2002 Subaru Impreza

Change Vehicle

2002 Subaru Impreza

Available in 4 styles:  Impreza 4dr AWD Sedan 2.5 RS shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$5,500–$7,150

Est. MPG

20–21 city / 27–28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Wrx best car I have ever had by far

by Enthusiast from Rochester ny | February 1, 2012

Never had a car this reliable. The awd system is the best even by the standards of cars/tricks made in 2012. Very easy to tune. The simple suspension set up makes upgradeding vary easy to understand and even do yourself. Many people don't know is that the impreza had a roll bar from the factory so it's safety is also excellent. The 16 inch wheels are standard. The rim sizes makes tires replacement cheap and simple with endless choices and still gives enough sidewall for a comfortable ride mixed with expert handling. One knock on subarus is under steer but its great for a easy to handle car. You will never spin out of control. It can be easily corrected with added swaybars

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best All Around Car Ever

by Mario from Seaford, DE | October 20, 2010

This is the best car I have ever owned! Its packed full of power, comfortable, very reliable, and just tons of fun to just in all conditions. The handling in snow and in rain is amazing. I'll be buying another Subaru when I'm done with this one. Subaru fan for life now

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2002 Impreza WRX Wagon

by Stan from Loveland, CO | December 30, 2009

These cars are alot of fun and very capable on dry roads and snowy roads. Here in Colorado, it seems like every thrid car on the road is a Subaru. It's that way for a good reason. They're great all weather cars. The WRX has great seats, lots of power, and the handling is pretty secure. The only well documented weakness in these cars is the transmission syncros, which can make shifting a little noisy and uncomfortable. Otherwise, it's a great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Simply Fun to Drive

by Subaru Fan from Washington, DC | May 6, 2009

I had the pleasure of driving a WRX daily for 7 years. The best thing about the car is simply that it was fun to drive with its turbo-boosted acceleration and AWD handling. Not to mention it looked great and was fuel-efficient, averaging 23 mpg and maxing at 27 mpg on the highway. Finding parking was easy as it could slip into tight spaces with ease. My WRX was extremely reliable with no major repairs necessary. Not to mention, I never had to pay a penny for regular services, thanks to the generous 3% rewards points from purchases made on my Subaru Mastercard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I feel safe driving it and it is reliable

by daidhaid from No. IL | September 13, 2008

This car has probably saved my life on two occasions when I needed to maneuver in a dangerous way that really exceeded my actual skill. The all wheel drive is significantly better in performance than some other vehicles laying claim to all wheel drive. I average 23 mpg and the best I've ever gotten was 27.5 in mixed driving. It is zippy and fun to drive, and the wrx is even better way better, as far as zip goes. I've driven both I actually prefer mine for mpg mainly. It is very reliable and all the mechanics I've dealt with regarded it as well made. The interior is not so sweet and the back seat is uncomfortable, but for driving it is sweet. Cons; The horn sounds like a baby goat and the cup holders are for baby sippy cups...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by AWD Guy from Florida | May 31, 2008

Most Reliable Car I've Owned! Very good handling. Great for car enthusiasts who are looking for a great AWD drivetrain and loads of power. WRX and STI models a must for great features. Very good with part compatability and performance enhancment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Performance Car Ever?

by Berny from Southern Maine | December 25, 2007

I can't think of a car built that has this combination of performance and reliability. All wheel drive, turbo, modified exhaust and ECU chip, my car has over 100K on it and has needed nothing but very basic maintenance. Daily driver, 6 New England Winters and many summer nights at the drag strip. Takes the phrase "can't kill it" to another level.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


nice car

by zgdsf from st. cloud, mn | December 6, 2007

this car is overall the best car for the money. you would be amazed on how it drives! it is the best car i ever owned and very very fast.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best purchace discision i ever made

by Whilla from Chicago | December 5, 2007

This car has everything, speed, style, and AWD. Subaru thought of everything with this car from metal pedals to the 6 disc changer. I could not believe such features would exist on an affordable rally car that boasts times of 5.3 second 0 to 60.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


i love this car

by vroom vroom wrx from rochester ny | October 14, 2007

when i bought this car it was five years old with 95000 miles on it. it still impressed me even with the amount of miles on it. it has the power i want, the handling i'll use, and the brakes to stop me. ok so it might be kind of an ugly car with those headlights but who cares. i didnt get it for the looks. i cant wait for the snow to come so i can tear up some back road with the awd. dirt roads are a blast to go insane on. the car doesnt even get sideways, it sticks to whatever your driving on like its pavement. so it might not have the insane power of some other cars or the crazy torque, who cares, i dont want to spend a lot of money on tires like some other cars would that this car will beat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Impreza

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.