2003 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle

2003 Toyota Highlander

Available in 6 styles:  2003 Toyota Highlander FWD shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$8,650–$9,575

Est. MPG

18–22 city / 22–27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Love Toyota products

by golf nut from Lancaster, PA | February 10, 2013

The Highlander has more creature comforts than a 4runner that I had before. I sold my 4Runner with 281,000 miles on so if this does nearly as well, I'll be ahead of the game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Toyotas are the best

by Garrysgal from Crawfordville, FL | February 28, 2012

This is our third Toyota and before that we had Honda's. I wish the American auto makers could make a good used vehicle that was just as reliable as a Toyota. And one that we could afford to get into.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best used SUV all round

by Expat in a hurry from eastern PA | February 13, 2012

I landed in the US from the UK in December and had to buy a car in a hurry. I had a limited budget and wanted a 4 wheel drive due to the winter conditions found here and an SUV seemed the best choice with children and a dog. I was going to buy a Jeep but the Consumer Reports were so bad and my friends advised me to look at Consumer Reports to trace the reliability over the years of SUV models. The only SUVs with an almost perfect reliability record were Toyotas. Having sworn never to buy a Japanese car (nothing to do with WWII just a dislike of the gimmicks and especially the switches) I was pleased to find this Highlander mid range. High mileage but one owner and garaged it looks years younger than 2003 and it had only been in the dealer's lot for a week. I drove it, asked for a couple of things to be done (tracking / whee alignment) and have driven it a few thousand miles since. The engine is a V6 4 cam OHV with VVT and as it is not the top of the range will miss the electrical complications. I rented a brand new Jeep last week on business and honestly think the Toyta has less body roll. It is quick enough (who needs a fast car in a country with a 55 mph speed limit?). The body is solid, not one rattle despite being over 145,000 miles. The car has a moon roof, auto garage door opener synch, overdirve, winter mode on the transmission. Silent as a whisper when idling and responsive when needed. I thoroughly like it and have driven Land Rovers and other SUV models previously. I would buy a new one but probably go for the Land Cruiser. Value for money 9/10.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Vehicle I've ever had!

by Owner of a 2003 Toyota Highlander from Baton Rouge, La. | July 24, 2011

The 2003 Highlander is AWESOME! It's Great on gas and has a 4 star safety rating! This is THE BEST VEHICLE I'VE EVER OWNED!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great all around car

by SUV fan from Indiana | February 22, 2011

Very versitile, great space, very good milage. I have 125,000 miles on it and just had the brakes done for the first time, have never replaced the spark plugs. Still runs great, super car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good performer

by Car Dude from Los Angeles | February 7, 2010

My 2003 Highlander was a solid performer on the highway, but a real loser off road. It's really an all-wheel drive...not a 4-wheel drive. Good in the rain and snow...lousy over bumps and sand. Also, it eats brakes. Overall, the V-6 is underpowered for the vehicle's weight. Don't try to tow anything with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


great suv

by test driver from long island, ny | August 24, 2009

not really a looker insaide or out but good smooth ride like a camry. good option choices and a little pricey.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great

by Retired from Scottsdale Az | November 22, 2008

Our family has had the Mercedes, BMW/s, Cadillacs, Lincoln,s and a Porsche. Also we have owned two Tahoes. This is the most solid and dependable car we have ever owned. Wouls highly recommed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Beautiful car

by Loggers from Clifton Park, NY | May 1, 2008

I purchased this car used from a Lexus dealer. The car is in cherry condition. The only slight down fall for this car is the gas mileage and it is due to the all wheel drive I'm sure. Love the car...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


best vehicl I owned

by kelly from fargo | August 14, 2006

quiet and soft riding like a car, yet great on ice and snow I would recommend this vehicle to any toyota lover or family with 2 children in the north country that needs the all wheel drive in an SUV. very reliable and well worth the money compared to many other vehicles. Compare the book price on this vehicle to an American made vehicle older vehicle the same year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Highlander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.