See Also: 2003 Suzuki Aerio

2003 Suzuki Aerio SX

Change Vehicle
2003 Suzuki Aerio SX
Available in 2 styles:  2003 Suzuki Aerio SX 4dr FWD Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$856–$7,028
Estimated MPG

24–26 city / 28–32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Amazing car

by Indiana Jones from Indianapolis IN | August 14, 2014

After test-driving a slew of "competitors", which all disappointed me, I purchased my yellow Aerio SX in July 2002. Twelve years later I still enjoy driving this very-well-designed versatile vehicle. It's driven through every Indiana season (-20 this past winter, 105 two summers ago), across the Appalachian Mountains, down to New Orleans, around Chicago. Easy to drive & park, great steering, great road-feel, great visibility, peppy, easy to get in-and-out-of, lots of passenger room (high headroom!), comfortable seats (most cars' seats give me back-aches, but not my Aerio), excellent AC and heating, tons of storage (my lawn-mower fits in the SX, without folding the handle). I love the giant speedometer numbers (only car where I don't need to take my mind off the road to know what speed I'm going). A few laments: no sun-roof, and hard to find tires (but they are find-able). My wife later purchased a Subaru Forester, which is NOT as good as my Aerio in several ways (but the Forester does have heated seats and AWD). Even this past summer, strangers have come to me and asked "How do you like your new Honda Fit"?, and they're dumbfounded when I tell them it's a 12-year-old Suzuki Aerio SX, which they've never heard of.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Mostly Love It

by Aerio Dad from Minneapolis, MN | June 28, 2011

I've had my Aerio for 117,000 miles. Other than routine maintenance, I've never had to do anything to this car. I was even rear-ended on the freeway a couple years ago, totaling an expensive Mazda, and I had only minor cosmetic damage. The car has good power, wonderful visibility and interior space and lots of nice features. The only two things I don't like much would be handling in the wind (high roof, lightweight car, narrow body) and the black interior. But I've taken this car literally all over the country in all different seasons. This car has taken a real beating at my hands. And it has behaved so well I'm finally going to go invest about $1K in a new exhaust system because I think the old girl is actually worth the investment. Everything else is still running great. A very durable little car...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Worst car ever

by Loves to Drive from Toronto, On | June 23, 2010

At first I loved my car. But in three years I have had 4 transmissions. 5th gear keeps popping out and Suzuki does not have a clue how to fix it, they have tried several different things with zero success. And now that my warranty is done they do not want to take responsibility at all. The car rattles and shakes, the oil is always way to low too soon. I have learned to service my car 1000 km sooner otherwise I'll be on empty. It dents and dings so easily it's like driving a car made out of tinfoil. I do not recommend this car at all!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Very good car, except for one thing ...

by Need AWD Car from Baltimore, MD | March 21, 2010

I've got 66,000 miles on my 2003 Aerio crossover, and overall it's a very good car. Fun to drive, handles well, smooth ride for a small car, has adequate pickup, excellent all-wheel drive, etc. My reason for this review is to warn you about one thing: at 63,000 miles the engine started sputtering and stalling out. I took the car to the dealer, and was told that the "mass air flow sensor" had falied, and that the only way to fix the problem was to buy a new "throttle body chamber" on which the sensor was installed. The cost to fix this problem was about $1,200, and since then the car has worked fine. The place from which I bought the part (the dealer sent me there to save me some money) said that I wasn't the only Aerio owner with this problem. This is the only expensive repair I've had for this car, and I would still buy another one (now it's called the SX4). However, I'd also look at the Subaru Impreza.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Loved My Little Aerio!

by missmyaerio from Byesville, OH | January 28, 2010

I purchased my 2003 Aerio in spring 2004 and drove it until January 2010 when it was completely crushed and totalled by a semi truck. Before my car was "killed" I never had any issues! When I bought the car it only had 30,000 miles on it and had around 250,000 when it "died". I was ROUGH on this car and really didn't take as good of care of it as I should have but it never gave me any issues as a result. This car is 100% reliable and I would reccomend it to anyone. It is a steal for the money! I'm now looking for a Suzuki SX4 to replace my Aerio because it is suppose to be its replacement or upgrade.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


CUTE CAR FOR GREAT PRICE!

by Cookie from Cincinnati, OH | July 8, 2009

This car is Great fun. This is my First car and I'm in love with it! I get Great gas mileage and a smooth drive. The Car has a Great sound system. I read the reviews on here and was scared to buy it but I love it and glad I went and got it! For the Money it is a great Car! perfect for any first car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best tiny car ever

by Brie from | May 5, 2009

This car is too wonderful to describe!! You can go try it and tell me why is so awesome!! I love my car!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Good Car

by Ramon from Florida | May 2, 2009

I've been driving this car for 5 years, Car could be noise at times, don’t handle wind very well, too low to the ground. But to me that's not as important as the low maintenance, roomy inside, good gas mileage, and reliability excellent, AC is great. I love my Suzuki.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Don't get this car...

by jordanxxx from grapevine, texas | March 17, 2009

I got this car when i was 16, it already had 75,000 miles on it. within a year, i had to replace the breaks. i'm 19 now, and i still currently have this car. i've had to replace the front breaks THREE times, and the bake brakes once. i've had to get new tires about 3 times as well. the cd player broke within a year of me owning the car, as well as my ac.. my passenger window sticks sometimes. ive had to replace my battery twice. the lights in the clock and ac/heater controlls go out. my back window defroster hasn't worked since i got the car. the front and back pieces that pop off, have both fallen off. the car is made of mostly plastic, so if you hit anything just a little.. things will fall off.. my alignment constantly goes off. my trunk broke within a year of me owning the car.. i've spent way more then the car is even worth in car repairs... :[ the only good thing about this car, is that if you hit someone, or they hit you from the front or back going about 30 or 40, your car won't get damaged...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Budget Goodness

by zombienaut67 from Kansas City, Mo. | January 11, 2009

I bought this car new, with a manual transmission, a/c, power windows,cruise and fog lights it was very affordable. Agile at low speeds, it was comfortable on my daily 100 mile commute[I bought the extended center arm rest]and was easy on gas. I did not have any problem with it during my 60K miles of ownership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Suzuki Aerio SX

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.