2004 Subaru Forester

Change Vehicle
2004 Subaru Forester

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2004 Subaru Forester 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$4,009–$11,469
Estimated MPG

18–21 city / 23–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

Quality and Ambiance

by Subie --thusiast from Kansas City, MO | July 23, 2014

I am very happy with my purchase of a 2004 Subaru Forester! Wonderful all around visual field—like having lodge seats at a movie house and optional sound-track score, wonderful stability on the road—none of that creepy sway effect, good acceleration, good gas mileage, an interior that is comfortable, attractive and cargo effective, dependable and good safety record/features.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Amazing, dependable, affordable, and won't disappo

by Subaru Fanboy from Philadelphia, PA | February 21, 2012

I am the single -owner (now former owner after selling this car) of a Subaru Forester 2004 WS car. Bought it new in 2004 and fell in love with it over the course of the next few years. never gave me any problems, no maintenance issues, NEVER gave me a check engine light, performed routine maintenance as per owner's manual, and handled well in snow (I live in the Northeast). If you're looking for a small SUV, with good gas mileage (24-26mpg highway), great cargo room, and reliable handling, you should definitely consider this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great little car

by Myothercarismuscle from Rochester,NY | January 6, 2012

The only problem is the light tan carpeting. It gets dirty very easily. Would select different color carpet. Wife loves the heated seats as we live in very cold winter climate. Otherwise has been great car and is really amazing in the snow with the all wheel drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Sic years with a Forrester

by Lore's husband from Ogden, UT | December 14, 2011

After 66,000 miles, this car has been absolutely trouble free. Due to the four wheel drive, maximum mileage is limited to about 31 mpg, a little low for a car and engine this small. Ride on highway is choppy, due to short wheelbase. Not particularly quiet, due to SUV configuration and 4 cyl. engine. Lots of headroom and overall comfort for this size car. Very surefooted in rain and snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Lots of power

by ForesterXT from Reedsville,Pa | May 17, 2011

I bought the 2004 Subaru Forester XT(Turbo) and it has lots of power and speed to pass other vehicles or entering a on ramp and it is really nice in the interior as well as exterior. I really like the car. The down side is the ride is a little rougher than the legacy outback and if you do your own maintenance work, the spark plug replacement on this forester is next to impossible due to lack of space between the head covers and the frame on each side of the engine compartment especially on the #4 cylinder next to driver firewall. I will be taking my forester to the garage and let them fight to get the sparkplugs out and new ones in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Solid vehicle with some quirks

by SubieNJ from NJ | February 9, 2011

The car is solid. Doors slam shut and feel solid. It is like driving around in a nimble little tank. That is the best thing about the car...the gas mileage, nimbleness and handling are all really good considering the solid feeling of the car. So far so good on reliabGas mileage is solid for a car with awd and this size cargo area. ility, but mine only has 62,000 miles on it. On the downside: Excessive wind-noise at highway speed. I think the boxy shape of the car and window design cause this problem. It is really loud on the highway. There is also some kind of rattle in the engine when accelerating. I have researched this issue and it is common and difficult to fix. If you can deal with these quirks, you got yourself a solid car that is a pleasure to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Fantastic Forester Deal

by JCMB from Southeastern PA | December 29, 2010

This was the first time I used Cars.com to search for a car, and the results were fantastic! I've purchased 14 cars in my lifetime, and this was without a doubt the most amazing deal out of those 14 transactions. One of the key factors involved was the fact that I was searching and had lots of time to "wait" for the car that I wanted (or better yet, the right deal). This car was purchased as my daughter's college car, and I had a good six month window of time before needing to pull the trigger. This gave me plenty of time to "watch" the cars being listed and sold- which gives you a good idea of the pricing in the market for the particular model of interest. I found a 2004 Forester XT (turbo charged model), and the deal was amazing- as the dealer was not a Subaru dealer and just wanted to move the car off the lot quickly. Low miles, excellent condition- and most importantly, I have a very happy daughter that is going to have a very reliable and safe vehicle for her college years. Thanks, Cars.com- I'll be back again when it's time to search for our next car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent Car for the Money

by PAC from Vermont | June 8, 2010

I've had my Forest for six years and it drives as well as it did the day I bought it. I live in a snow belt and have never had a problem getting anywhere, even in 2ft of snow. I also live on a dirt road and the Forester handles both the mud (in the spring) and the bumps with ease. While not the most exiting car to drive or look at, it is one of the best most reliable cars I've ever owned. Its got 109,000 miles on it and no major maintenance other than standard things like timing belt replacement. In fact it still has its original exhaust system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


first Subaru in family

by Paul, US Army from Richmond, VA | April 19, 2010

The all wheel drive is very effective and impressive in snow and rain. Great seating position, visibility, headroom and overall comfort. Averages close to 30 mpg. Outstanding overall quality, reliability and value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Is That an Engine or a Popcorn Popper

by Thrifty Bob from Chicago, IL | February 24, 2010

This was a top of the line Forester with leather, heated seats, etc. we bought new. It was our 3rd Subaru and had the specified dealer service and lots of washing & waxing. Had 3 major problems: - some part of the door latches were defective and broke off inside each front door - couldn't open the doors. - a sensor malfunctioned and we had to get the car towed to the dealer, only to be informed the extended warranty didn't cover anything. A letter to the Subaru U.S. President finally got us reimbursed. - at 75,000 miles the engine head gasket began leaking oil with failure imminent (according to dealer). Antifreeze head gasket leaks were covered by a special extended warranty, but not oil leaks. The dealer explained that the horizontal cylinders mean that the head gaskets are always in contact with the motor oil. By now the typical Subaru piston slap was so bad it sounded like a riveting machine, so we traded it in on a Mazda 3 and split the repair cost with the Subaru/Mazda dealer. We are all done with Subarus - the engines seem to act up and are not reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Forester

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.