1998 Toyota Avalon

Change Vehicle
1998 Toyota Avalon
Available in 2 styles:  Avalon 4dr Sedan XL shown
Asking Price Range
$974–$6,426
Estimated MPG

21 city / 30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

260,000 miles & still going strong!

by Avalon Advocate! from Crystal Lake, IL | July 25, 2014

My brother-in-law in Huntsville, AL bought this car used in 2005 with 93,000 miles. I bought it from him in 2011 with 209,000. I have driven between Chicago and New Orleans regularly over the last 3 years and now have in excess of 260,000 miles - with no major problems or breakdowns! Amazingly, this vehicle still looks, rides and drives like new. It is without a doubt, the best built & most reliable vehicle I have ever owned!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love my new old Avalon

by Marvelous m from Sweet home AL. | April 22, 2013

Recently purchased 98 Avalon 120000 k runs and drives perfect needs a little T L C. Awesome Auto !!!!!.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Toyota Avalon

by shookie from Battle Creek, MI | September 4, 2012

Great value in a used car. Dependability has been great so far for a car with 180,000 miles i have been very pleased.The 3.0 v 6 has ample power and the leather seats are still in great shape with ample support.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great car

by great family car from Staunton, VA | April 16, 2012

this has been an excellent car for our family. The only problem is I hit a deer with the car and can't find any in the local junk yards. that to me says alot. When my parents 2002 intrepid was in an accident i found several of them in the junkyard and that was in 2008. The fact that I cant find any of these cars in the local salvage yards speaks volumes on how reliable this car is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


As good or better than expected.

by brennafishing from Moorefield, WV | February 27, 2012

Have owned car for a month and driven 2500 miles with no problems. Mileage is 122000 and car handles almost like new. ride is a little firmer than expected. All features function exceptionally well for a 14 year old car. Interior is very roomy and comfortable. Gas mile is 24-33 mpg depending on useage. Exterior does not show its age-- still a very good shine and only one small rust spot in rear wheel well. As good or better than I expected.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great

by ben from lagos | February 19, 2012

If you need a vehicle to get you from point A to B in comfort,the 1998 avalon will do the job perfectly and will be mild on your pocket. I bought mine used and presently has 220,334miles on it-miles not kilometers and is not showing any sign of giving up. I had an altima 2.5S 2002 before this car which spent more time at the workshop than on the road thus bought this car 2 years back.I am astonished by the ride quality. It handles better than the look. The only complain i have with the car is that any time i go to the car wash,the doors get filled with water,nothing serious, by the time you drive around and take 2 or 3 turns, the water comes out. I wonder if automakers still make cars this good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable 13yrs of great service

by Cowgal from New Market TN | February 1, 2012

Would purchase this auto again, the body and interior have held wonderful. People get in the car and ask how old is the vehicle and can't believe I have drove it for 13 yrs and have almost 200,000 miles on it. Most reliable I have ever had.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Built to Last

by Dr Pepper from Texarkana, Tx | January 25, 2012

Hello, if you're thinking of owning a 98 Avalon you won't be sorry. I bought one 3 years ago and have put around 40k on it. It runs great, very quiet idle, and very powerful passing. I've had it over 115 with room to go and if felt like driving 80. It gets an average of 26 mpg without streatching the truth & I don't crawl where I go. The car is comfortable, stylish & very dependable. If you find one with 150k, be prepared for another worry free 150K. And if not, just about every mechanic can fix them, so shop around & you'll find a very fair price for repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


1998 avalon xls

by driver from cincinnati ohio | May 29, 2011

bought the car 4 years ago with 104000 miles and now have 189000 and have little problems ~replaced starter and power steering pump and pads and rotors and now need rear caliper thats all !! interior i think is a bit cheap (plastic) and they have problems with flex pipe on exhaust ~leak and let fumes come in cabin ( new flex pipe is 700$)drive it back and forth to work and get about 400 miles per tank of 87 octane

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


GREATEST CAR EVER BOUGHT

by AvalonFan from Kansas City, MO | December 4, 2009

I own 1998 avalon that I bought new. It has 256k miles on it. No engine problems, no transmission problems, no mechanical problems whatsoever. I have spent money only on routine maintenance. I am looking for a new purchase that would be a used avalon. This car is a sure winner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Avalon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.