1997 Toyota Corolla

Change Vehicle
1997 Toyota Corolla

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  Corolla 4dr Sedan DX shown
Asking Price Range
$1,084–$5,428
Estimated MPG

29.1–31 city / 34.9 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Great

by Erinbee from Tampa, FL | October 19, 2013

It's great for its age. No major issues with it. Small oil leak and the gas mileage is not the greatest. Cup holders are very limited to what they hold. But overall I love the car. It has ice cold ac and all the power windows work. Overall I'm very happy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


hate nto get rid of

by shen201 from Virginia Beach | April 11, 2011

I have owned it for about 7 years from a good previous owner. The car is very reliable and saves gasoline. It performs sufficiently for me. I think about getting rid of it since it is 14 years old, but I am still reluctant in doing that. Every thing works well, and other than its age, I cannot figure out why I should get rid of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Gotta love her!

by Cynder1228 from ANderson, IN | November 18, 2010

I have loved this car for years! I am the second owner. I feel safe in this car, always have! Only one draw back at all: is the road noise. I think it could have been quieter. I hope my next car is a Toyota!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best car I ever bought

by Toyota believer from Chaplin, CT | September 5, 2009

Bought 5 speed new with 186 miles currently have 318,402 miles and still going. Replaced brakes first time at 217,000 miles. Installed used transmission at 238,000 miles. Still have original timing belt which no ones belives.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car!

by cher79 from chicago | November 15, 2008

I own a '97 Toyota Corolla DX and I LOVE it! I just purchased it used last year and it had 108,000 miles on it...now it has 127,000 miles. I drove my car from Chicago to Toronto, Canada last year, and it held up pretty well. I did have to replace the starter, though, and my power locks stopped working but I had the problem repaired (keep in mind that my car is 10 years old); I have regular maintenance checks like taking care of the brakes, changing the oil, etc. Other than that, it's pretty reliable and I haven't had any major problems. The heat works well, which is great for these Chicago winters. This is my first vehicle and I am really glad I have it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fantastic reliable car that's cheap to drive

by 53 year old boring grey haired fat guy from MA | October 4, 2008

This is a basic car. I bought it 3 years ago with 95K on it, and I've put 30K on. Used it to teach a kid and a girlfriend to drive a standard, and we're still on the original clutch. Always starts, AC works, heater works, radio works, cloth seats are comfortable, get 35 - 39 mpg. 'nuff said?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very Reliable and Good Value

by B1 from Grand Rapids, MI | August 9, 2008

I purchased the car when it was 10 years old and had 221,000 on it. In my year plus, the car is very reliable and a pleasure to drive. I wish it was a stck shift, otherwise the car has been great. Even 11 Michigan winters have not put obvious rust on the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This car's the best.

by Shopping for a car.. from Washington, DC | May 18, 2007

I've never had any problems. It's easy to own. Always reliable. Road trips are a blast with this car, and it's practially invisible to the police!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


"Defines Reliability"

by Eco5jb from Akron, Ohio | February 14, 2007

Ive had this car for seven years now, and I bought it used. It's got over 180,000 miles (I put 150,000 on myself). I've NEVER had anything go bad on it mechanically, and it still runs and looks great for a 10 year old vehicle. The corolla was not a luxury or performance vehicle, but it is the definition of reliability and economical- a great car by toyota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Corolla

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.