2002 Subaru Forester

Change Vehicle

2002 Subaru Forester

Available in 2 styles:  2002 Subaru Forester shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$4,700–$5,700

Est. MPG

21 city / 27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

A true die-hard!

by Drivin' my life away from Fairfield, PA | March 4, 2014

Am finally getting ready to put my 2002 Whoop-Dee-Doo to rest. Bought it new and it's at 286,700+ miles now. Clutch is slipping (original clutch, mind you), and the seals around the head gasket have just begun to leak. Those two issues plus a couple of little things (like the clock and CD player quitting over the past few months) finally made me decide to move forward. But it has been an extremely reliable car for a long time and a lot of miles. And by the way, you can turn that annoying honk of a beep off! Loved it so much that I just bought a 2010 Forester 2.5 X Premium with 44K miles on it. May it serve me as well! Some of the features have been improved upon (like the cupholders and the beep), but there are also a few things I miss from my old Whoop-Dee ...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Maintenance costs are too high

by SRJ from Redwood City, CA | July 31, 2013

I've had my 2002 subaru forester since it was brand new. My unhappiness with this vehicle is because of the maintenance costs and the unreliability of the vehicle. I have spent more money maintaining this vehicle than any other I've owned. 168,00 miles and I'm on my 3rd clutch, with the current one showing signs it needs replacing. There is always some wheel or bearing issue. The original catalytic converter needed replacing. The CV joints have been replaced 3 times. I've always maintained the vehicle as recommended on time, yet had to do an engine rebuild and head gasket at around 120K. In addition, the check engine light has been ON about 80% of the life of the car. As soon as I repair what the computer says needs repairing, the check engine light comes back on. Very frustrating. Not a car that I'd recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


SUBARUS RULE

by LUV MY SUBIE from BOTHELL, WA | January 16, 2012

THIS IS MY 3RD SUBARU...2ND FORESTER. THESE ARE GREAT CARS THAT KEEP ON GOING NO MATTER WHAT. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A DEPENDABLE ALL WHEEL DRIVE CAR THAT LASTS

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great car

by Fishermen from Bloomsburg Pa. | January 10, 2012

love the car subaru is very well built very reliable i will buy another subaru in the future the maintance on the car is min and the all wheel drive is great it has a lotof room and the roof rack is great to hull the kayak

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Customer Service deserves 2 thumb up!

by Artsy fartsy travellin kid from kansas City, MO | August 18, 2011

While a few kinks had been overlooked, the car salesmen ensured my satisfaction by guaranteeing me that he would do everything to replace anything that wasn't working properly. A job well done to both salemen and his mechanic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car I have owned

by Love my Buru from New Jersey | May 24, 2011

I have had Hondas, Fords, Nissans, Mazdas, and now a Subaru Forester. I have had this car for a year now, I have the S model, with the winter package, 5 speed manual transmission. I love how the car moves around corners while downshifting. Ride is smooth and quiet. I like driving it more then my wifes 2007 Forester...The manual responds better then her automatic. The only cons are the cup holders are in a poor spot and the back seat is a little snug when you put a car seat in. Besides for that, I love this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


exactly what i wanted

by joey from mount pleasant ,sc | May 8, 2011

the stick is smooth as can be and quiet, i have to look at the gauge to remember to change gears. tons of hidden spots for glasses and cellphones and such. drives well on the highway with little correction. at 130,000 miles it still feels new. plenty of room for kids and dog, and my drums.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Utility Car

by Outdoor Driver from Pacific Northwest | December 25, 2010

I own a 2002 Forester S and am quite satisfied with it. The difference between a L and S are worth saving for the S. It has the best sun roof I have ever seen in a car, heated leather seats, heated mirrors, heated windshield wipers, a 6 CD player/radio that sounds quite good. The car has been quite reliable, and drives great. The view from the drivers seat is wide, helping with safety. The car handles great in all conditions, especially snow. It looks a little boxy, which turns some people off, but performs well. I don't want to sound negative, but buyers want to know: The biggest knock on the older Subarus are the seals. Expect to change some of the gaskets before 200,000 miles. The head gasket being most expensive. I have yet to do this on mine, but have recently done the valve gasket and oil seals. You can delay this issue by changing the oil and coolant on time, every time, using oil treatment, or synthetic oil. The good news though is once you are over this bump the car will likely last 300,000 miles before something else major goes wrong. Outside of the above, I've had only a spatter of tiny issues, such as headlight bulbs, wiper blades, or dash bulbs, that are common and easy to fix. - Overall, this is just a great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Car and Reliable for a Single Momma of 2

by Vee from Los Angeles | August 24, 2010

i bought this vehicle brand new in 2002 and it runs spectacular. There have been no issues. I have towed a Boat and jet ski's as well as another car and no adverse reactions. This is a very depependable car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great car! Incredible Value

by Lou Bones from Ulster County, NY | August 7, 2010

I have loved this car since I bought it. It handles really well, and is especially reliable in snow and rough winter weather. It's a really classy car. In dash cd changer plays 6 cds; sound system is incredible. Retractable sun/moon roof. Power everything. Decent gas millage. And reliability. All for a reasonable price. I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2002 Subaru Forester.


Featured Services for this Subaru Forester

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.