1996 Toyota Corolla

Change Vehicle
1996 Toyota Corolla

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  Corolla 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$622–$5,322
Estimated MPG

29–31 city / 34–35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Good car! Good price!

by First car from Clinton MD | July 3, 2013

I brought it for my 17 year old son. Perfect for him. Very reliable. Outstanding for a first car and humble beginnings!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


High mileage review

by 83stang from Glenwood Springs, CO. | August 17, 2012

I know these are reliable cars over all, but I find it interesting these things (in this year rating) have a known transmission problem, (5 speed manual) and nowhere here in the bluebook ratings is it mentioned. (except for now). At 210,000 miles the car lost 4th gear, skipping 4th wasn't that big a deal, but then fairly quickly 3rd went out, followed by 5th, and then 2nd. Nearly 2000.00 to fix acording to the local trany place. Looks like I'll tow it within a couple blocks of a dealership and drive it into the lot using its last gear (1st) and trade it in... yes, for another corolla, but a newer one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Still Running Strong

by Bobert from CT | June 20, 2011

My wife and I bought this car with 35,000 miles in '99 and boy does it not owe us a dime. 270,000 miles! The distributor cap cracked at about 200,000 and we replaced the valve cover gasket at about 240,000. The A/C is still as cold as the day we bought it...Come on 300K! Thank you 'Yota!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


my first car purchase

by You Know Me from | April 19, 2011

Purchased when I was 18, I was naturally unaware of the amount of maintenance required for a car owner, however this car needed very little. I drove the Corolla for 6 years with very few oil changes and very little maintenance required.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Good for money and boring

by Corrola owner from Bay City, MI | February 1, 2010

I have owned my 1996 Toyota Corrola DX for 3 years although it has been in my family ever since it was brand new. I have never had any problem with its Mechanics. The only issue beside it being the most boring and slow car in history.(and the fact that it is foreign, it was free so i took it), is the interior. Two cupholders in the whole car and won't even hold a Gatorade bottle they are so small. and the interior door handles break really easy. It's quite weird. One seatbelt cover broke as well. so its pretty much just low grade plastic in the interior that breaks. I also would like Cruise control but it is an older car I understand. If you are absolutely set on buying a foreign car (I strongly recommend buying something from the big 3) and you have no money and don't really need to get anywhere fast. This is the car for you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Over 222K and Just made first repair!

by Shamelrb from So Cal | January 30, 2010

I bought this car in 1998 Used, 33K miles,It now has over 222K miles and I just had my first problem which all started with the Alarm that I haven't used in 5 yrs. It ended up costing me a tow, a new alternator, new starter fuse(not sure?) and a bunch of other little snow ball effect things, when in the end all I need was a relay fuse, which was replaced in the begining of this episode but the mechanic did not tightened properly and thus it would only start every other day. It ended up being this simple thing, so actually I have never had a single mechanical thing go wrong!!! I can put $5 worth of gas and get from my place to my boyfriends (65 miles away) and it just keeps running. I do practically no preventitive maint (I think in 12 yrs I had the oil changed 3 times, but if I add new oil when it is empty, didn't I thoretically change it? LOL!) this car is amazing! It doesn't look so great on the outside the hood and roof paint is faded badly, But the interior is in great shape. I literally run this car into the ground and she keeps performing like a champ! I am 39 yrs old and this car will out live me and my 21 yr old son. I cannot say enough about how great it is. I have gotten every inflated penny I paid for this car back ten fold. If you are thinking of buying a 1996 toyota corolla, DO IT, you will not be disappointed!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great economical daily driver

by Happy With My Car from Austin, TX | August 21, 2008

I've had this car for 11 years and it has about 167k miles on it. I've replaced the motor mounts and timing belt, no other big-ticket items. Has never needed more than a brake light bulb to pass inspection. Has decent pickup and will cruise at highway speeds without feeling like it's about to fall apart. Gets about 35 mph on the highway. Good cargo space--trunk is quite large and back seat can be folded down for long objects. Rear seat passenger space is cramped, though, and the suspension isn't designed for a really heavy load--I've had five people in it but you have to take the speed bumps really slow. Really slows down on hills when towing, too, but it says right in the owner's manual it wasn't designed to tow. Paint is a bit faded but not bad for the age of the car and not having been kept in a garage. Upholstery looks like new. Factory sound system has good sound, though the cassette player eventually quit working.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Maxten from St. Paul, MN | July 7, 2008

I bought this car used with 125k and now I have 190k on it and it's still running strong. Haven't had any problems with this car and it's been worth every penny.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Over 450k and still running strong.

by Satisfied Toyota Owner from New Brunswick, Canada | June 16, 2008

After going through 12 years on the rough roads and the cold winters in Canada this car still works as good as the day I bought it. Never any major problems just routine maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


270k miles still going

by ym42 from Philadelphia, PA | April 15, 2008

Not the greatest car but not the worst. Missing standard ABS. Quite reliable, most of the money spent were on maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Corolla

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.