See Also: 1999 Saturn SL1 | 1999 Saturn SL2

1999 Saturn SL

Change Vehicle

1999 Saturn SL

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  SL 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$866–$5,566

Estimated MPG

29 city / 40 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

My Go-Kart

by TBone from Orange County New York | March 13, 2014

Bought my 99SL used from a car lot about 6 years ago. I now have 250,000 miles. The only repair was shift cables and a temperature sensor, which I did myself. If you have any talent at all, regular maintenance like tuneups, brakes, and other wear and tear items are easy work so it's fun for a driveway mechanic. With its light weight, peppy little motor, manual steering and the 5 speed manual transmission, it can be a lot of fun to drive on windy country roads. At the same time, it is comfortable on the highway easily cruising at 75 or 80 mph. Average gas mileage is 35 mixed. More than enough head room, leg room, and pretty generous trunk room. It's a great little commuter car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The poor man's BMW (of the '90s)

by BMW Owner from Paducah, KY | October 20, 2013

I still have (and regularly drive) my 1999 SL1. It has 267,000+ miles on it and it still runs like the day I bought it new. Regular oil changes, not ragging it out, not modifying it, and not letting things go when they needed replacing or repairing was the ticket to this car's longevity. I think most people would be hard pressed to find a more reliable car requiring as little as this car needs to stay on the road. Still running on the original engine, transmission, timing chain, etc. Many Saturns were used as tow vehicles for RVs so if you can find one that has been towed a lot, it should have few miles and have many, many years of life left. Buying a used Saturn is actually a "greener" choice than buying a new hybrid.!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Reliable car, great on gas and easy to park.

by RandomShots174 from Bronx, NY | September 6, 2013

Great little car, big on reliability with few problems. Great on gas, spare parts are cheap, goes long on gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


safe economical car

by practical female driver from | May 2, 2013

My husband and I walked away from a head on crash that totaled my car last week. No broken bones. It was a very dependable car. Drove mountain pass safely in winter storms for over a decade. Much better mileage than most new cars on the market now. Also amazing amount of fold through space when seats are down. Very sorry to lose it . Only cars marketed overseas seem to rival it. Not sure why we don't get the fuel efficient models here in the states.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable-- 140,000 miles and runs great!

by notreallyacarperson from California | January 2, 2013

Bought this car more than 5 years ago. I'm the second owner. Didn't really know much about Saturns when I bought it, and so glad i did. Got 40 mpg driving from washington to california. still gets great mpg, though maybe not that much. Totally a basic model, but runs great. i'm starting to use it as a commuter car, and on the long drives i know it is not so great to handle. that and no power steering are its drawbacks. still it has been really reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Saturn SL2

by paperbogie from | April 1, 2011

I purchased this model used 8 years ago and it has been great. It's comfortable, tolerable if you're over 6 foot. It's a little low on power, but faster and smoother at freeway speeds than a subcompact. Great mileage and still fairly reliable after 130K. Would recommend full synthetic oil and replacing the transmission fluid every 30-40k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Highly recommended

by Eddie D. from Dallas | September 26, 2010

Its a shame saturn is no more. Dependeble car, great gas mileage. Great Eco-tech engine. GM is gonna wish they had keep this car company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Like a loyal pet.

by papershredder from | November 16, 2009

I bought it new. 174,000+ miles now. The most expensive thing I bought for it was the shifter cables @ $300.00. The cheapest was a steering wheel @ junkyard for $10 because the foam came off. I've always changed the oil myself and now it consumes it somehow at a Gallon per 3500 Mi. ...a super duper minor thing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car ever owned

by Miss my Saturn from All over US with this car | June 15, 2009

I bought my 1999 Saturn SL back in Feb 2000 with only 12K miles on it. I recently replaced it after 9 years and well over 150K miles of the best car owning I ever had. This car withstood everything from hours long stop and go Los Angeles traffic, to zooming through the mountains in the middle of the desert heat, to going cross country and handling the cold winter months. The only major problem I had was something in the steering colum had to be replaced, but found out afterwards it was a recall item that could have been done for free. The car still looked near new after all those miles. It ran great, held up to many hours of various driving situations, and was comfortable, even when full of passengers including my husband who is 6'1. A sound car that I wish could be replaced with a newer twin.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good car for gas mileage and very reliable car

by Justin from Jefferson, LA | January 20, 2009

My mother first owned it when she bought it new in 1998, she hardly had to replace anything, besides any basic maintenance (oil change, other things needed). the only thing she had to replace was the center console(in between the front seats) which was 40 bucks, very cheap! the car has now been passed down to me and it still runs good and has very good gas milage compared to most vehicles made in the late 1990's- early 2000. i love this car and is good for a first car, and a back-up just to store in case any other vehicles break down. it has always started up for me and i bet it will for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Saturn SL

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.