1998 Subaru Forester

Change Vehicle

1998 Subaru Forester

Available in 3 styles:  Forester shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,133–$6,749

Estimated MPG

21 city / 29.4 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Bought the Forester for my wife.

by Sarge from Western N.C. | July 29, 2013

My wife needed a newer car after researching the AWD Forester I knew this was to car for her. In 1967 I bought a Volvo 145 over the years we have had 11 Volvos. So it was time for a change. The Styling was a big plus, The ratings reflect the only two drawbacks. This is my wife's car, She is 5'1", I am 6"2". I fit in it fine but I drive a RAM Van 2500 Conversion Van. And there is quite a difference in comfort. The Performance is fine for a small engine. Again I have the 360 ci in my van. All in all it's a great car and she loves it. No more Volvos for her.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Forrester Love from baltimore, md | January 12, 2012

I bought this car used but it has been very reliable and fun to drive. It has lot of head room and cargo room. The back seat leg room is average, but the seats are comfortable. It has a lot of pep for a 4 cylinder car, and handles great in poor weather.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Expensive repairs needed

by BoldDreamer from Rochester, NY | December 5, 2011

Head gasket replacement mandatory. Arcing ignition coil fixed. Gas tank and fuel lines replaced. Rear wheel bearings replaced several times. CV boots and axles replaced. Rear window defroster not working. No leg room for back seat passengers. AWD great going up icy hills. Side mirror defrosters and heat seaters worth the expense. Gas mileage only fair. Next car will be hybrid.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Awesome All-around, Safe and Fun

by Pinchpenny Off-roading Family Man from South Dakota | December 4, 2010

'98 Forester L: still love it (Dec '10). It's a beautiful thing. So fun, safe, good w gas, reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Extremely reliable, roomy, and stylish

by Subaru Driver For Life from New England | June 21, 2009

I have owned many Subaru models of different years and models, but my 98 Forrester has be my favorite. There is a ton of room for my dog and I. All-wheel drive is essential where I live and the car's wide tire base asserts control over any conditions. The vehicle is great on gas which was a Godsend when prices were sky high. Ask anyone you know who has a Forrester from around this year, and they'll all tell you the same thing: "I LOVE IT!"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


lots of miles --- reliable

by whirlwind from blue ridge mountains, Virginia | July 31, 2008

This vehicle now has 231,000 miles on it and is still going strong. It has lived in the high deserts of the southwest and in the blue ridge mountains of Virginia and has been driven from Baja to Quebec and a lot of other places in between. Upkeep has been minimal. I've had the timing belt replaced twice, regular oil changes, new tires, cv joints... not that much considering all the miles it has carried me without a problem! Am about to get another, newer one. There are known issues with the 2.5 liter engine --head gasket problems, but so far it has been OK. (added some Barr's a while ago).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Pretty Sturdy

by Jake in Issaquah from Issaquah, WA | March 10, 2008

This Forester will be 10 years old next July and it is approaching 200,000 miles. It blew a head gasket at about 93,00--pretty early for something like that--but other than that, routine maintenance has kept it going pretty well. It's at the point where I had to put in a new clutch about 6 months ago and the heater coil and water pump just had to be replaced but it has been reliable and sturdy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very reliable car

by German Car Enthusiast from Los Angeles, CA | January 22, 2007

Never had a problem until a sharp metal debri punctured the radiator causing the engine to overheat and crack the engine block. Other than the one incident, this vehicle requires minimal maintenance and repair aside from oil changes and tune-up. Low cost to operate and maintain. Great for hauling and trips to Home Depot. Preppy engine and good gas mileage for an AWD vehicle. Better than a gas guzzling SUV and gets the job done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Ugly but awesome

by Bob from Chicago, IL | May 25, 2006

I have to admit that the Subaru Forester is an ugly vehicle. BUT, it gets the job done. I took a chance and bought this car in its first year. The payoff has been great. 142K miles later, I have had minimal problems and nothing but overall satisfaction from its ability to take a pounding and keep on moving. Even as a wedding DJ, I can fit more gear in my car than most guys can in their small SUVs. I even bought my wife a 2002 Forester and convinced my buddy (and his dad) to get a Outback. Everyone has been thrilled. Ugly but awesome. U R a Bus when you drive a Sub a r U.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


98 Subaru Forester

by former subaru owner from Boulder, CO | May 11, 2006

we have had a lot of problems with this vehicle. Engine had to be replaced at 90K miles due to a known flaw of the main gasket tearing and allowing the pressure in the engine to pressurize the coolant lines, which pushes the coolant out of the radiator. Subaru knows about this problem but since it only effects 28% of the vehicles it is not a recall. other than the engine problem was a good vechicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Forester

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.