2002 Subaru Legacy

Change Vehicle

2002 Subaru Legacy

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2002 Subaru Legacy 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$997–$9,721

Estimated MPG

21 city / 27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

WOW

by Hoenig from Fort Madison, Ia | April 30, 2012

This is an amazing car, great acceleration, comfort, styling inside and out. VERY reliable. never had anything wrong. Just change the oil and she goes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


granny car

by lark from | April 28, 2012

lov the car its a all around fun and exciting auto to drive very firm and supportive seats bland granny styling but handles like a sports car dont much care for the cruise control setup althouth it works just fine i bought this car for my wife and she loves it (girl car) i have 132,000 miles on it and it should go another 100,000 they last forever!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


SWEEET

by CAR GUY from LEHIGH VALLEY , PA | June 1, 2011

GREAT DEPENDABLE AND COMFORTABLE CAR THATS GOOD ON GAS AND HANDLES LIKE A DREAM! I HAVE ALREDY RECOMENDED IT TO MY FREINDS!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Pretty car, big let-down...

by Fatherandson from Southern Indiana | December 22, 2010

I bought this car for my wife to drive. She has gone back to school to get her masters. We had to sell her 2010 M-B GLK to afford school. We have to have all-wheel-drive to get in and out of our driveway in the winter. Always heard great things about the Subaru line-up. I've never been big on a car that feels cramped, nor was my wife, but we were trying to make sacrifices for the future. We thought we would "get used to it". We never could. It is the cheapest feeling car I've ever owed. Very small and it felt very small and dangerous when you were behind the wheel or in any of the passenger seats. No thought put into interior design of storage. Very loud with wind noise and road noise. Ours was a very loaded, one-owner, well taken care of, Legacy GT wagon. Very good mileage. Dependable. Everything worked. But at best it is basic, cheap transportation. After six months of trying to get used to it and we both hated to take it anywhere, we sold it. Good decision I think.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Do you want sporty, or all-around great?

by Lover of all cars from Winooski, VT | December 12, 2010

This is my second Legacy, and I can tell you it's a fine car. It's comfortable, but not luxurious. It's got plenty of torque, but it's not "fast". And it's been very, very reliable - including NEVER being stuck in the snow. I wish I'd got the Limited (leather), but it has some of my favorite cloth seats of any car. And I wish it had a turbo, but instead it has a large 4 cylinder engine which is more than fine for most. If you need a winter vehicle that doesn't cost you an arm and a leg, this will definitely do it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Ugly, loud, slow, small, absolutely the worst car

by Volvo lover from Seymour, In. | October 16, 2010

I was going back to college to get my masters and got this. It is loud, poorly designed, the windows do not have anything around them. I would never recomend it to a friend. It has no space and andvery small. Do not get this car. The o2 sensor went out on me multiple times.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Rather dissapointing.

by zombienaut67 from Kansas City, Mo. | January 11, 2009

This was our third Subaru, and our least favorite.We needed a wagon, and bought the Legacy because the one we were looking at was a demo, and cheaper than the new Outbacks. Our wagon suffered from faulty speakers, and intermittent electrical problems it's whole life.The hvac motor went bad at 47,ooo miles and the sunroof had a whistle. It was a nice handling car and it served it's purpose, but I do not miss it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Shake... and Bake!

by Speed Daddy from Toronto ON. | July 11, 2007

I bought this car last year (2006) beautiful comfortable interior fun to drive with quite a bit a spunk thanks to the boxster engine. It handles better then any other sedan I've ever driven due to the sport suspension but mostly due to it's full time all wheel drive. The first time I booted it down a curvy on ramp in the rain I kept waiting for it to slide... didn't happen! The winter package is real useful in Canadian winters (nothing like a hot tushy) and it is pretty well equipped although electric seat ajustments on the passenger side would be nice. Starting a new family I was looking for a safe, roomy, sporty yet fuel efficient car. Ok Ok it's not that fuel efficient but still better the an SUV or a Minivan and way more fun to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Legacy

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.