2000 Subaru Forester

Change Vehicle
2000 Subaru Forester
Available in 2 styles:  2000 Subaru Forester 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$1,979–$7,715
Estimated MPG

21 city / 28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Great vehicle that we're looking to a second one

by goob from boscobel, wi | October 29, 2013

We got a 2001 forester as a hand me down from my sister in law who bought it used for their oldest son whom didn't like it. Glad he didn't because we LOVE it! We have two kids ages 8 and 3 and it fits our family of 4 perfectly. It has taken us on several road trips and is awesome in the winter months here. Very reliable and dependable car when you take care of it. Ours is almost at 200k miles and still going strong. We are looking for a second vehicle as work schedules have changed and looking to get another one. I believe the cargo space is pretty amazing as well. We live in farm country and drive towards the city to do a monthly bulk shopping at Sam's Club and it hold everything we need without having to pile everything up to the roof of the car, and that's with both kids still sitting in the back seat. No need to use the fold down seats. Ours is a basic model with power windows and locks, am/fm radio and a cassette player. This an all around great family car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


don"t do it.

by julianne from pittsburgh pa | September 9, 2013

4 monthes and 3000 after i bought it from a private owner (no warranty) my trannsmission completely crapped out. same exaxct to 2 others i know

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best small SUV

by radar from Indiana | July 5, 2013

These Forester SUVs are great! Very reliable engine and drive system. If you take care of it, should give you 250,000 miles for sure! They also are safe in case of collision. Our first one hit black ice and had no chance but the vehicle took the hit and my family was unhurt. Usually snow and ice are no issue for these cars. With the sound system upgrade with CD player the sound is impressive. It handles like a car, purrs like a kitten on the highway, has plenty of acceleration and has rear seats that easily fold down to provide lots of cargo room. The roof rack enables you to carry skis, bikes, whatever and plenty of places to tie off or clamp down. We are on our second Forester and it may last us until we are too darned old to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


love my car

by bw from MI | December 18, 2010

Never ever any problem with my "subie." I keep passing up the fancys in the ditch with our icy <20 degree weather

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable Ride

by HRGuy OH from Hiram, OH | August 11, 2010

Owned a '00 Forester for over 7 years - except for a wheel bearing, nothing more than typical maintenance items for 136K miles - traded it in for a RAV4 that didn't compare favorably to the Forester. The car was unstoppable in the snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great on Snow

by KLR650 from Bountiful, UT | July 14, 2010

One of the best cars we have ever owned. Great on snow and around town. Very reliable. Sometimes expensive to service but services other than regular maintenance are rare

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Used 2000 Subaru Forester L

by IndyJones73 from San Francisco, CA | March 31, 2010

My wife and I purchased this car used with 144k miles for my mother-in-law. It came equipped with power windows and locks, a/c, am/f,m/cd stereo, automatic, leather interior, abs, and awd. The previous owner had kept meticulous records and had the car mechanically serviced religiously. My independent mechanic said it was in great shape and a solid car. After a new set of tires, an alignment job, and a professional interior and exterior detail (wet sanding, clay bar, wax, shampoo of interior, and steam clean of engine bay) the car looked and drove darn near as good as new. The car is serving my mother-in-law reliably and comfortably, and she now has a safe and dependable vehicle to take my daughter out in. I would recommend this car to anybody looking for a car where safety and reliability are first and foremost. The creature comforts inside are somewhat lacking compared to newer cars, but still offer a comfortable ride. The performance is adequate, and capable for routine driving on city streets and the highway. It is a good all around compact quasi-suv.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great car in bad weather

by merlotsherry from Wisconsin | March 16, 2010

I love my Subaru. This car doesn't think it's a car, it thinks its a hummer! goes anywhere, does whatever I want.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Forester

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.