2012 Scion xB

Change Vehicle
2012 Scion xB

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2012 Scion xB 4dr Wagon shown
Asking Price Range
$12,759–$18,419
Estimated MPG

22 city / 28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

20 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Original owner

by Toaster Coaster from USA | July 16, 2014

I have owned this car for two years now and it is a good car. My only complaints are that the paint job is thin, so it gets scratched VERY quickly. Needs a better top coat. Also, I had no idea of this when I bought it, but you can not add a trailer hitch and tow anything, as well as can not put a roof rack on. None of it is recommended by the manufacturer. I didn't realize I would want that when I bought it, so now I have to find another vehicle that can. A good and fun drive otherwise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


great economy

by mr.c from Surprise, AZ | April 28, 2014

I have been impressed with the city mileage of which averages 27.6 city and a little above 30 highway. I havwe one question concerning the fuel tank. Spec's tell me that the vehicle fuel capacity is 14 gallons but my gauge shows empty at 10 gallons. Has anyone else had this problem

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


So far, so great!

by Jules from Louisville, KY | April 23, 2014

I've only had my Scion for a month, but all of my expectations have been met so far. I wanted a Toyota-made car and like the look of the Scion. Seeing such great reviews and hearing good word-of-mouth, we decided on the Xb. It's a fun car to drive, sitting a bit higher than a regular sedan. I love the sound system and bluetooth. It gets great gas mileage. The interior is amazingly roomy, much more so than you expect from the outside. It's a very comfortable ride. There are some gauges on the dash I've missed from my old car (temperature gauge, tenths indicator on the odometer), but not anything to make me not want this car. I've driven Toyotas my whole life and drove my last one until it died around 200k. Hoping to do that with this one too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


this car is awesome!

by Practical from Chicago area | April 6, 2014

I reluctantly traded in my failing 14 yr old van for something reliable and economical. After lots of research and stopping every xb owner I saw on the street for their review Idecided on an xb. I love this car!! Yesterday I carried 6 arbor vites trees, 5 bags of dirt and had room to spare! I thought Id miss my van . Not at all. Inside the car feels large. The car drives great, good gas mileage. Highly recommend! I bought mine used,2012 and hope to have it a long long time!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2012 Scion xB Review

by Maxxtruck9906 from | December 20, 2013

This is a great car! After 5 months of owning it, my 2 favorite things about it are 1.) It is near indestructible. And 2.) You can fit almost anything in it. I traded my 2006 Malibu Maxx in for it thinking, nothing can replace the Maxx. But, the xB is great! Got it and 14,000 miles, and it now has 24,000 miles. I highly recommend it! It is great for work, play. and family! Primary use is Work, and transporting Family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


We love our xB!

by Dougbert from Indiana | June 15, 2013

We purchased it 40,000 miles and three years ago. To date, our only expense has been an oil/filter change every 3k. As our grandchildren say: It look so small on outside, but it's so roomy on the inside. Handles great in wind and even in snow (as long as it's under 6" in depth)-- very stable. Delivers gas mileage far in excess of the EPA rating-- 28 mpg overall. Quality thru-out-- made in Japan. Amazing storage and flexibility. Powerful, smooth, quiet Camry engine. No rattles and noises. Is it a SUV, a hatchback, a station wagon, or a sports sedan? It has elements of all those. This car is underpriced by about $5,000, thus a bargain. The dealer said: Everyone we ask who purchased an xB says that they received much more vehicle than they expected to purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


love my xB

by ps23tlims from South Carolina | February 22, 2013

I own a 2012 release edition. I just love this car! I would recommend one to anybody. Mine gets very good gas mileage. It is roomy and comfortable. I OWNED a SUV prior to this car and thought I'd have trouble adjusting but not at all. The instrument cluster is in a perfect place, If the stereo is awesome. If I love the hands free phone/ipod too. If you are considering one, go give it a test drive. You'll fall in love.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Zippy Scion XB

by Scion Luva from richmond,va | December 28, 2012

so i got my 2012 scion xb about 2 weeks ago and i am in love. i have wanted one since they changed the body style back in 2008. after testing driving one every year i finally broke down and got one....super white....upgraded touch screen radio and added a spoiler. love it....roomy inside great sound very zippy on road. ive had ALOT of cars....camerys VW's fords....ect. but this is the car that seriously make me tickle in my pants...and for real guys we all want that car that makes us do that...even the ladies....cant help it. my only con is the gas.....kinda sloppy gas milage i average about 25 but the tank is very tiny...cost about 30$ to fill it up. and in about 300 miles you gotta do it again....my only downside. but other than that it totally worth it. Buy one or test drive one and feel it for yourself its a great Ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


GREAT AND AWESOME XB

by THE XB from ORANGE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA | December 15, 2012

I HAD SEVERAL CARS FROM ACURA TL, JETTA GL, CIVIC EX AND NOW MY 2012 SCION XB. I LOVE MY XB THE CAR I PURCHASED WITH 5K MILES ON IT. I LOVE THE SPACIOUS ROOM AND THE SAFETY FROM THE AIR BAGS. LOVE ITS HAS 158 HP ENGINE. THE ONLY THING I DONT LIKE ITS THE MPG I ONLY GET IN THE CITY AROUN 21MPG AND 28 IN THE HWY WHICH IS OK BUT ITS ONLY MY OPION, BUT OVERALL I LOVE THIS SCION XB.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


My car for me

by Car crazy from Kansas City, Mo. | August 23, 2012

It is very comfortable and does very good on the hiway Much roomier than people think. And very cute. I will retire soon so I plan to take trips in this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Scion xB.


Featured Services for this Scion xB

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.