2009 Subaru Outback

Change Vehicle

2009 Subaru Outback

Available in 4 styles:  2009 Subaru Outback 4dr AWD Wagon shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$15,250–$19,500

Est. MPG

17–20 city / 24–27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Another Great Subaru- Feeling the Love

by Subaru Mom-muu Doggie Wagon a Go-Go! from Mounty | July 17, 2013

Once you go Subaru, you never go back. I live in an area where every other car is a Subaru. The reason? Great car all around. Nice size wagon for road trips, groceries, doggies, plants and the occasional Ikea shopping trip. Looks sporty. Excellent size for SF parking and zipping around. Comfortable, peppy, handles well and fun to drive. Great visibility and it feels solid on the road. Can't stand all of those bloated cross-over mini-van-SUV-wagon-wanta-be-luxury-fat cars that clog up the parking lots at Trader Joe's by going over the white lines in the parking lot. My dogs and I love our Subaru!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Family Car

by theroys88 from Midlothian, VA | December 13, 2012

Recently bought an 09 Outback with 33k miles. It was an off lease. Great drive, fits all of our stuff and our high school senior thinks its cool. The safety features give us comfort when he is out driving by himself. Will have to update our review after we have owned it longer. But as of now, we are thrilled with our Outback!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


nice car

by Mrs. reliabal from california los angeles | March 2, 2012

This thing is super safe.I was driving it one time and I got T-boned right in the back door.This sent the right up intoo the air. I walked away with only a few cuts.It is also very reliabal . If need a reliabal car than subaru is yours.An example of a non reliabal is like a chevy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Subarumike from Waterbury, ct | February 16, 2012

I love the turbo XT Outback. Plenty of power, room and features. And I like the confidence that AWD gives in bad weather. The only issueis the gas mileage. It is OK for an SUV. But I bought this because I don't like SUV's and I was hoping for a little better mileage than 21-22 mpg on the highway. Of course, that is usually at about 80 mph.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


New to me 2009 Subaru Outback 2.5XT LTD

by Wyiauta from Texas | January 23, 2012

Found the car at a Subaru Dealership in AZ with only 16K on the ODO. It was exactly what I was looking for. After about six weeks and about 2500 miles I'm very happy with my purchase. Thanks, Cars.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Subie Fan

by Juju from San Diego, CA | October 4, 2011

My last Subaru saved my life! I was T-boned on the passenger side by a distracted driver going 45 mph and the exterior caved in only 6 inches. The car was totaled but I just got a bit shaken up. I moved up to an '09 Outback Limited last week and couldn't be happier. They are hard to find but worth the search. I prefer this model to the newer ones for the higher safety ratings and the exterior design...classic!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2009 Outback

by JHH from | April 11, 2011

I have hadSubarus for years, and when I decided to give my 2004 Outback to my daughter, my wife and I looked at the 2010 Outback body style , and it was just too big for our tasteds. The previous generation Outback was just right, so we bought a 2009 with 8000 miles for a great deal through Cars.com. We love it!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Outback ROCKS!

by tiger1 from Denver, CO | March 9, 2011

Am just in love with this vehicle. I have owned now for near a year and love the way it drives in snow while still getting incredible gas mileage for what it is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


2009 Outback

by Noanker from Noank, CT | November 26, 2010

Bought my 4th Subaru a few months back - get sale - no pressure. The car was a dealer loaner, so it was well broken in, very low milage - essentially just like new. The car has done great so far, and looks to be just as well performing as my 2006 Outback has been! Only down checks is the inside comfort - it's overall just fine, but could use a little more room in the drivers seat if you are over 6 foot tall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Exceeds expectations

by All weather driver from New England | June 15, 2010

Coming off of a BMW I didn't expect to be so delighted with handling and driveability. At half the price of replacing my bimmer I'm pleased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Outback

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.