1998 Toyota Corolla

Change Vehicle

1998 Toyota Corolla

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  Corolla 4dr Sedan VE shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,083–$6,131

Estimated MPG

31 city / 38 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Very very reliable car

by Denise from Los Angeles | July 7, 2014

I think the most important feature of this car is that it is very reliable. I did the regular maintenance and in the 10 years that I have owned it, it NEVER caused any problems on the road. Not once, I had to call AAA. Considering its age, you would think it doesn't do well in high speeds, but you feel secure. (granted, I never tried to go over 75 mph.) I think I can use this car for ten more years without big problems. My model is CE, and I wish I had automatic doors and windows. The AC works really well. In a few seconds you get the cold air if it's too hot outside. But my main concern has always been reliability and performance. In both grounds, this car is excellent.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I love this car

by B-Fat from Clinton Iowa | November 28, 2013

This is my first car and well it is just amazing. I cant see myself in anything else... this car has great turning I have put almost 5000 miles on it since i bought it about a month ago. I couldnt ask for anything better. though when i got it the cd player didnt work and the rear passenger window doesnt roll down. I am having a problem with the center console like i have read in other reviews. the rear cupholder is broken as well... but other then those flaws i would definitely get this car. it is a great car for going and doing really anything....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


An bland appliance of a car

by tyler500e from Kansas City, KS | February 3, 2013

The corolla is a car for people who don't care about driving a fun vehicle. I have 1998 Corolla and have had it for 9 years and I have put over 100,000 miles on it, and it now has over 170,000 miles. The car has never had any serious problems and has been 99% reliable. It does burn oil now though. Also the interior is CHEAP. Seriously, the interior bits are VERY CHEAP. Plastic trim and parts have broken, peeled off , and become very disfunctional. The door handles on the inside and outside of the front doors have broken multiple times. The mechanism in the front passenger door broke, rendering the door useless. The center console hinge has broken multiple times. The cup holder tray gets stuck and doesn't work more than it does work. The rear cup holder plastic has broken. The suspension has always been too soft, and the car has so much body roll when turning/cornering, you would think you're driving a van. I've been in the market for a new car, and even a lot of the new toyotas seem to have cheap plastic-y interiors and too soft suspension with excessive body roll in corners. This corolla has been mechanically reliable, and that is it. Just about everything inside the cabin of the car has broken at one time or another. The car get's decent gas mileage. If you are looking for a cheap car to get good gas mileage, but aren't looking for a fun or comfortable car, then I would suggest an entry level toyota like the corolla or camry. It has got the job done, but I will not be buying another toyota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable, Great mpg, very economic! Handles well!!

by Josh from Coaldale, PA | October 16, 2012

Received this car as a gift, and it runs really well. It handles very smoothly, in rain, snow, or sleet. The visuals are lacking to a minor degree, however, the functionality makes up for it in strides. As long as it is maintained you should have no issues whatsoever!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


98 corolla

by rg from | September 25, 2012

this is a fantastic car if you dont want to spend money on gas or parts. i bought mine with 115,xxx miles on it and now have 174,xxx miles with now issues with it. i estimate the shocks and struts will need to be done by the time 200,000 miles comes around but thats to be expected in most vehicles (especially in new "pot hole" jersey). parts and labor to repair this car (if you ever have to) is very cheap and easy to work on. i have gotten up to 44mpg in this car many times. i average about 35 and the tank is cheap to fill. the crash test rating on this car are also fantastic especially considering its not the biggest thing on the road. also note the tires for this car are very cheap, it takes 185/65/r14 tires. i get ultra high performance tires for $62 each on tire rack.com. just something to keep in mind if its a commuter car like mine is tires go faster than you thing. the 1.8 isnt underpowered but certainly doesnt have and excess of horse power but it gets you from point A to B without an issue.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good car

by John from Philadelphia, PA | March 25, 2012

first i had 2001 nissan sentra auto, then 99 solara auto, and decided to buy a stick shift, and got this car, this car is the best so far, plus its a stick shift, I like how you leave all those bmw's tl's n all that stuff behind when u move it from its place, very very easy to do manuevers and it is very reliable, and cheap to maintain, good for college students

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great First Car

by jamielee from New Jersey | February 1, 2012

I bought our 1998 Corolla used for my 17 year old - it's a great first car. It was easy to handle and reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car for the Buck!

by Used Car Rookie from Bronx, NY | March 15, 2010

I needed a good used car but was inexperienced and naive about cars and dealerships. I researched for months and went to many dealerships and just took in what they did and what they said. I also asked everyone I know, questions on how to buy a good used car and what to expect. I used Cars.com to view prices, because I wanted to be in know about what each one cost according to their year and mileage. I am happy to say, my research and using Cars.com paid off. I purchased a 1998 Toyota Corolla in excellent condition and at a great price. I am now finally relaxed and pleased! Everyday I love getting in my car (which I did fix up with some modern accessories) and enjoying the ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My First Car

by Corolla Driver from Boston, MA | November 27, 2009

This is the first car I've owned, my dad gave it to me in 2005 with about 70,000 miles on it. It now has 129,0000 miles on it and still runs fine. During the time that I've owned it has been very reliable with only a few minor problems and it's been a real gas saver. My only complaint is that it is a very small compact car with little leg room. If you're looking for a reliable car thats good on gas get this car, if you're looking for a big comfortable car to drive with a lot of people in it, don't get this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable and Dependable and will miss it!

by Love My Car from Wausau, WI | July 24, 2009

Great economical little car. A blast to drive and get around in! Perfect car for the student. Comfortable and great gas milage - averages 30 to 34 miles per gallon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Corolla

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.