2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Change Vehicle
2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek 4dr AWD shown
Starting MSRP
$21,995–$24,495
Estimated MPG

23–25 city / 30–33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

31 out of 38 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 38 reviews

Awesome car!

by Oly from Salt Lake City, UT | September 12, 2014

I've been driving this car for a month now and it never gets old getting in and taking off for a drive. I'm loving the blue tooth functionality, I even watched a football game on my phone with the audio over the car stereo system while I was waiting to pick my son up from work last weekend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


AWD compact crossover with a manual transmission!

by All Weather Commuter from Central PA | July 25, 2014

2013 Premium, 5 speed manual, bought new 11/2012, about 26,500 miles. No problems & reliable. 30.5 MPG is my overall mileage, calculated with pencil and paper, not with the display on the dash. Used mostly for commuting, 90% highway, mix of 45, 55, and 65mph. THE GOOD - handles great, fantastic visibility, oil filter on top and easy to service, manual shifts nice, great interior room for a small car, heated seats are nice in the winter, very nice looking car, AWD. THE NEEDS IMPROVEMENT - This car needs 30 more horsepower for merging into interstate traffic & steep driveways (Please Subaru, more power), needs one more gear to get RPM down on the interstate, alarm system stinks (open door with key = alarm), heater doesn't warm your feet, tan interior.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I love this car

by DT from Arkansas | June 22, 2014

I have had the 2013 Crostrek for almost 2 years. In this time I have been on 5 trips-the longest being 5500 miles. Got 34 mpg on that trip. Some days the mpg was in the upper 30's. This is a great travel car. Lots of room and a good ride. I love this car. :-)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive

by Billybob from Orlando, Fl | April 29, 2014

After having this Crosstrek for 5 months and 5 K miles. I love the way it handles and very easy to park. Easy to get in and out of. Allot of people look at it and give me the thumbs up. The gas millage in town, Orlando, Fl is about 26 mpg and 29 on the highway. My main complaint is the road noise on the highway, navigation system is slow, and the rock hard seats. If this company makes other cars why do they make this one so uncomfortable and tinny? While driving back from Macon, Ga I got a sunburn on my leg cause their's no windshield tint! I now realized that it's gear for snow, hills, and mud. None of these things I have in Florida.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best MPG so far

by Metropolitanhillbilly from Western MA | April 19, 2014

With a lot of idling and remote start warm-ups our worst tank to date was 24.9 MPG, I just got back from a highway haul, and all stop & go in one direction due to traffic I still got 33.6MPG. I know if I can just get a good clean run both ways I can beat 36MPG! The is a fair amount of road noise, I think they should have insulated the floor/firewall better. We have the CVT and the sound in reverse is funny. At 6'4" I find the front quite comfortable, and the back tolerable, which is great for a car this size. Legacy/forester/outback are all quieter & faster, and get worse mileage and cost more. If you want silent luxury, don't buy the cheapest car on the lot. I feel that we got a heck of a lot considering we bought the cheapest car in the entire lineup (for crossover SUVs that is, base Impreza is a little cheaper). Also, the Forester bases for just a little more, but I didn't see a single base forester at any dealership, it was pretty easy to find a Crosstrek close to base price. We did have to search for Tangerine Orange Pearl in stock though. Only one snow since we bought it, drove like a Subaru in the snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Cross trek again

by torger from Bellingham, WA | February 15, 2014

I love the looks and idea of this car. Great performance for such a small car. Lots of room. Both head room and leg room. I am 6-2 and its awesome. I took my daughter, 2 oversized pitbulls, and coolers for 1/2 beef on a road trip with no problems. My only complaint is gas mileage is much less than advertised...22-27.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Don't Do it

by Subaru Fan from North Aurora, IL | February 14, 2014

I have owned Subaru's and I love my current Legacy. When it came time to trade in my wife's Sante Fe I looked to Subaru first. I test drove the Crosstrek and was impressed with its handling and comfort. My BIG mistake was not test driving it on the highway. This is the roughest riding car I have ever owned. It has a teeth chattering riding on the highway and the mpg is not impressive and certainly not what is advertised. My choice when I bought was a Legacy or Hyundai Tacoma, in retrospect either one would have been a significantly better purchase than the Crosstrek.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Love it!

by Harv from Annapolis | February 3, 2014

I looked at the Crosstrek for quite a while before buying, and compared it to a number of vehicles out and soon-to-come. This was just on the money for me. Great mpg, grips the road, very comfortable. Completely happy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Once a Subie, always a Subie

by Momof4cats from New Berlin, WI | January 14, 2014

This car laughs at snow! If you need a reliable car that will get you through snow and still has great gas mileage, get a Subaru.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


not good

by big guy from Illinois | November 27, 2013

My wife and I drove a different crosstrek and liked it. The one we own is another story. This is our third Subie. We have an Outback that we think is the best riding car we have owned. The crosstrek ride is the is not much better , if any , than my garden tractor. It has been looked at and things have been changed ,but there is no improvement. The road noise is terrible, especially on concrete. The radio stinks. This car was a mistake and I hope to get rid of it. The good thing about it is the gas mileage, have never been under 30

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 38 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek.


Featured Services for this Subaru XV Crosstrek

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.