1994 Toyota Celica

Change Vehicle
1994 Toyota Celica

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Celica 2dr coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$1,063–$5,875
Estimated MPG

23–27 city / 29–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

The best so far

by Celica Power from marlton | January 7, 2014

I got my 94 celica gt 5-speed for 2500$ with 179xxx miles, i had to change the clutch, timing belt and the water pump. I installed an aftermarket air intake, makes the car to sound awesome, i put some lowering sports springs in the front and nitto tires 450. after all this, i can say that i am really impressed with what this little car can do, i can go around the turns so quick that i have to push myself against the door to get back in the seat, great on gas, i drive pretty quick and if i combine city with highway i can get about 460 miles from a tank of gas, the car is reliable, during the snow storms, i was out for joyrides, the car is great in snow and has a great steering response, you can feel the car when you are driving, every time when i go for a ride, it puts a huge smile on my face, but there are couple of flaws with it, not a lot of choices when is about performance increase, aftermarket parts are hard to find and expensive, the oem parts are cheap,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Can't Buy A Better Car

by Celica Crazy from Sarasota, Florida | October 24, 2013

I've had two Celicas and I can't say enough good things about them. So beautiful inside and out and extremely reliable. My current Celica is 20 years old and it just keeps going. It has never let me down. I have the hatchback and I'm always amazed at what I can fit in the back. Best car on the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car!

by Celica Owner from | February 7, 2012

I bought my used 94 Celica ST standard for my first car and I love it. I've never had any problems with it and it is great on gas. I can go about 400 miles on only half a tank of gas. A great car that is a lot of fun to drive and looks good. A wonderful car for the price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I should've checked under the car

by yipper skipper from Franklin | March 18, 2010

When I met with the owner, I went by myself (as a woman), but thought I was really good at checking the car over and all the necessary paperwork for maintenance. I had driven close to an hour away from my home to meet him and gave the car a good look through, since I was unable to take it to the mechanics. I test drove it everything seemed great so I bought it right there. When I took it to the mechanic and they looked UNDER the CAR itself, it was so rusted that some of the car underneath now has holes from the rust. The mechanic explained rust was like cancer and that if he saw it before I purchased it, he would've swayed me. However, he said that if I get a good 6 months out of it, it already paid for itself.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Absolutely LOVE this car!

by Celica GT from Marcellus, MI | June 3, 2009

This is my second GT, my first was an '86, which was way ahead of it's time too. I bought it used 2 years ago and it came with all the bells and whistles, someone paid for all the upgrades. I've had a few issues but have been able to fix them all. The previous owner did not love this car because as soon as it started having problems they got rid of it. Had to replace the computer for the power window's and doors and had to get the wipers fixed. Also had to replace the ignition control module, now there's an expensive part! However even then it still kept going, with only 2 cylinders operating! It hugs the curves and get's me 33 mpg. I have no complaints. The styling is awesome and lots of space in the trunk, we've had a full patio set in it before(still in the boxes). It's my Celica Truck :) It is going up this fall to be completely over hauled. At 280,000 miles I wouldn't even think about getting rid of this car. I'm hoping to reach 1,000,000!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


To the Moon and (hopefully) Back!

by Guiermo from Durham, NC | December 15, 2008

White 1994 Toyota Celica ST Coup, 2WD, manual transmission, with a 1.8L 7A-FE engine: "Betsy" was purchased from a newspaper ad about ten years ago for $5,000, yet I was forced to pay sales tax on $7,500. Of course, formal complaints to my government were rebuked. She now has 252,800 miles on her and I have finally replaced her rear struts, sway bar bushings and links (by myself) in anticipation of more difficult maintenance jobs I keep expecting to be needed, which is why I began to DIMY. Parts are not hard to find. Earlier repair history: changed out her clutch, timing chain, alternator, a couple of batteries, and fixed an oil leak, but Betsy has run like a top as long as I have had her. I have not kept up perfectly with the maintenance schedule (far from it), so she probably would have died long ago if not for her Japanese quality heritage. Oh, and if not for my wife's great attention to oil change frequency. We've brought home many large items, including Christmas trees, in Betsy, despite her petite appearance! Driving this car has been such a pleasure, not to minimize the happiness derived from 33 mpg on the highway, and eternal reliability, I wanted to tell the world. My only complaint was the poor ride one got in the back seat, but the new shocks might have fixed that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great car!

by HannahMerry from Portsmouth, NH | July 30, 2006

Bought the car used, it has had less problems than my friends' new cars! Plus the styling (round headlights, curves) are lightyears ahead of its time, so it still looks great today! The interior is pure genius on an economy level: everything is angled toward the driver and easy to get at, but no gaudy plati-wood trim. Way to go Toyota!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Above-average reliability, decent value

by Kelsey from Chicago, IL | May 19, 2006

I bought my Celica GT coupe in 2001 for $7,000 with 83K miles, and I've since driven a little over 40K miles. In "Good" condition, Kelley Blue Book lists the car for a Private Party value of $3,600. Reliability is good, though not top-notch. Aside from regularly scheduled maintenance (clutch at 84K, timing belt at 90K), the only problems are a squeaky clutch pedal, periodic rough idling and some grinding/resistance with the manual transmission. Easy-does-it shifting on cold mornings keeps the shifter from acting up. My A/C compressor recently quit, as well. Considering many cars have steering problems, shot suspension parts and engine issues by 125K miles, I feel like this car has lived up to its Toyota reputation. The curvy styling is classy -- people think it's a much newer car than '94. Interior wear is impressive: There's slight wear on the driver's seat bolster, but other cabin materials have held up well. Power windows, locks and sunroof work fine. Acceleration is adequate around town. With the 2.2L four-cylinder, there's plenty of torque for lively push-offs. Up high it loses gusto, as this engine is years before Toyota got into variable-valve timing. Handling is solid, though the ride is a bit rough on the highways. Cabin noise at 70 mph is loud, especially because the engine runs around 4000 rpm at that point. Supposedly Toyota installed more insulation in '95 Celicas. I live in the city and average 24 mpg, though on long highway trips I can break 30. The car runs on 87-octane fuel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Celica

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.