2004 Toyota Avalon

Change Vehicle

2004 Toyota Avalon

Available in 2 styles:  2004 Toyota Avalon 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$7,800–$8,675

Est. MPG

21 city / 29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

Simply the best car overall

by waydetheblade from Auburn, WA. | May 3, 2013

For the price I negotiated along with a courteous staff, the car buying experience was amazing and the car itself is simply stunning. She's not the sexiest thing on the road, but she makes up for it in every other way possible. I got the fully loaded XLS and everything seems to work perfectly as if it were a brand new car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Amazing comfy sedan

by Monica from Chicago, IL | August 30, 2012

I bought a used 2004 Avalon with only 40,000 miles on it. It has been the best decision I have ever made in buying a car. Reliable, and very comfortable. And the horsepower is really there with this amazing 3 liter V6 engine that does not deceive. Fabulous car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


***** Avalon *****

by brigantine ham from Brigantine, NJ | August 10, 2012

I bought my '00 avalon in '09 with 72k miles for $7,500 & it now has 175k...i feel like the car is just getting broken in. i've changed the oil every 3-5k miles & performed regular maintenance. the car owes me nothing. Great car, fantastic ride, nice interior ammenities. wish toyota kept the same body style - sightlines changed in '05.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


The best Avalon ever

by Mike from Dallas Texas | March 2, 2012

I have owned my 2004 Avalon since 2008. I bought it used from a local dealer, and it is by far the most amazing car I have ever bought. Interior space is amazing. The handling is extremely precise. The ride super smooth, and the audio system...boy!!! amazing. I bought my car for $22,300 and it is worth every penny!! Thanks Toyota

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


One of the best cars I've ever owned.

by Nummy from Boca Raton, Fl | February 13, 2012

I'm delighted with this car. Very comfortable, excellent driving etc. Roomy. Lots of spaces to store stuff. Very good sound system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


certified toyota avalon xls

by arizonie from glendale arizona | December 5, 2011

we bought this car as a certified pre owned toyota w/ 24k miles. the reliability has been great. 106k miles now and no major problems just routine and preventive maintenence,it has never left us stranded. the body styling is a bit dull though.interior is nearly as nice as ourES330 Lexus. the price was no bargain but it has maintained its equity better than most brands. we had any warranty work done at toyota dealer and non warranty maintenence done elsewhere to minimize costs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good car

by CAP from East TEXAS | January 30, 2011

I have had the car for 5+ yrs and am very satisfied. The combined mileage isn't that great at 22MPG, but on the hwy it isn't bad - 27mpg. The paint on the front bumper area peals badly, and I have noticed other Avalons with the same problem. Very comfortable ride, and has far more rear leg room than the mercury GM I had before this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


my avalon

by Asianboy from Eau Claire, WI | January 26, 2011

I have owned my avalon for 5 years now, so far, it is still drive like the first day I bourght it. Everthing works like it should The ride is very smooth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Most comfortable ride!

by 04Avalon from Baltimore, MD | August 22, 2010

I have had this car for about two months and have no complaints. I am 6'8" and fit almost perfectly inside the car. I own the XLS model with all the extra features, which I enjoy. I haven't tested the heated seats, but it wont be long until it gets cold outside so I can test them out. The Bucket seats are very comfortable and Love the leather. The wooden trim dashboard looks very good and luxurious. The exterior design of the car is conservative and could of been a little better. They fixed the exterior design for the 05 models. I love the acceleration of the car except when it goes up hills it's a little hesitant. The Sunroof is great! The car has plenty of leg room. And I love how you can't even hear the car's engine when it starts. So smooth and quiet love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable

by Loyal toyota Owner from Upstate New York | July 13, 2010

Good Reliable car. Brought the car at 80K put on 20K miles since. Doing basic maintenance at 100K. Average cost. Use dealer parts whenever possible. Noticable difference in quality of aftermarket parts. Handling could be better but comfortable. ABS worked great in avoiding a near fatel collision with another careless driver. JBL Sound system excellent for factory unit. Better performance with premium gas vs. regular.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Toyota Avalon.


Featured Services for this Toyota Avalon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.