2002 Toyota Celica

Change Vehicle

2002 Toyota Celica

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2002 Toyota Celica 2dr Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,545–$10,389

Estimated MPG

23–28 city / 32–33 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

2002 Toyota Celica is a winner

by Sir Thomas from Marion, IN | July 10, 2013

We just purchased a 2002 Celica for our son, who absolutely loves it. The car gets great gas mileage, averaging around 30 MPG, and has styling like no other car on the road. He really enjoys the compliments his friends give on this unique, sporty car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Perfect

by Shapeshifter_CRO from City of Zagreb, Croatia | January 4, 2012

I'm from a small state Croatia in Europe and I bought this car (VVT-i 143 HP) about a month ago with 110.000 km, 6-speed manual. Works fantastic! All 1ZZ-FE motors may have the same problems about the oil consumption before 2003. In my case: 1L oil / 7000 km. Normal. Toyota says that the normal oil consumption may be 1L/1000 km! Feeling is great, looks great, all mechanical parts works fine, economical. Few friends got the same model and two of them have TS (VVTL-i 192 HP) and none of them does not have any problems at all. Very good car! Greetings from Zagreb, Croatia!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


So much for Toyota reliability

by Kengel from CT | December 20, 2011

When I first purchased my 02 Celica GT for $6500. It had tons of go compared to my old Impreza, it looked great on the outside and inside, and had a really good overall feel. It had 98XXX miles at the time. 5,000 miles later, I bent a rod, and had to spend $4,000 getting the engine replaced. Since then I've had check engine lights from the evap system, and one of the cats went bad. The estimated 34 MPG is completely unrealistic, with only 5 speeds you'll be doing 4,000 RPM at 80 MPH, which I don't think is an unrealistic cruising speed. Overall, I'd say if you want a Celica, buy a GTS, definitely not a GT, but for that money in the North you'd be better off in a Subaru and in the South, some RWD muscle car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


dont buy

by tess from | June 24, 2011

i have an 01 celica. ive had it about 4 years. other than good gas mileage and looking nice the car is awful. it has no go whatsoever. anything and everything has gone wrong wiht her. she burns oil like crazy and has a multi cylinder misfire. awful car dont buy not worth the stress of constantly fixing im trying to get rid of mine

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Puts some spice in a commuter car

by Kengel from Roxbury, CT | April 29, 2011

I just bought my 02 Celica GT on Tuesday. I'm using it to commute to school next year, naturally my father wanted me to get a Civic, Corolla, etc. however the Celica was a great middle ground for the two of us. It gets great MPG and has the famous Toyota reliability. I work at a garage and drive other peoples cars all the time, and I've never found a clutch this tight, not in brand new Imprezas or Mini Coopers. Not only does it have all the basic features of a good commuter car, but it steps out of the box and looks great, and drives like a dream. Also, being the 18 year old guy that I am this car is a great starting point for some basic modifications to make it really my own. In short, I couldn't ask for a better economy/commuter car, it's practical and sporty at the same time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Celica Enthusiast from Austin, TX | March 11, 2010

Found it at Cars.com 250-mi from here. Excellent condition for almost 100K-miles but Celicas are good for at least 250K without a major overhaul. This one gets over 30-mpg and hums right along. All the bells and whistles of expensive cars with leather seats, pwr doors windows alarm auto cold air etc. This is my first 7th generation Celica; used to have a '95. I love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Practical yet Sporty

by GT-S Driver from Brea, CA | July 15, 2009

Great gas mileage. Routinely get 35 - 39 MPG city/hwy combined. Car is very light and the handling is tight & responsive. The Action Package kit is very nice. Very reliable. Have had this car for 150,000 miles without any major prob. Here are the downsides: 1)Low torque. 1st - 3rd gear requires high rev if you want to challenge other high perf cars on the road. 2)Performance is hindered when the A/C is on. 3) My car has a chronic belt sqeak at start up. The belt tensioner was replaced, but the problem persists. Could be due to poor workmanship at the dealership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Worst car i ever owned

by Mechanic from Baltimore | December 28, 2008

I have owned this car for 1 year. So far it has has an engine at 60K and a transmission rebuild at 65K. The toyota warenty covered all the work. When the engine was replaced they did not know that the intake camshaft will lock in the retarted position reducing power and told me there was nothing wrong with the car. They had a dealer represenitive drive the car and he said the same. Only when a Chevy tech checked out what they did was the problem found and corrected. They also preformed the recall on the vehicle and put the fuel pump in incorectly so the fuel level gauge did not work. Now it is in the shop because at 68k the transmission started to leak and the passanger driveshaft started to walk out of the transmission. I have never owned a car with this many problems or had to wait so long to get parts. Another dealer worked on the car putting a alternator in at 66k, they ordered the part and told me it would take 2 weeks to get one from outside of the US because there were none left.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Amazing Car

by TRD.Aaron from Miramar, FL | September 2, 2008

This car is absolutely amazing, gets me from point a to point b and a whole lot more! I get between 34-36 mpg combined city and highway, although thats granny driving its still better than a lot of hybrids out there. The sytling of the car is ok but with the trd package or tsunami package its awesome. The 1zz engine of the GT isn't spectacular but is fast enough for an 18 year old who likes to speed at certain times and have some fun on the highway. Last but not least the Reliability is legendary and stands true to the Toyota name.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car!

by Toyota Lover from Cincinnati, OH | March 22, 2007

Wonderful car! Never had a single problem with it, dependable, sporty, great gas miles and comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Celica

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.