1997 Toyota Avalon

Change Vehicle
1997 Toyota Avalon
Available in 2 styles:  Avalon 4dr Sedan XL shown
Asking Price Range
$508–$7,396
Estimated MPG

20.9 city / 31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Good car overall

by mitch from Knoxville,Tn. | March 1, 2013

No major repairs, safe, good handling,Steering and door window motor need replacement after 15 yrs.Gas milesage 24 city/highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Cars

by Cheapskate from Pasadena, CA | July 16, 2012

Bought this car used with 87K miles on it. I regularyly maintained it. And it never let me down. after 350 K miles, it ran as good when i gave it to my sister as when I bought it. Averaged around 25 miles to the gallon, a little better on long highway trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


bullet proof

by family guy from NJ | November 15, 2011

paint never faded, never rusted, 25 mpg, lots of room, quiet ride, regular gas, inexpensive to maintain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Excellent car

by Georgia from Georgia | August 4, 2011

170,000 miles and still in great condition inside and out. Still has smooth, quiet ride and is the most comfortable car I've ever owned. Serviced every 3,000 miles. No problems at all. My next car will be an Avalon but doesn't look like it will be any time soon!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


avalon is best ever

by john from | July 30, 2011

nice toyota avalon, i am driving toyota avalon since 1990 ...really it is great......................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by ok from SC | October 10, 2010

Can't say enough positive about my 1st generation Avalon. Even the insurance companies love it and charge me less for insurance on it than most cars this age. I love that it's a full size car but is powerful and agile. Super reliable. The only tiny draw back is a slightly short suspension life, but other than that, I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


1997 avalon owner

by Avalon Lover! from | April 7, 2009

I own a 1997 toyota avalon & love it! drove it to colorado, michigan, louisiana, maine, hilton head, texas, runs well, protected me in an accident, helped my back pain b/c of the smooth ride

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Flat out good

by Average Joe from Cumberland, RI | April 18, 2008

It's a smooth and controlled ride, very spacious, easy to drive. I got it used with about 120,000 miles on it, and I never had a problem with it, so it's reliable to say the least.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My favorite vehicle so far!

by A young man from Delaware | May 3, 2007

I love this car, and recommend the Avalon to anyone who is mid or large in stature(no- offense to anyone). I purchased mine a year ago, and to this day rides the same as the day i bought it. I cant really think of any downsides for it at this moment but if your tall like myself then go for this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


great car

by shak from sacramento | January 2, 2007

perfect anyhow low accelaration high mile per galon strong body comfortable completely reliable low maintanace cost high performance

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Avalon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.