2009 Subaru Tribeca

Change Vehicle
2009 Subaru Tribeca

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2009 Subaru Tribeca 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$12,524–$21,160
Estimated MPG

16 city / 21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Impressive and responsive

by Overlooked Vehicle from Knasas | September 7, 2011

Had been test driving several small to mid sized SUVs. Including RDX, Infinti EX, Equinox, Escape, Murano, Highlander, even drove a couple Jeeps, etc. And while these had some great features, the Tribeca just had it all together. Responsive handling and acceleration, cornering was impressive, a lot of that I am sure coming from the balanced boxer engine. Front seat was very comfortable, back seat the same if you are not overly tall. The third seat has a lot to be desired. The material's quality has to rate with the best, supple seats, quality leather. A very good sound system too. My does not have Nav or DVDs but does have a BOSE. Not the easiest to see out of in all directions, but I feel one can learn how to get the best views in short time. Subarus have exceptional reliability. I owned a Forester in the passed that had over 220,000 with no major events. I think many people, whatever the age group, will find this a very pleasing vehicle. The styling is nothing dramatic, but it grows on you. If Subaru can get the mileage up to the 25-26 range, that would be excellent. Maybe we will see their CVT in this vehicle in the next couple years as they are putting the CVT in the Impreza for 2012, expecting MPGs of 35. If you are considering a mid-larger SUV, check this one out. I don't think you will be dissapointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Underrated SUV On The Market

by Remagen from Lancaster, S C | July 19, 2011

Love this vehicle! The professional reviews do not do it justice. Its strongest point is its handling - lower center of gravity because of its boxer engine allows better cornering while still maintaining 8.7 inch groung clearence. Turning radius less than many smaller vehicles. Engine has very good power even at highway speeds. Interior is upscale without being overdone. Very reliable. No problems after 36,000 miles. Weakness is mileage of 16/21. I consistently get 22-23 mpg on highway. Cramped if you want seven seat capacity.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best designed vehicle and reliable

by RDG from Ontario Canada | May 23, 2010

I tried almost all suv and when I studied the history and re-sale and drove it ,I was very impressed .I,ve been driving for 50 years and wanted the best 4x4 available .,and all reviews pointed to subaru.The thing that amazed me is the so called experts talking about the looks ,the front end ., whats with that .like you are now experts in car design ,stick to what you know ,RELIABILITY,RE_SALE,and SAFETY thats what people are looking for ,not I don,t like the looks ,please make sense

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best bet for the money

by subie from | February 9, 2010

I LOVE my Tribeca. We drove the Pilot and MDX. We didn't bother with the Highlander because even the top model didn't have the features of the others. The Pilot was gutless and the MDX wasn't worth the price compared to the Subaru. We have ALL the features of the MDX except remote hatch and bluetooth, for $15,000 less. This car is well worth the money and handles like a dream.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Well built, nimble footed yet practical-Tribeca

by Subie Fan from Pleasanton, CA | October 13, 2009

We liked Tribeca from outside when we saw it first. Although the lines and form don't make it stand out in the crowd, it is an improvement over the original exterior styling of B9 Tribeca. A slightly larger rear hatch glass will improve the rear view while driving. Interior styling - The wraparound dashboard comes close to many luxury vehicles I saw while shopping. The leather accomodations are well matched with the dashboard craftsmanship and seems to fill the interior with rich ambience specially in the night. Thanks to its 256 HP 6 cylinder engine and a well matched 5-speed transmission, Tribeca is a joy to drive while merging into freeways, changing lanes and passing traffic. It always seems to have reserve power at any speed. The performance is smooth and linear, expected of a 6 cylinder. All of this without the need for premium gasoline! And add to that the sports mode or manual mode of transmission available for the more engaged driver! We didn't find a significant drop in performance when we had 5 people in Tribeca which was a little surprising. The Tribeca has a solid feel on the freeway. It feels nimble and hugs the road fairly well for a car of its size and height even on winding hilly raods probably because of its legendary AWD. The ride is comfortable and the steering has the right feel and feedback. Although the engine performs well, I would like to see improved mileage from this Subaru engine in later models. The rear seats slide back and forth to make room for varying sizes of passengers -we found it has ample space for most people. The third row seats are meant for young kids or small people although with second row seats moved forward, smaller adults can squeeze in on shorter trips. Redesigned 3rd row seats to fit adults of average size can turn Tribeca into another Subie that will sell itself. For anyone looking for a 5 seater SUV alternative with 5 star crash ratings, and is looking for performance, handling, reliability and AWD confidence, this is a car you must look at.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


POOR OUT OF DATE NAVIGATION SYSTEM

by Lotus Man from Southport, NC | September 7, 2009

Nav system can't find many addresses on secondary roads and won't quick route using them. Arm rests for driver are not easy to use. Difficult access kids only 3rd row. Needs power hatch. Seats and ride very comfortable. Better gas mileage would help.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good car, not good third row

by new found subbie lover from Va | August 21, 2009

we bought a new subaru tribeca and love it. the 3.6 is powerful and efficient (26 highway) the cock pit is stunning, very stylish and the second row is very comfy but the third row is not usable in any way possible. the only reason we got one with a third row is because they only had 3 rows out of all the ones they had. the leather is very soft and comfy, the seats are lazy boy competition and its really sporty for how big it is. the car has great rear visibility and the nav system is easy to use but a bit far from the driver. Although im usually an american car driver this subaru suprised me enough to get it instead of they new equinox.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Underated Value by experts who don't know anything

by glassm from Rural Tennessee | August 18, 2009

I drove many SUV's and compared them in my search for the perfect SUV. I feel that the Tribeca has been given a bum rapp. I drove the following vehicles: Toyota Highlander (too rough and truck like). I drove the Honda Pilot- too big, and not agile on its feet. I drove the Murano. It was plushy comfort, but felt too loosey goosey. The Tribeca I bought, and it was a lot better than any others I could have tried for the money. Try it - You may be getting the wrong ino from the experts!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Subaru Tribeca

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.