2002 Toyota 4Runner

Change Vehicle
2002 Toyota 4Runner

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2002 Toyota 4Runner 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$3,603–$12,651
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 19 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

The 2nd Best Car I Brought

by Black Beauty from Dallas,Texas | March 25, 2014

This is the 2nd Best Car I Brought From Fidelity Venture Its Run Great and Looks Great Great Thanks Fidelity Ventures!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Long lasting

by alexoro from Des Moines, IA | March 22, 2014

I am the second owner for three years with 155,000 miles in it. At 110,000 miles I installed a 2.5 lift and 33 inch tires. Taken it for trips of more than 7,000 miles in some real off-roading in rock and sand: love the rear lock differential, I was able to get through areas where professional dirt bikes couldn't. Performance off road is great, and the interior is well designed, clear view points to the outside and durability that surpasses all other SUVs of its class. On the downside, the v6 engine consumes much gas with little power in the highway. Especially if you add weight, you will find it challenging to keep-up with other vehicles in uphills. I have ran out of gas twice because of bad reading of the gas gauge when the vehicle had load of 700 pounds or more. Be ware that this is a common problem for the 4runners in this model. The chasis frame is a great option away from today's crossovers and other city SUVs. The 4runner is designed for the country and not the pavement. Get your hands in one of these as soon as you can if you want to pay little for a dependable performing light truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2002 Toyota 4Runner Limited 4x4

by 4RunnerEd from Houston, Texas | February 3, 2014

Very nice vehicle with all the needed functions. Durable, dependable and made 4fun. Gets you where you are going everytime. Limited has nice styling inside and out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Reliable Value

by marv from Oceanside | January 27, 2014

Great toyota value and reliability..Stylish. SAFE vehicle .This should go well over 200 thousand miles...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Die Hard

by fotoguy from Upstate NY | February 5, 2013

Having run into problems with our '06 truck I had to trade and after weeks of searching found this. I did not want a car pymt & got lucky with this find. Mint condition from a big Toyo dealer.I'm a painting cont. I've always owned a truck. Not nearly the room the truck had but so far I love it. Live in the Adk Mts. of NY and a 4x4 is part of life here. These Toyo's are everywhere and will go anywhere. I made the right choice and it's paid for

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Rough ride

by ddel from Ann Arbor, MI | December 12, 2012

Bought it for its great look. Never drove a truck with a ride this rough...and I've owned 4WD vehicles for over 35 years. Tried new shocks, new tires...nothing. It will definitely go where you want it to...but you'll never know you were back on the road. Disappointed in the gas mileage too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best Car I Ever Owned

by Shamrock from Baltimore, MD | September 8, 2011

120k miles, it still starts and drives like its brand new. Amazing power, and comfort. Looks good, accelerates well, brakes well, and the 4WD is very easy to use. Last year, my 4Runner was able to get out in the snowy roads without any issue, although my neighbors Jeep Cherokee got stuck before it left the court. I absolutely love this car. What an amazing ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very good vehicle, has all the bells and whistles

by Frugal old man from Statesboro, Ga | February 4, 2011

Would never consider getting rid of this vehicle if it got a little better gas milealge. Now gets around 18 city and 24 highway. Ride is a little stiff, but it is on a truck frame!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great SUV

by Cowboy from Tampa, Florida | January 23, 2011

I had a 4 runner previously and decided that's what I wanted again after the great reliability and performance I had with my other one. I would definitely recommend it to anyone...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Beautiful & Functional

by unkoder from Maui, HI | August 1, 2010

First off, when you look at the instrument cluster, all the controls are easily readable and simple to use. Looking out the windshield, you notice that you sit up high and have a great visibility in all directions. Once you begin driving, you really notice how easy it is to drive. Compared to the 2007 Tacoma I had been driving prior to the 4Runner, the 4Runner does not feel wide and bulky. It's narrow enough to easily and comfortable operate, however, inside does not feel cramped at all. Probably my favorite feature is the rear window which rolls down. I like driving with the windows open rather than a/c so the ability to roll down the back window along with the others makes a nice breeze always flow right through the car. Aside from the features and how it drives, I LOVE the look of this car. I have an '02 4runner Sport Edition. It's got the boxier styling that makes it look like the older siblings, but its stylish enough for the 21st century. The hood scoop, flares, and skid plate really set it apart from other 4runners of the same year. Those little features really turn heads. Kudos to Toyota on this model of 4runner!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota 4Runner

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.