2013 Subaru BRZ

Change Vehicle
2013 Subaru BRZ
Available in 2 styles:  Subaru BRZ 2013 shown
Asking Price Range
$14,708–$25,096
Estimated MPG

22 city / 30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Flashy Toy

by Erik from Lemoyne, PA | July 19, 2016

People stare, take pictures, and stop and talk to you about this car. It gets a ton of attention both on the road and in the parking lot. That can be a good or really bad thing. The touch screen flat out sucks. The base sound system is average at best for a new car. I loved the rest of the interior, both looks and feel. It felt nice for a sub $30k car... Minus the plastic dash piece that is asking to get scratched. It's an almost perfect sports car, the reviewers weren't wrong. Everything just falls in to place when you sit in it. The pedals and shifter are perfect distances, the steering as a wonderful feel. This car makes you want to drive fast, and you will. Now, it's not 1/4mile fast. But it's MUCH FASTER than the average car, especially on windy roads. What's even better is that on skinny tires, you don't need to go fast to have fun The pure driving enjoyment from this car is almost indescribable. On top of that, you get 30+mpg. It's a truly livable combo of Street and Track Things like crickets, and the notchy shifter gets old after a while. It's not exactly a quiet or compliant ride, especially living in PA. It's honestly what one would expect from a "pure" sports car that is inexpensive. It's kinda fast, handles well, bumps around a bit, but gives huge smiles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


more than I expected

by low flyer from Wyoming | April 20, 2014

What a great sports car! It rides like it on rails. the options on the limited are fab. The economy is outstanding 34MPG highway. the only thing i miss is the miles until empty option.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love my BRZ

by Rosco from Denver, Co | September 21, 2013

Purchased the BRZ 4 weeks ago. I love driving this car. Gets lots of looks.Fun to drive. Excellent cornering ability. Had a 1984 300z. Got rid of it when kids were born. Now they are off to college. Test drove the new 370z. Fast engine but probably would get me a lot of tickets. The z rode a little smoother than the BRZ. But I purchased the BRZ because it got better gas mileage and had more amenities for the price. Also could fit my golf clubs in the back. Could not in the Z. Averaging 30 miles to gallon love that.. Some people have a hard time understanding me on the bluetooth. Would be nice to have controls on steering wheel. Im sure that will come out next model or so. The navigation system is from 2008. Have to tr;y and update. The car salesman told me what do. You would think Subaru would update new cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


a new toy

by almost 50 from milwaukee, WI | July 28, 2013

I purchased a BRZ looking for the following: a sporty coupe with some zip, a manual transmission, looks really cool, and not too common, but not too expensive. I would have liked something that could seat 4 if needed. The BRZ satisfied all the above except the seating. You can really only seat 3. The driver needs the seat all the way back to drive a manual. But other than that, the car is great. Performance is very good, controls are efficient, and the car really turns heads. It's not a Porsche, but for $26K this is a really good car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Sporty Car for a Great Price

by Sporty Car Guy from New Mexico | July 11, 2013

Here on cars.com I was able to find the car I had my eye on for a price that was to good to be true. The car is excellent for the person who love sporty cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


This or a 911?

by Rod from Vermont | June 15, 2013

I swapped my 997 series 911 Carrera S for this. I was driving the 911 way too fast too much of the time and didn't feel relaxed parking on the street. With the BRZ you get similar smiles but at lower speeds. Steering, and braking feel similar to the 911. Gearshift precision is actually better as are the seats and the chuckability; I always knew that if I got the 911 wrong it had the power to put me in the weeds at speed - probably backwards. The BRZ needs to be pushed constantly compared to the 911 which is not surprising; I do think another 75bhp would make a huge difference, along with a better exhaust note. There's a great feeling of tautness with the BRZ that reminds me of a friend's Elise and an Evora I once drove; "light on its feet". In practice, without risking your licence too much, the BRZ is going to be maybe 5mph slower point-to-point at less than 10% of the cost.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fantastic Car!

by Super Fan from North Carolina | June 1, 2013

Pros: - Excellent handling in the turns - Clean lines give the car a sporty yet classy look - Gas mileage is great for the power the engines gives - Powerful enough to tackle the hills in a driving course - This car is a head turner! Cons: - None so far!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great car, great value

by Lionbacker from Toledo oh | May 19, 2013

Great car. Looks even better in person. Great drivers' car which is also really great value. I got every single option possible and still paid under $28k. Unbelievable

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Amazing

by Mike D from Maryland | March 25, 2013

This car screams value for money. Fun, exciting, reliable, dependable, decently economic, comfortable, oh and did I say fun? I use this car as my every day driver and I literally cannot wait to get to drive it again. I own the Limited edition in the World Rally Blue (the same blue you see on WRX/STI model Subaru's) and this has not disappointed. All the rave reviews this car has are on point. People who complain about lack of power may have a small point, but how often do you get to use ALL of a cars power? Not too often. But for what it does have, it does the job nicely. The seats are very comfortable. I'm 6'3'' and fit easily inside the driver seat, plenty of leg room and head room, I actually moved the seat UP (vertically) for better driving position. The backseat's best purpose is that it folds down and you gain more cargo space, fitting people back there and expecting them to be comfortable will be close to a crime, they are basically insurance seats so that the car is not classified as a two seater. The center console/touch screen navigation system is a bit tedious and the voice controls are basically worthless. You cannot access your phonebook (if you've synced your phone with the car) by voice or by touch if the car is in motion as a safety feature, the limited access by touch I can understand, but voice should be able to over ride that and it doesn't. The gauges are well executed and the RPM as the center readout is ideal. It's a bit silly they have a needle as well as digital readout for the speed, but it is fun watching the needle go up. Overall the interior has some nice features but they won't blow you away. But lets get back to the point of this car. It brings back the fun in driving, its seen as more of a joy than a hassle in this car. I smile with every twist and turn with this car and it has yet to disappoint and honestly, I don't expect it to.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


It's Awesome!

by Mike from Wyoming | September 1, 2012

Overall rating is only 4 stars because of the following: Comfort: A little tight on the right leg due to my 6'2" stature, the material on the center console sides is not soft so it's a bit rough on the knee. Otherwise the car fits like a glove; seats are wonderful! Performance: Handling is just amazing. This car takes previously fun, curvy roads, and makes them boring! But in a good way. The car corners very well and shifts what little weight it has with a very nice predictability. Exterior Styling: I think it's beautiful. The paint chips easily though, it's not a very hard paint. Interior Design: Very utilitarian, it's meant to be driven for entertainment, not sat in to be entertaining. Steering wheel controls would have been nice and auto seat recline memory would have been great. Those are my only two complaints. Oh, the stereo sucks, but that's VERY easy to fix. Value for the Money: Even at MSRP this thing is an amazing value for what you get. I bought my wife a 2013 Mustang GT/CS that cost 3k more, and I bought it about 2350 under invoice. It only beats the BRZ due to it's increased size (comfort) and insane horespower. The BRZ is a real value if you know what you are getting, this isn't a cruising car for long road trips. Though I wouldn't mind doing that in it, it's very comfortable anyway. Reliability: It's having some toothing issues. Passenger window won't always auto-up. Some rattles I had to take care of. There are reports of some engine issues. It's picky on gas, stay away from 10% ethanol gas. But it's a Toyota/Subaru vehicle so long term I'm not worried. Overall the best car I've ever bought!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2013 Subaru BRZ.


Featured Services for this Subaru BRZ

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.