dropped the ball when they closed Saturn. I bought this car new, and it will be turning over to 300,000 miles in the next six months. I won't be surprised if in another ten years I write another review saying it will turn over to 500,000 soon. As long as parts will be available when the old ones wear out, I think this car will just keep going. Last summer I was getting 38-42 mpg, mostly highway driving. (I don't use the a/c much.) This winter it's been getting 32-35 mpg. It has wintered outdoors in Northern Illinois since 2001, and starts right up. Older Saturns tend to burn oil, but as long as you get regular oil changes, that isn't a problem. It is a little low to the ground, which made it uncomfortable for my mom to get in and out of after having both hips replaced. I know that someday I will have to replace my car, and I doubt I will find another little workhorse like this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Unbelievable Find!

by PutPut77 from Rhinelander, WI | December 15, 2014

So I was in need of a very cheap yet reliable commuter car and I found a 1999 Saturn. It was still in very good condition with no rust and ran great. I checked the car fax and the report was clean. The car was a 1 owner with a good service history. It won't win a beauty contest or throw your head back against the seat when you punch the accelerator but I now have 193K miles on it and it doesn't miss a beat. It even drives through the snow like a champ. I still can't believe I found such a great cheap little car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My Go-Kart

by TBone from Orange County New York | March 13, 2014

Bought my 99SL used from a car lot about 6 years ago. I now have 250,000 miles. The only repair was shift cables and a temperature sensor, which I did myself. If you have any talent at all, regular maintenance like tuneups, brakes, and other wear and tear items are easy work so it's fun for a driveway mechanic. With its light weight, peppy little motor, manual steering and the 5 speed manual transmission, it can be a lot of fun to drive on windy country roads. At the same time, it is comfortable on the highway easily cruising at 75 or 80 mph. Average gas mileage is 35 mixed. More than enough head room, leg room, and pretty generous trunk room. It's a great little commuter car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The poor man's BMW (of the '90s)

by BMW Owner from Paducah, KY | October 20, 2013

I still have (and regularly drive) my 1999 SL1. It has 267,000+ miles on it and it still runs like the day I bought it new. Regular oil changes, not ragging it out, not modifying it, and not letting things go when they needed replacing or repairing was the ticket to this car's longevity. I think most people would be hard pressed to find a more reliable car requiring as little as this car needs to stay on the road. Still running on the original engine, transmission, timing chain, etc. Many Saturns were used as tow vehicles for RVs so if you can find one that has been towed a lot, it should have few miles and have many, many years of life left. Buying a used Saturn is actually a "greener" choice than buying a new hybrid.!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Reliable car, great on gas and easy to park.

by RandomShots174 from Bronx, NY | September 6, 2013

Great little car, big on reliability with few problems. Great on gas, spare parts are cheap, goes long on gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


safe economical car

by practical female driver from | May 2, 2013

My husband and I walked away from a head on crash that totaled my car last week. No broken bones. It was a very dependable car. Drove mountain pass safely in winter storms for over a decade. Much better mileage than most new cars on the market now. Also amazing amount of fold through space when seats are down. Very sorry to lose it . Only cars marketed overseas seem to rival it. Not sure why we don't get the fuel efficient models here in the states.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable-- 140,000 miles and runs great!

by notreallyacarperson from California | January 2, 2013

Bought this car more than 5 years ago. I'm the second owner. Didn't really know much about Saturns when I bought it, and so glad i did. Got 40 mpg driving from washington to california. still gets great mpg, though maybe not that much. Totally a basic model, but runs great. i'm starting to use it as a commuter car, and on the long drives i know it is not so great to handle. that and no power steering are its drawbacks. still it has been really reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Saturn SL2

by paperbogie from | April 1, 2011

I purchased this model used 8 years ago and it has been great. It's comfortable, tolerable if you're over 6 foot. It's a little low on power, but faster and smoother at freeway speeds than a subcompact. Great mileage and still fairly reliable after 130K. Would recommend full synthetic oil and replacing the transmission fluid every 30-40k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Highly recommended

by Eddie D. from Dallas | September 26, 2010

Its a shame saturn is no more. Dependeble car, great gas mileage. Great Eco-tech engine. GM is gonna wish they had keep this car company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

Featured Services for this Saturn SL

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.