2008 Subaru Forester

Change Vehicle
2008 Subaru Forester
Available in 5 styles:  2008 Subaru Forester 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$5,632–$16,080
Estimated MPG

19–20 city / 24–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Love my 2008 LLBean Subaru Forester

by Yetkd from Teaneck, NJ | May 15, 2014

This is the best car I have EVER owned. The moonroof is AWESOME!!, it rides smooth as butter and the interior is elegant and high quality. The only issue is you hear a little outside noise when driving, but hey, you also have that great sound system to drown it out. It handles like a dream, the color is classic and it comes with heated seats!!! Love It!! If you can find one, buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Swiss Army Knife of Cars

by 3rd Subaru from DC | November 26, 2013

These vehicles are long term reliable. The only complaint is that on the less expensive models the seats can be uncomfortable. However, if you bring along a small memory foam pillow for long hauls that seems to work. The AWD is fantastic for any road condition. The engines, maintained properly can last in excess of 250,000 miles. I base that on actual experience. My 2008 has 135,000 miles and required spark plugs and plug wires at 124,000 miles. Make sure you use spark plug wire grease on the wires or they won't make a good connection. They are reliable and the new models have better seats and the price is right. Buy it and drive it. The body integrity and engine are good for the long haul. For the price you can't beat it. We regularly drive from DC to the Myrtle Beach area and the car gets around 27 mpg and more in highway driving. It's completely safe in the rain and that makes for pleasurable driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Lives up to its promise

by convertible lover from Hillsdale Ontario | August 28, 2012

The 2008 Forester is new to me and replaces a Ford Focus which I loved. I found that at age 80 I was using the hand grip over the door to haul myself out. The taller Forester solved that.I can exit and enter with ease. I was surprised that my 2003 Focus had nice little touches that the 2008 Forester lacks. I think the Forester's instrument lighting is poor. With the too quiet clicking and dim lighting of the turn signals I neither see or hear when they're on. Why aren't the turn signal lights on the dash as bright as the cruise control? Insturment lighting is generally too dim. I have 2 choices: wear sunglasses and say bye bye to instruments or go without sunglasses and say bye bye to instruments as glare shuts down my irises and I squint. Turning on headlights proves iinstrument lights are only good at night. But in all other respects I love the car. With a sunroof and frameless windows I can almost convince myself I'm in a convertible. With the ease of folding the rear seat backs it quickly becomes a little workhorse for carrying weeds to the dump etc. Great cottage car. Roomy, comfortable and peppy. It is pretty much good for anything I might want to do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable car

by awd enthusiast from MSP | December 20, 2011

Bought used with 73000miles. Great cargo area for bringing home a Christmas tree or other big stuff. When it snowed, it went great on through. Dashboard stuff is real practical and easy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


We love our Forester

by Brandon from Seattle, WA | December 21, 2010

This car does just what we want it to do. It gets reasonable gas millage around town, and handles potholed mountain roads better than many SUVs I've driven. The AWD is great on snow and ice. We've had no problems at all in over 30,000 miles. Probably the only complaint I can think of is an illusive squeak that sometimes comes from the dash when it is cold.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


reliabllity

by classiccaccollector from Pa. | January 12, 2010

excellent bad weather car. A few minor problems, inexpensive to maintain except for yokohama tires,poor tread life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Decent car but very uncomfortable

by Bobsy from Pennsylvania | September 1, 2009

This is my second forester. Purchased a 1999 new and loved it. Bought a new 2008 and it handles well and performs well but the interior is uncomfortable. The driver seat is hard and after a 100 miles it hurts my back. The layout for the controls are poor and very small. It requires you to take your eye off the road to adjust the a/c, etc. The Yokohama tires are a joke. Need to be more M & S, not a street tire. Auto tranny shifts well, that surprised me cause I really liked the 5 speed in the 99 model. The a/c does not work up to par in real hot weather, tends to go back and forth in the temperature. Drivetrain is great, looks good but again the interior feels more like the cardboard seats they used in the 70's.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great Overall Car

by Bill from Staunton,Va | May 10, 2009

Fun to drive excelent short turning radius, good vision all around, reasonable gas millage, adequate power from the four cilinder boxer engine, corners well in mountain driving, carries all my art supplies, easy to load and unload can go nearely anywhere there is a semblance of a road. reliable. One of the few cars built today by any manufacturer that I can drive in comfort due to its leg room and head room I have had only one problem so far and that was an AC leak which the dealer easily fixed the second time around when the dye they used pointed out the leak. Good dealer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


owned 2 and going for a 3rd

by vacjan from lakewood, nj | April 6, 2009

right seat height, reliable, many windows to see all around, ample cargo room, back seat comfort needs to be improved

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Serious upgrade to the previous generation

by tomato1 from Buffalo NY | March 29, 2009

Subaru took their time, and did most of their homework, in revamping the Forester for the 2009 model year. The Forester has been improved in nearly every aspect, though it retains its identity as a vehicle that is uniquely Subaru. The revamped exterior masks an interior that is bigger, quiter, and more comfortable than the previous model. Somehow mileage ratings have stayed the same and emissions have been lowered. Don't ask why... just enjoy that. Safety features abound and are all standard items. Airbags for everyone! Driving the new Forester exhibits most of the same handling characteristics as the old model, but with its taller stance it seems to be more susceptible to crosswinds on the highway. Couple that with the crummy Yokohama Geolander tires that come with it from the factory and the handling leaves room for improvement, but remember that this is now a full-fledged SUV and not a tall wagon. The interior is very functional, though the design looks like it was put together from a spare parts bin. I counted 6 different materials of varying texture accenting the interior. The instrument panel lighting can only be described as weird. There are 6 different colors of LED's and two different styles of LCD displays. Some jerk reversed the order of the knobs for the climate controls. The seats are much more comfortable with better lumbar and butt support. Thankfully you can now turn on the headlights with the key removed from the ignition, but whoever thought it was a good idea to light up the instrument panel with the daytime running lights is an idiot. Twice in 1000 miles I have caught myself driving without headlights. A classic Subaru-ism. This is still one of the most useful car sizes I have ever encountered. Add in the fact that its really well priced and well equipped, its quirks are easily overlooked and make it the strongest value in its class. Its flaws are mostly quirks that any Subaru owner has grown to enjoy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Subaru Forester.


Featured Services for this Subaru Forester

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.