2004 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle
2004 Toyota Highlander
Available in 6 styles:  2004 Toyota Highlander AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$6,544–$14,456
Estimated MPG

18–22 city / 22–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Still the best vehicle

by Love my toyota from Maryland | April 11, 2013

My 2004 Toyota Highlander runs as smooth and comfortable as it did the day I bought it and much better than the new vehicles I test drove this month. Great SUV giving you the comfort of a car but the cargo and all-wheel drive of an SUV. Has been very reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very pleased

by Jeri from Palmdale, Ca | March 19, 2012

Bought 2004 Toyota Highlander Limited, fully loaded, one owner, superb CarFax, with 101,000 miles. Very pleased

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2004 Highlander Limited

by Toyota Lover from Minnesota | February 1, 2012

Bought new and it's been a great SUV. No major issues. Stock tires only lasted 30K. Third seat is great for my kids and their friends. I didn't realize how much I needed or would use it until after I had it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


So far so good.......no complaints

by Family guy from the Chicago Suburbs from Chicago suburbs | June 14, 2011

This has been a great car. Now at 111k and going strong, with only a timing belt change at 90k and power steering problem fixed under warranty. Car was broadsided by DUI individual, my kids emerged unscathed. Fixed by Toyota, we expect many more years out of it, until the next car, another Highlander of course. Very happy with the purchase when new, didn't think we would like it like we do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Lucky So Far

by Family Guy from West Chicago suburbs | April 24, 2011

Bought our V6 new, we now have 109k on it. Really a great car. Very reliable! The only issue is with the cloth seats, which get dirty easily. Otherwise, very happy with the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Been Driving Mine for 6+ Years--Still Going Strong

by Chicago Guy from Chicago, Illinois | June 30, 2010

Bought my Limited new in May of 2004. Have only put about 42,000 miles on it. It still drives like new. Ive never had any need to do anything except routine maintenance. I will mention that in stop and go (read city expressway at rush hour) there is a bit of a hesitation when trying to accellerate quickly--has always bugged me jsut a bit. Otherwise I think it is a terrific vehicle... and to-date, my favorite car that Ive owned. Highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Solid Vehicle

by Carl_Barl from Pittsburgh, PA | February 17, 2010

I purchased my 2004 Highlander from a private party. It had 7K miles. It now has 147K and is going strong. This is a very reliable SUV. The only major repairs has been the replacement of the timing belt, which cost about $700. I have had to deal with the usual issues concerning brakes and rotors. The cabin is still relatively squeak free. No major noises. The only complaint I have about the Highlander is the transmission. It doesn't shift very smooth from 1st to 2nd gear. If you are coasting at 5 mph or kinda do a half stop at a stop sign, the shift to second gear is very harsh. I have learned to feather the gas pedal as I try to accelerate. I really don't like the way it constantly downshifts from OD to 5th gear when you have the cruise control engaged and are going up a slight grade. That is very annoying. I end up releasing the manual OD button that is on the shifter. If you are going up a hill the car is constantly downshifting and upshifting. I have grown used to it. The car is roomy and has a 3rd row in the back which helps with the grandkids, although there isn't any room for an adult back there. The MPG isn't great, but then again it is a V6 with lots of power. I travel to Eastern PA fequently and I can go about 325 miles on a tank of gas. The car is great in the snow. Overall, I am very satisfied with my Highlander.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2004 Highlander: Very nice vehicle

by tmmoore52 from Chicagoland | October 30, 2009

This is the 1st Toyota I've purchased. I researched different SUVs for over 8mos. before buying it. What a great car! We've had some minor problems: lens covers melting over D/R lights & poor factory tires. But overall the best vehicle I've ever purchased. It is great family car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


A Great Car!

by highlander enthusiast from | July 13, 2009

What a great car for anyone: families, college students, couples... I love my Highlander! It has been so reliable and comfortable for my family of 5.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


I love this car

by Patty from New Jersey | March 25, 2009

I had the toyota rav 4 for about four yrs and it worked great but it was too small and it was paid for. but it started to act up and no one could find the problem so my hubby told me he was taking it to some where else four hours later he comes back with the highlander 2004 oh my goodness I love this car better than the rav4 and it's so big and drives like a dream. I would recommend this car to my family. very wonderful car that I feel comfortable in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Highlander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.