2006 Toyota 4Runner

Change Vehicle
2006 Toyota 4Runner
Available in 12 styles:  2006 Toyota 4Runner 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$7,992–$18,016
Estimated MPG

16–18 city / 19–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

44 out of 47 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 47 reviews

Used

by Another SVU from Pearl,MS | January 18, 2016

I just brought mine last week and yes it's used but for the price they where asking I couldn't say NO! I traded in my pick-up for it. Which by far was a lot better than I thought! When I got home I took my wife and son out for a spin and they both feel in love with it. They in joyed the ride. I use it to get back and forth to work and even though only having a short while I must say that it's GREAT!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


2006 4Runner

by t4rlvr from Ypsilanti Mi | December 6, 2015

Best vehicle I have ever bought. Puts Wranglers and Cherokees to shame all day. Luxurious and capable, also great on gas!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


The best vehicle I ever owned.

by MaritnFromNC from Burlington, NC | April 14, 2015

I purchased my 4runner Apr 2006 with only road test miles. I have over 120K miles on it. When you consider that beyond normal scheduled maintenance and break pad are part of that, but they did not need replacing until after 110K miles. I also had to repair the leader on the driver seat. This is one great reliable vehicle that after 9 years, I still look at my truck and smile because I am so happy with it and how still looks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Just what i always thought it would be!

by Party of Six from phoenix, arizona | July 9, 2014

The 4 runner is a perfect car for a large family. I have 4 kids who fit in the car comfortably along with my wife and myself. It's perfect because we are always on the go to school and athletic functions. I don't have to worry about the vehicle breaking down because it is one the best built SUV's around. Unlike most people who buy an SUV, I actually use the 4 wheel drive to go camping and off road. I have had other SUV's and this is by far the best one for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Awesome SUV!!

by Drew from New Hampshire | April 23, 2014

We've only owned ours for a couple of months and about 2500 miles, but we're already very impressed. Purchased used with about 78k miles. V8 has a ton of power and is very smooth, sounds great on acceleration. My wife was very apprehensive about purchasing a big vehicle (she's only ever owned and driven cars), but she loves the seating position and visibility. Virtually no blind spots, very easy to drive and backup. If you're nervous about the size of the vehicle, don't be...! We cross-shopped against the BMW X5 and Nissan Pathfinder and Mercedes ML and were just too concerned with the low reliability reports in everything else but the 4runner. Sure, the X5 and ML had more bells and whistles and a better fit and finish inside, but the cost of ownership (repairs, premium gas) were just too high to justify. I have no doubts that the 4runner is a better made vehicle. We have the sport package, which looks great and is supposed to handle better than the SR5. It handles better than I'd expect.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Tons of kids, Great car

by Soccer Mom from Vancouver, Wa | April 15, 2014

I am a mom who has 11 kids that are all involved in the wonderful sport of soccer. This car transports them to and from soccer practice on a daily basis, other than Sundays. I can cram all 11 of them in this baby (not legally, but still).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


My shadow

by Busy professional and parent from Phoenix, Az | February 3, 2014

I have owned 3 SUVs in my life. This is my most recent and current vehicle. It is also my first import. Having said that, I will say that this has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. I bought it new - an SR5 4x4 with leather. I now have 120k on it. It has been the best investment! It handles like it is still new, it is responsive and safe. I use my truck for everything. The daily commute, long distance summer trips where it is packed to the gills with luggage and 4x4 drives in the snow and ice. It never gets stuck. Love love love this vehicle. The only repair I have had to do, was at 106k for an exhaust repair. That's it! That is so different than the mechanical nightmare Ford Explorer I had, that was on its 3rd transmission rebuild by 93k!! I plan to keep this car until it doesn't drive anymore and from the looks of things, that won't be any time soon! This is a purchase I have NEVER regretted! :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Think twice about this 2006 4Runner

by LisaMarie from Chatham, NY | December 12, 2013

I just purchased a 2006 with 120K from a Toyota dealership with a Carfax. Maintained at dealer. Had the car for less than 24 hours when accelerating between 23-40 the car felt like I was driving over a rumble strip. Took it back to dealer and told me to live with it. I said not acceptable. Too make a long story short they flushed transmission 2 times reset computer and car still has problem. Told me the torque converter and the computer in car are not working properly together and it is what is. Didn't even think putting in new transmission would help. Toyota evidently has a big flaw in this vehicle. For this reason I would not recommend buying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Clean and Reliable

by Silly Billy from Tucson AZ | August 7, 2013

Our Neighbor recommended Too Hot Motors for their inexpensive imports . We enjoyed our buying experience and were happy to support a small family owed dealership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best SUV around for the money

by chgo1977 from allentown, pa | June 27, 2013

Bought this SUV used. The whole family loves. It has the sport package and sunroof. Feels solid going down the road. Tight and responsive even for being 7 years old. Only has 66k and plan to keep it for a long time. Looking forward to family vacation to the beach with it. I found the cars.com reviews excellent help!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 47 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Toyota 4Runner.


Featured Services for this Toyota 4Runner

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.