2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Change Vehicle
2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid
Available in 1 styles:  Camry Hybrid 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$10,981–$20,345
Estimated MPG

33 city / 34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

More than expected

by Devoted Toyota owner from Cleveland, Ga | January 21, 2014

We needed a newer Camry and went on line. This was the first of three locations we went to and found it was the best price and offered more whistles and bells than the others. It was the only hybrid we drove. Love the car and Marshall Zimney , internet specialist with Coast Cadillac in Sarasota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great blend of economy and performance

by Mike from Millersville, PA | September 16, 2013

The 09 Camry Hybrid is amazing! It doesn't get as good a mileage as a Prius, but it's way more comfortable and roomy and for it's size and weight. I routinely get a tank average of 35 MPG. It's way fast off the line, if you need it to move out, like when getting on the highway. I love it when you're stopped and the engine shuts off, so you're not wasting gas. I also had an 07 before this one, and I believe they improved the MPG and the regen braking touchiness with the 09. If you buy used, you don't get hit with as much of the hybrid premium - it's wasn't much more than a regular Camry of the same year and miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Hands down the best car we have ever owned!

by Toyota Guy for life! from Phoenix, Arizona | August 24, 2013

I am in the automotive industry and after doing my own due diligence we purchased a preowned 09 Toyota Camry Hybrid for my wife to drive around my two little girls not just because it got 35 miles to the gallon, or because it has the strongest hybrid battery system/ charging system on the market, but it is a very safe vehicle as every passenger is surrounded by air bags. And they are the best air bags available says the consumer reports studies. And safety os of utmost importance to me! The Camry Hybrid is very classy and it rides as good if not better than any German engineered car I have ever driven! And lastly, it is NOT OVERPRICED like every other hybrid including the other Toyotas. So if I may I suggest that if you are in need of a new or pre owned car and you want reliability, great gas mileage, great looks, great value, & safety check out the Camry Hybrid. As far as hybrids go you will not find anything that even compares.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


manger

by bob from new york | February 24, 2013

i like this car very mach . I recommend any one to bay it toyota camry. They are hard to find on the market right now. A brand new 2012 model,with all the features would have set me back more than $36,000. So I "settled" for a Toyota Camry Hybrid, fully loaded with all the bells and whistles available on the 2009. I was promised 33 mpg......... I am not dissappointed. I have filled up six times thus far, and have been avaraging 39 mpg.( combined city and highway driving.) I got a bargain for $18,332 with 50K on the odometer ." I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes This vehicle was purchased: Used Primary use for this car: Work

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


well worth the money

by Money saver from Peoria, IL | October 13, 2012

The Camry hybrid is, in my opinion, the epitome of reliability, styling, fuel economy, space, comfort, and affordability. Seriously, consider reliability: it is a Toyota! Enough said. Consider styling: the one I owned was the first body style, and was in my opinion, the best. When that Camry came out I thought it was the hottest family car on the road. The hybrid model came stock with alloy wheels and l.e.d. taillights. I was always impressed with the gorgeous styling. Consider fuel economy: 37 mpg was what I averaged overall in the two plus years i owned one Consider space: the Camry is not your Prius. It actually has leg room for a tall driver, seats five, and it has a large trunk! Consider comfort: the one I owned was not the leather, sunroof, gps package, but the cloth seats were very comfortable, the power windows and driver seat were nice, the cruise control, audio controls, and temperature controls all on the steering wheel were nice. The dual temperature controls for driver and passenger was a favorite of my wife's! Overall the styling and amenities of the car's interior were above par. Last, consider affordability. Sure, there are Lexus hybrids out there, and there are other luxury car makers building hybrids, but Toyota knocked it out of the park with the Camry hybrid's combination of awesomeness for the price. Granted, i didn't buy one new myself, but i bought a two year old model with low miles from a dealer and was never disappointed in the value for the money. Overall, I wholeheartedly recommend anyone that is considering the Camry hybrid to stop reading reviews and go out and buy one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Second choice

by Mr Listener from Salem, VA | April 16, 2012

I was looking for a Certified pre-owned Volkswagon Passta TDI. They are hard to find on the market right now. A brand new 2012 model,with all the features would have set me back more than $36,000. So I "settled" for a Toyota Camry Hybrid, fully loaded with all the bells and whistles available on the 2009. I was promised 33 mpg......... I am not dissappointed. I have filled up six times thus far, and have been avaraging 39 mpg.( combined city and highway driving.) I got a bargain for $18,332 with 50K on the odometer .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Why pay more?

by Value Buyer from Newport Beach, CA | January 9, 2012

Looked at and have owned luxury before. Mercedes and Beemer primarily, but I LOVE this car! No premium gas, QUIET, like no luxury car and comfortable. I don't have the SoCal ego, but I have the smile (real not plastic) and money in my pocket from not overspending! The best in my 32 years od driving!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car, So-so Dealer

by Hybrid Happy from Elgin, IL | December 29, 2010

I really like the car, but was less than thrilled with the dealer. The car was listed as a Toyota Certified used car, but when I made my offer they told me that it didn't qualify as a Certified used car. It has all the controls for bluetooth ready/hands free phone use, and I was led to believe that this was a feature. After buying it, I couldn't figure out how to get the phone to sync and took the car back. My salesperson, who clearly believed that it had this feature, couldn't figure it out either. Ultimately, they told me that it had an after market system and I would have to buy an additional component to make this feature work. A few days later, I finally had the need to break quickly and found the breaks were extremely rough. I had to take it back to the dealer to have the breaks fixed, which they did free of charge, but it was still an unexpected hassle. Now that this is fixed, I quite enjoy the car. My only complaints are that even when I set the heat at 68 degrees and put it on automatic, the cabin seems to get heated far beyond that and I have to keep manually shutting off the heat and even though the after market stereo system is supposed to be far superior to the factory installed system, it has way, way too much bass for my liking.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2009 Hybird 9 mos in

by LaneN from York, PA | March 13, 2010

Purchased 9 mos. ago. Did a lot of test drives on other makes and models. Read all I could on best resale, safety, gas MPG.information and reviews. Purchased this car because of good history, good resale value and MPG. At 71 years of age I hoped this car would do well over the coming years and gas prices again going sky high. So far I am pleased with this car and the dealership. No recalls YET. I am very upset over the information about Toyota now coming out. I still like this car, good gas MPG around town. Better in warmer times then winter. I do wish it had a better interior. Great car but a little on the expensive side for what you get in return. Hope resale value or trade value does not drop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Not what I expected.

by Not so happy in California from East Bay, California | February 10, 2010

I went from a Nissan Xterra to this Camry Hybrid, I was quite disappointed in the overall quality of the Camry. I have had issues with squeeks, rattles, and noises from the day I drove it off the lot. I am disappointed with the cheap looking plastic pieces they used in the interior. I just feels cheap! The trunk is almost useless. I purchased this car in the summer of 2008, I barely put on 10k miles a year and the stock tires are already worn. I have wedges I use to stop the rattles in the dashboard cluster. The AC constantly has a noise from the fan that they can't get rid of, my seatbelt squeeks and they won't fix it because it is not a safety issue. I do not see where my mileage has improved over time, I am still getting about 34-38 in city and highway driving. I do have to say the car is very comfortable and it is nice to only have to fill up about every three weeks. The exterior is very sharp looking. It also handles very nicely. It just seems that Toyota tried to cut corners on the interior and as a result you have a really cheap looking interior that has a lot of noise issues. Would I recommend this car to a friend, probably, but I would advise them of the issues I have. Would I buy another one for myself, no. Toyota has disappointed me with their quality. I really was expecting a lot more from Toyota. Now we have all these recall issues, and guess what, mine is part of the recalls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid.


Featured Services for this Toyota Camry Hybrid

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.