2001 Toyota 4Runner

Change Vehicle
2001 Toyota 4Runner

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2001 Toyota 4Runner 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$3,366–$11,306
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 19–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Toyotas best car the 2001 4runner

by 4runner from LA | December 23, 2012

I feel the 4 runner peaked with overall quality c the 2001 4 runner mechanically and cosmetically. Its the most reliable and fun to drive suv available. Especially the LIMITED

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car/SUV I have ever owned

by HARSHA from Houston | May 17, 2012

I rated only 4 Stars for comfort since the ride quality is truck-like (of course it has the truck chassis). Apart from that this is undoubtedly the most reliable car/SUV I ever owned. I heard that 2001 was the last Japan-assembled model. All you would need to do is to change engine oil regularly. In one of the 4runner forums I found a guy driving this at 300,000+ miles without a single problem. Very reliable vehicle if you can put up with slightly rough ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


WAY OVER PRICED

by cure from | March 29, 2012

I agree with the other review ..bad news here.special joke.they have the 2001 4runner marked up way high....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


4runner

by gasdog from otis or | November 8, 2011

I bought a great low mile 01 4runner (43000 miles) it is proving to be everything I hoped it would be. Absolutely reliable,good gas milage(20+), quite, comfortable, good power, tows my 1200 pound boat with no problems. The more I drive this truck the more things Ilike about it. I find this vehical to be a great value for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


review of the 01 toyoa 4runner

by 4x4 guy from lynnwood wa | August 18, 2011

hi my dad bot a 01 toyota 4runner sr5 4x4 with brown leather all these years we never had problems with it or had it be in a crash when my dad did'nt need it he hand the 4ruuner over to my mom she took very good care of it till some one scratch it or something the car was still nice but we mite sell it for a toyota venza but overall the car is great not fast or big but great a the 4ruuner is the only car in my family to have leather we bot alote of toyota's over the years but I think this is the only 4x4 toyota we ever bot overall it is a great sport utillty suv to me

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2001 Toyota 4Runner

by MTToyota from Mesa, AZ | February 22, 2011

Fantastic vehicle. 2001 4Runner Limited. Only knock (for some) is a pretty rough ride...but if you like 4Runners you're used to a tight suspension. Very rugged. V-6 is a little underpowered in some highway situations, but is extremely reliable. Limited package is fantastic. Toyota leather interior is great. Very tough and easy to clean....but looks great. Found exactly what I was looking for on Cars.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Buy

by CC from Jacksonville, Fl | December 18, 2010

I bought used with 85K miles and now has 131K. Still runs great. No problems. If you do the normal maintenance, this car will run like a champ.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Top quality truck

by JOHN from scranton,pa | September 26, 2010

I have a 2001 with 117,000 with no problems and never heard of any other owners with ones either. just make sure you have the rear axle breather vents checked so there not blocked. mine were and forced the rear axle seals to leak and my back drum brakes were sticking. the job to replace the seals and new back shoes was almost 500 dollars and could have been avoided if i knew to have the vents checked and replaced the vents for 50 dollars

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great All-Purpose Vehicle

by Broker from North Carolina | July 30, 2008

Toyota trucks are notoriously tough. Just watch TopGear and see how they tried to kill a Toyo pickup (and failed, even though the body was shot). I bought mine knowing I could count on seeing the odo cross 200k without much fuss. I also need a durable off-roader for my activities on NC's barrier islands. Deep sand driving is not for your mom's crossover! This rig has never failed on-road or off. Best features have been high-quality accessories including multi-mode 4wd, leather, stereo, climate, and sunroof. Even gas mileage is tolerable (22hwy/17city). Handling is par for an off-roader, poor for those who like soft car rides.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Good car just underpowered

by not the happiest from Va | July 13, 2008

this car is a very nice car, it handles well it has a great amout of room in it. though when it comes to power, its incredably under powered, the 3.4 has such a hard time climbing hills, i dont know if its just that it has 103,000 miles on it but my jeep with 263,000 does better with acceleration and is better on gas. we drove 93 miles and were below a half a tank talk about bad millage

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota 4Runner

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.