2010 smart fortwo

Change Vehicle
2010 smart fortwo

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2010 smart fortwo 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$6,000–$12,916
Estimated MPG

33 city / 41 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 27 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 27 reviews

A Great Little Car

by HSnev from Florida | December 25, 2012

Great mileage, great performance, great style, great to be seen in, great trade in, great for in town driving, great parking.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great on gas

by smsrt driver from visalia,ca | February 1, 2012

This is a great car for city driving and commuting, its fun and enjoyable. Enough room for daily shopping

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


more than i expected

by size matters from hobart in | July 30, 2011

i reseached this car for two years. it turned out to be better than expected. i would purchase another with out question. if you are looking for a micro size car, mercedes benz has designed the perfect one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very nice commuter car

by Always looking for a better car/truck/van from St Petersburg, FL | December 24, 2010

We've owned our 2009 Smart Passion Convertible for two years, and love it. We ordered ours with every available option. We're getting 36 mpg A/C ON, and 39 mpg A/C OFF in mostly city driving. It's not meant to be a sports car. It's a commuter car. Driving around town in the auto mode, the transmission shifts smoothly. If you like jack-rabbit starts and race-car shifting, look elsewhere. The best car ever for parking in tight spots. Raise or lower the top on-the-go. Best MPG's for a non-hybrid. We own a Sprinter Van and an Outback, but do 80% of our driving in the Smart Car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car I have driven in over 40 years

by padi176715 from Norwalk, CT | December 20, 2010

If the car will fit your lifestyle, this is the best car going. Actual gas milage is much higher than epa and the comfort level is much better than expected. The fun factor is without equal. As for the highway, I drove mine from CT to Tucson, AZ and never had a highway, or any other, problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Perfect commuter vehicle

by Love My Smart from Houston, TX | November 15, 2010

My husband and I bought 2 Smarts in 2008, keeping our minivan for the times we need to carry more people. The 2 Smarts and the minivan all fit in our 2-car garage. The Smarts are so maneuverable and fun to drive, we find that we never get the van out. The ride is rough, but it is not a problem because I am not expecting a luxury car ride - and the car is small enough to avoid most of the potholes on my normal route. AC cuts 4 to 5 miles off the miles-per-gallon, but it does keep the car comfortable even in Houston. Cargo capacity is ample for normal shopping, and we have even carried large items by leaving the tailgate open and tying them down. Driving long distances would be better if it had cruise control.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A fun car to drive

by Jesse from Cary, North carolina | November 9, 2010

I have a 2008 passion. I have personally driven it 22 K both to commute to work and on trips. I have driven it on trips of 700, 1100, and 1300 miles. It never faltered or strained even though I was driving through the mountains of West Virginia. I is very much fun to drive as you fel as though you are part of the car since it is so small. It turns tight and handles very well. The acceleration is not so great but I use the manual shift function so I can wind it out to the next gear. The sound system is really good and the small cockpit acts as a sound chamber. Only problems I had had were (1) seat adjuster mechanism broke on driver's side as plastic license plate got stuck under the carpet (2) Latch on hatchback had to be replaced. Overall - I like the car and prefer to drive this versus my other car. One huge concern though is safety. Although the steel roll cage is very strong - I doubt anyone would survive any crash with a bigger car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love the car

by Teacher from Dallas, texas | October 9, 2010

had it a couple years, still love it. It is just a happy car, still gets stares from people all the time. We have taken it for long trips, and found it comfortable. We are averaging high 30's for overall use, easily getting over 40 on highway with air conditioner blowing. Only real knock would be road noise is a little high on the highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


They paid me to test drive it.

by Silly Smart from Ft Lauderdale | September 23, 2010

I heard that Smart was paying people $50 to test drive their car, so I decided to try it out. Upon completion of my test drive, I felt ripped off. I wouldn't drive this thing again if thay offered me $500! Anybody who would pay around 15 grand for the smallest, lousiest driving, most imprctical vehicle on the road would have to be an idiot. Good luck to the suckers that own a Smart, they can use it as a nice casket after getting into an accident with a grown-up car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Smart Survivor

by No more awful commutes from Memphis | August 2, 2010

I bought a Smart Passion here in Memphis for 18k. The fun of this car wears out quickly after a few months and I found out that this car is nothing but a pain in the a**. The Smart can't even manage the smallest of bumps God forbid you hit a pothole. Make sure your chiropractor isn't too far away! The engine is just behind the seats under a small lid. It gets pretty hot in Memphis during the Summer and the heat from the droaning engine leaks into the passenger compartment. The A/C can't even keep up. The acceleration is deplorable with the A/C off. With it on, the Smart will likely reach 60mph in about 25 or so seconds! The only reason anyone would give this piece of trash a good rating is to reinforce the worst purchase of their lives. What a total disaster!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I got rid of it and bought a Toyota Corolla brand new for less money than the Smart.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 27 reviews

Featured Services for this smart fortwo

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.