2005 Toyota Avalon

Change Vehicle
2005 Toyota Avalon
Available in 4 styles:  2005 Toyota Avalon 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$6,950–$14,790
Estimated MPG

22 city / 31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Excellent highway vehicle

by Bill in Cincy from Cincinnati, OH | August 19, 2012

Highway MPG is great for a car this large, avg 32+, city is low 20's. This is my second Avalon and hope to get another 200K plus on this one as well. Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable highway car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best car i have had

by JRoc from North Carolina | February 9, 2012

I own a 2005 Toyota Avalon and i love it. Smooth ride roomy cabine and it will also get up and go. Great on gas into town and out on road love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


An all-around great car

by loyal fan from Binghamton, NY | February 1, 2012

Overall, the best car we owned over the past 55 years. Quiet and comfortable as a Buick, but handles like my old BMW 325. The most roomy back seat of any sedan we know of, a plus because we frequently carry lots of passengers. There were several recalls, but all were handled expeditiously. No significant problems for 106,000 miles, and we traded it in for a 2008 Avalon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


One of the best cars I have had

by Toyota Enthusiast from Greenville, NC | November 14, 2011

Have had this car six months now. It has been a great value, with over 30 mpg on long trips. Would recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


It gives the smoothest ride

by mazamin from St. Louis, MO | December 22, 2010

I have had this 05 limited Avalon for about 3 months, with 110,000 mi now. Many people said do not buy this car because it is built for ages over 50 (I am 34), but I loved it a lot before I tested it and loved it more after I bought it. The drive is very smooth, it is very roomy, front and back. I know that many people write good things about the car, so I decided to write about some of the shortcomings of this car, most of which can be ignored: 1-the front seats are not very comfortable (although the Limited has many control features to adjust the best position, but still I have not been able to find the best adjustment yet. There are some simple things that should have been added: 2- coin holder 3- 12DC outlets are inside the armrest chamber, the cables will be squeezed if you want to close armrest. 4- tire pressure monitor 5- relatively small trunk storage

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Avalon Limited

by DL from Sayre, Pa | December 8, 2010

Purchased with with 98K and it performs like new. My experience with Toyota thus far is that the company/dealership tries to satisfy the customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car For The Price

by Ronnie B from | November 30, 2010

This is a larger car that surprisingly provides great power with highly respectible gas mileage. Very comfortable and quiet. Everything you look for in a higher end vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2005 Avalon Lemon

by smiley from Cleveland, Ohio | December 22, 2009

Lost engine oil twice due to faulty oil line, and had to replace engine. Corp. Toyota did not want to help with expenses !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


A1 Very good value

by Don the owner from North Carolina | December 20, 2009

Normal maintenance is all it has ever required. Gas milage: town 24 to 28;highway 32 to 35 depending on speed.It is a joy to drive on long road trips and is very comfortable. The separate heating and a/c for driver and passenger is great. One thing that would be very nice to have is automatic driver seat adjustment for two.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Impressive

by Toybota from Kansas City, MO | November 14, 2009

I have my avalon for almost a year now and I am loving every minute of it. I bought a used a XLS Avalon with the Blizzard Pearl Paint and I think it is one of the sexiest cars on the road. I have done but routine maintaince. They guy that owned it before traded it in for a new corvette a local chevy dealer was pretty particular about his cars. He had all service records from new and the window sticker in the glove box. This car is fast for how big and heavy it is. Toyota is claiming 0-60 in 6.0 and I believe it will do it. The great thing about his motor is they test in the desert for 2 years before putting this motor into production so you know its right. The car is quiet and handles great and on a straight highway run i'm getting between 32 and 33mpg. What a nice a car. There are a few things that I don't like about the car. The intermediate shaft has a design flaw and toyota wants $350 to replace with the redisign one. It bothered me at first with the steering wheel clunking a little bit but know that I ahve gotten use to it, I don't notice it anymore. The other problem I had with this car was the mushy brake pedal. Every toyota I have driven up until this one had a really touchy brake pedal and this one never did. Come to find out the brakes that are on the car were actually desinged for and share the same componets as the 03-06 Camry's. I solved this problem by purchasing a set of drilled and slotted rotors and a nice set of cermaic pads from the pars store and it solved all of problems Great car and will buy another one

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Avalon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.