1996 Toyota Celica

Change Vehicle
1996 Toyota Celica

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  Celica 2dr Coupe ST shown
Asking Price Range
$2,445–$8,357
Estimated MPG

22–29 city / 29–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Excellent Car

by Lightning from Springfield, IL | June 12, 2014

I used to own a 1996 Toyota Celica GT Convertible & it was off the chain. I'm looking for another one under 2,000 dollars now & can't find one so I will wind up getting a 2004 PT Cruiser my wife loves the Toyota & would rather get it but have no choice to get the PT Cruiser as I can't find a 1996 Toyota Celica GT Convertible automatic for sale.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great car

by smooth trooper from | May 5, 2014

bought this car used with 101k miles on it. been driving it daily for 2 years now and over 45k miles. not a single problem with it at all. never done any "major" repairs. rebuilt starter at 130k miles but that was it. best car ive ever had. plan to give it to my newborn son when he is 16. i have no doubt it will last until then

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Koolest Car I Ever Bought

by New to Toyotas from Long Island | September 17, 2012

I got the 25th year anniversary edition Celica GT convertible. It's styling is way ahead of it's time, which was 1996 by golly! Actually, I wish Toyota still made this car---and KEPT the exact same styling. Some cars just NEVER go out of style! This is not, however, one of those "muscle cars," it just looks like one. Don't get me wrong, it HAS power, and plenty of it. Step on the throttle and you're going to get a "push back" into your bucket seat. Nevertheless, the hard core "bang-my-head-on-the-headrest-why-don't-you people" are not going to be jumping for joy. This is an in-between car that gives you the muscular look and feel but does not cost you those hard-earned muscle bucks! I always say: "Know what you're getting, then go for it!"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love it!

by Tax Lady from | April 10, 2009

My investment in this car has really paid off. I would still be driving it if I had not been hit in the parking lot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


226,000 and going strong

by Rick from Olympia | February 18, 2009

I've had my Celica since its birth in 1996. This car was been hit by a semi on I-90 in 19997 and just kept on going with only $3k in repairs. Still have OEM everything. Replaced 5th gear in 2005, but the easy access panel on the manual transmission saved $1000 in repairs since they did not have to drop it out of the car. Gets 35+ mpg on highway and 500 mile range per tank. Drives like a rocket sled on rails in the corners (that's good :-). Can't wait till the Celica makes it come back in 2010/11.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


just like any other old toyota very reliable

by import magazine from chicago | May 18, 2007

the car may look nice and drive great very fun to drive. it gets sweet gas millage and if you drive with a heavy foot its still the same considering it not very fast. for a slow car that may look fast i still recomend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Love it!

by Tax Lady from Ohio | July 19, 2006

A joy to drive, extremely reliable, 40-45 mpg, and looks good too. My detail shop makes "her" looks great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


celica

by Sports Car Enthusiast from chicago | May 29, 2006

it doesn't look like how you think it is.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Celica

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.