2001 Toyota Avalon

Change Vehicle

2001 Toyota Avalon

Available in 2 styles:  2001 Toyota Avalon 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$5,400–$6,025

Est. MPG

21 city / 29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

2001Avalon

by TJrags from Rochester, NY | March 30, 2013

This is a great car! It is comfortable, reliable and stylish. I would highly recommend it! The only problem I've found is it sits low to the ground so the bottom scrapes going in nd out of some driveways. Otherwise, we love this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very Solid Car!

by laptopfishing from delaware | January 14, 2013

The ride and comfort are the best I have ever had!! and it also gets great fuel mileage! has a large truck and parts are easy to get and afordable!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2001 Toyota Avalon - No Surprises...

by Dawson0221 from Atlanta, GA | April 10, 2012

After shopping around several weeks, I bought a 2001 Avalon XLS with 125K miles from a private party. It has a few very minor aesthetic blemishes (a couple of scrubs on front/rear bumpers, a few really small "dings"/scratches on driver door/passenger rear quarter panel) - nothing you would not expect from a car that is 11 years old with 125K miles. Already own and have thoroughly enjoyed our 2006 Avalon Limited, which has been essentially problem-free for the first 90K miles we have driven it. Wanted a nice, dependable car to rack up 600-700 miles/week, mainly interstate, and this car fit(s) the bill to a "T". The Toyota 6-cylinder engine is plenty strong enough to put you back in your seat, but has gotten 25-29 mpg for me thus far, depending on driving conditions, load, etc. Like our 2006 model, the leather interior is very roomy (as is the huge trunk), the fully electronic, 6-way adj. driver / passenger seats very comfortable (and heated), the separate electronic, thermostat-controlled driver / passenger heating-A/C works flawlessly, the JBL stereo system loud and clear, the in-dash "information" system (time, date, compass, miles to Empty, mpg, trip computer, odometer) very useful, and the wood grain trim gives it a nice, "luxurious" look-feel. Just packed the car full and took an 800-mile round-trip vacation (myself and 3 passengers), and every ammenity that I just mentioned made the trip that much more of an "easy" drive (oh, I forgot to mention how well the steering wheel mounted Cruise Control system works)...The car ran very quiet and very smooth, and unless you looked at the odometer, one would never guess there were now nearly 130K miles on the car. If you couldn't tell, I love this car, and for the $ (I payed just below KBB "private party" price), I don't think there is a better choice one could make on a "used" car purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2001 Avalon blew-off in 110K miles

by Lagey from CA | April 9, 2012

I bought a 2001 Avalon Xls with 110K on the ODO. Reading success stories of Toyota V6 Engines all around, I was very confident on the quality of Toyota built engines. The previous owner was caring towards the car and has changed timing belt at 84K and all oil changes and maintenance were done well. After driving 2K in the past 2 months, It all happened one Thursday night when I started the car, found grey cloud of smoke coming on the start and it smelled burning oil. I got cautious and checked the oil level through the dipstick. Oil level was fine. I thought it was occasional for an aging engine to smoke and I continued driving. On Friday (next day) I heard a mild cracking noise in the engine when my wife was driving. I got suspicious and pulled over and checked the oil level again. It was little less than full. To make it full, I added one quart oil and kept moving. On Saturday, when we were on the freeway, on a uphill, the car lost acceleration and though stamping the gas pedal fully, the car was lagging power in 40MPH. I could see grey smoke from my exhaust. Thanks to the truck driver who honked to let me know this. I pulled over immediately and I knew the engine dying. I opened the hood and cautiously check the dip stick. Completely dry and hot. I opened the oil cap. It was fully hot with burning smell and smoke coming out from the engine. I knew its going to tear my wallet and I am not interested to do a engine job as most of them are not success stories (they don’t last long and again burn oil). I do not have enough contacts to replace the engine with a re-conditioned one and not ready to spend so much on a 12 year old car. I drove carefully to the nearest gas station and poured 3 Quarts of oil and and drove carefully to the destination. Now I had to trade the car and get a better one at a higher price as I cannot afford for a dying motor. This is very disappointing on Toyota’s part. If there has been a recall for such engines, Toyota should do it for the life time of those cars and not for a fixed number of years. And this will be my last Toyota. I am not going to buy another one ever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Awesome

by Andrey from vineland NJ | February 25, 2012

I've bought the avalon about 7 years ago and it had around 50k miles. Now, 158k miles. No problems. But, cleaned the intake manifold, changed spark plugs, filters, oils, tires brakes. Plus, OEM batery was replaced from original to the advance auto parts one, this january of 2012. Would buy again over bmw, m benz, audi.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car I Ever Owned

by JQT1954 from KC KS | December 16, 2011

Bought this Avalon new in late 2001; now has 200K miles, never had a wrench on the engine or other repair, except for recommended maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Beats a Lexus

by sisu from nys | July 4, 2011

Avalon owners will tell you its one of the best cars Toyota makes. Beats a Lexus because the quality is essential the same at thousands of dollars less. Never had a major problem. Very comfortable, ride is superb and the the engine has plenty of power. Down the highway 30 mpg. What else could you want?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best of American and Japanese car attributes

by Filbert from Watertown. MA | December 24, 2010

94,000 miles young, continues to be reliable, very comfortable, and quiet. I like it more more than my 2006 Hyundai Sonata. Think living room couch on wheels or Japanese Oldsmobile, but better. No regrets.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Instant and on-going satisfaction

by JapaneseCarUser from Gaithersburg, Maryland | May 9, 2010

I owned this car for 1.5 years. I had heard good reviews about Avalons all along and always wanted to own one myself. My experience with a used Toyota Celica GTS as my first car after my graduation was very good. However, later as an upgrade, Honda Accord 1992 had not performed so well for me for some reason. I owned Accord LX for 4 years. Then I bought Toyota Camry 1999 as a used car. It performed so special needing only regular scheduled maintenance. Impressed with Toyota's performance, I bought this Toyota Avalon 2001 XLS (top of the line product) as a pre-owned vehicle for my wife. I own it for 1.5 years now, and have had an exceptional experience with this vehicle. I was confident about Avalon when I saw that the consumer reports for Avalon 2001 XLS had been 10 out of 10 on many standard review web sites -- however, I wanted to see it myself. And I am glad to say that my Avalon XLS did not let me down ever so far. The comfort, reliability, fuel economy, overall performance gave me and my family a complete peace of mind -- I am really happy to say that. Hope this helps someone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


One of the best auto's I have ever owned, bar none

by Woody from Barton, NY | May 22, 2008

My 2001 Toyota Avalon has been the best car I have ever owned considering all around comfort, ride and gas milage. I have maintained the car and had frequent oil changes and had the transmission fluid changed at 40,000 miles each time and this car shifts and performs as it did brand new! I run Mobil one synthetic oil and change it every 4000 miles and the motor still has great power and is as quiet as it was from the start. My neighbor has a 2000 Toyota Avalon with over 400,000 miles on his and it still runs and looks great. He says there is no reason his car cannot get over 700,000 miles on it before considering trading it in for a new model Toyota Avalon! I recommmend a Toyota Avalon to anyone who seriously wants both comfort, styling and maintenance free for the most part except oil changes and transmission flushes at 4000 and 40,000 miles intervals! This car gets great milage and it is roomy and comfortable on 2000 mile trips! My is an XLS model and it has paid for itself over and over through the years and has continued doing so as of this time! Remember a Toyota Avalon XLS is very much worth the time and money you pay and owning one has been a pleasure!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Avalon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.