2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Change Vehicle
2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Available in 2 styles:  2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$15,265–$31,457
Estimated MPG

27 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 6 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-6 of 6 reviews

2009 Highlander Hybrid Limited

by bandgmcg from Gainesville, VA | January 22, 2013

Bought this car after seeing it listed Cars.com. I had sold my 2006 Highlander through Cars.com as well. Love the Highlander. The 2009 model is so much more comfortable and enjoyable to drive than my 2006 V6 Highlander Limited. The gas mileage is about 10 mpg's (40 %) better. The cabin is larger and more comfortable. A much more luxurious ride that's for sure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Highlander Hybrid - NOT!

by Cowboy from Morehead, KY | June 6, 2012

The highlander Hybrid was everything I expected EXCEPT in-town gas mileage! I expected in-town mileage to be closer to advertised mileage of 27 MPG. I got between 14 and 18 MPG. I was told by Toyota to drive MORE AGGRESSIVELY!. Totally counter-intuitive. If you are hauling a boat - it will satisfy you. If you are seeking a good balance between road and town driving with hybrid - you are wasting $3000 - $4000 for and electric motor that won't get it done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Should have made this purchase two years ago

by Family Guy from Midland, MI | October 21, 2011

The Toyota Highlander Hybrid is perfect for our growing family. It's easy to maneuver and zips through traffic effortlessly. Getting the best gas mileage is dependent on keeping your acceleration speed within the recommended indicator lights. The ride is smooth and quiet, and the Highlander is great for quick trips to the store or long rides to grandma's house. Our whole family loves it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great car-poor tires

by Vince from Dayton, Oh | May 10, 2011

I've only owned the car for 3 months (bought it used) but it has been as good as advertised. It's comfortable, fairly quiet and I'm averaging almost 28 mpg. With only 30,000 miles the tires need to be replaced and it was obvious when I bought the car. For a car with that price tag I would think Toyota would equip it with better tires. The steering is a little loose but all in all I like the car and would recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Beautiful, reliable car, gas mileage not so good

by coffeelady from Pacific Northwest | March 12, 2011

I love everything about this car except the gas mileage is not what they say. Had it 6 months, and find that MPG is erratic . Have started to use the ECON setting and will see?? Don't think you should have to monitor the car settings. Ride is fantastic. If you don't care about gas mileage this is a wonderful car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great suv

by max6133 from parlin nj | February 5, 2011

bought this 2009 toyota highlander hybrid for my wife 1 year ago..great vehicle for families..entrance to the third row seat is easy with a removable center console that can be easily stored, ample room for a third row..great on the highway..very responsive pickup on entry ramps and passing highway speeds..i average around 24 mpg mixed driving..you could get more in econo mode but the vehicle feels less responsive to throttle wich makes sense..less gas..but you have to constantly monitor the fuel consumption monitor..if you do you can get closer to 27mpg in mixed driving..power liftgate is great when juggling items..only draw back i found was winter driving...very poor in dep snow..rear wheels rarely engaged when trying to get out of deep or moderate piles of snow..once you're up and going it handles pretty well..very nice package just wished it performed better in winter living in the northeast..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-6 of 6 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid.


Featured Services for this Toyota Highlander Hybrid

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.