2001 Subaru Legacy

Change Vehicle

2001 Subaru Legacy

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2001 Subaru Legacy 4dr AWD Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,501–$8,861

Estimated MPG

21 city / 28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

2001 Legacy GT on the fence

by Joe from Spokane, wa | May 1, 2011

Not a bad car but not great either. Does what it's suppose to do and that's about it. AWD works great, handles nice, and has some decent power, get the 5 speed otherwise car will be very sluggish. Lags in interior comfort, options, and looks. Heated seats were not an option which is perplexing at best. How could they not offer this when the car is touted for snow and cold weather? Comfort is an issue also. Chances are you will have to buy some 1/2 thick blue form pads to sit on. Seats are that hard. Problems: Clutch issue dealing with the hydraulic hose are common, as is the muti-switch on the steering column. Other issues are bushings and of course the big one head gaskets. Make sure if you are looking to buy one that the head gaskets have been done and by whom. A dealer will replace with defective original ones and you will have to do them again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car for Price!

by College student from Duluth, MN | July 11, 2010

I loved the Honda Accord I had before this car and doubted I could find a better car, but then I drove my Subaru Legacy Limited GT. This car has exceptional handling and great gas millage given that it has AWD. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable car with a added bonus of a sporty look.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The best car I have owned

by Latouche from Millersburg, PA | February 20, 2010

I have had many Subaru's and when I lost my engine in the last one. I had to pruchase a Ford Taurus, but there was no way that this car could take the back roads and snow that I like to get into. I searched for a used Subaru wagon, a 100 mile radius. I came up with 4. The others were just like my old one but more expensive than mine was. I took a lower price one and love it. I just wish I could turn off the headlights when I just want to sit and listen to sit and listen to music. If anyone has any recommendations other than shooting them out, let me know. Proud to be an owner again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


subaru 2001

by jg from Cincinnati, Ohio | January 5, 2010

I've put over 275,000 miles on my Legacy wagon, and had no trouble except for replacing belts (including 275000 miles on theclutch. It's a great car, carries all the junk I take backpacking, bicycling, and on fiddle festival trips and I can sleep in the back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


You'll beg for rain & snow

by C.J. in Sonoma from Sonoma, CA | March 25, 2009

This car is a fantastic commuter returning 28mpg highway. It has better power, handling, and overall performance than an Accord and come rain and snow there isn't a better feeling car outside of Audi maybe. If purchasing this car, get a run down on the head gaskets. Mine went at about 125K on the odometer. It wasn't a cheap fix, but I've been cruising worry and hassle free for another 25K so far. It isn't the best looking car, but it does have character and the interior is baby BMW. Oh, and the sound system is great for a factory unit. When the heavens open and the rain/snow starts to fall you'll be grinning ear to ear. That is when this "sporty" sedan comes to life. Happy motoring!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


"Dependable handling in snow and rain."

by Family Man from Oakland, CA | March 23, 2008

Positives: - Sure-footed, secure handling in inclement weather - Low-cost, low-maintenance dependability - Moderate-price yields big bang for buck - Good compromise between gas guzzling SUV and economical around-town vehicle - With roof-rack cargo option provides sufficient cargo space for most types of hauling jobs or long trips - While mileage isn't great due to all-wheel drive, it's superior to most SUVs Negatives: - Not as comfortable as most American-built cars; can feel cramped on long trips - Front seats do not slide back far enough to give 6-footer full-extension leg room - Doesn't properly insulate from wind noise at high speeds (this was also true of our last Legacy, a 1991 model) Overall: - A very good value for a combination family/commuter/recreation vehicle - The car of choice by most Sierra range regulars, especially in the Lake Tahoe area

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Just a good car.

by gourmike from TN | October 6, 2006

I like : comfort and good view and handling dislikes: average speed on highways and feel fairly vibration, from tires or engine ?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Legacy

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.