2009 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle

2009 Toyota Highlander

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2009 Toyota Highlander 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$15,048–$29,336

Estimated MPG

17–20 city / 23–27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Truck of my dream

by Toyota king from methuen, MA | November 21, 2013

It has everything i was looking. it is reliable. It is comfortable. it good on gas. It is perfect for New England weather. It has everything I wanted.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Smooth riding suv.

by Toyota joe from State college, pa | November 1, 2013

Bought this 2009 limited highlander one month ago. Ride is very quite, gas mileage is better than expected. Handles great, sound system is excellent. This highlander has 32,000 miles on it, looks and smells like new. I expect many years of problem free ownership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Toyota Highlander Hybrid

by bought a hybrid from Chicago | May 21, 2013

Since i have no other recourse, I have decided to write a review. I bought a brand-new, completely upgraded Highlander (hybrid) in 2009. This is the most unreliable car I have ever encountered. Starting with the first year of ownership, it has lost battery power a dozen times. Sometimes it has required battery replacement, other times a jump (which can be hugely inconvenient depending on where you are and whether you have access to a cables/help). I have 2 friends with the same car and they have had the same problem. The remote key has also suddenly lost battery power, leaving you stranded because there is no manual way to start the car. The gas mileage on this hybrid is only ever-so-slighly better than a standard SUV, and you pay for it in loss of power. The seat warmers barely heat up - total waste. The GPS system is impossible to navigate. The icing on the cake for me is that with less than 30k miles on the car, it failed an emissions test, requiring repair. On a hybrid! I cannot get rid of this car fast enough and will NEVER buy a Toyota again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


'09 Highlander Limited

by Esco Highlander Camper from San Diego, CA | July 30, 2012

I've only had my Highlander for two months but so far it's been a great SUV. We went from a Trailblazer EXT (7 passenger) and wanted a more reliable 7 passenger vehicle but keep the V6 to save on fuel. It's pretty roomy for the size. The Highlander has great features with the backup camera and automatic gate lift and close. We went camping last week with our 2700lb tent camper in tow. The Highlander averaged 20mpg towing! I was really excited to see that. The 3.5 liter V6 is really powerful. The only complaint I have with the vehicle is I feel like I hear more outside noise, like it's not as insulated as my Trailblazer was but it's not really a bother, just an observation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very nice mid size suv

by Another driver ! from Saint Paul, MN | February 16, 2012

Did some researches, came down to choice :2008 Acura MDX or 2009 Toy Highlander. I'm so clad that I chose the 2009 Highlander Sport with 35000 mile, top choice by Consumer Report. It sure is a balance SUV with a very comfortable 3rd bench seat and does not have any problem handling the snow in Minnesota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Favorite car in 40 years

by jimmiejo from Central Florida | December 30, 2011

We have hte Sport version, it seemed to drive better than the base model. We love it and will buy another one when the time comes. He purchased new and now have 39,000 trouble free miles. Only problem was the readio/cd unit went bad the first 6 months. Original tires and still have good tread left. Alos we love the pearl white. Back seat is roomy and comfrotabel, unlike many others. Plenty of cargo area.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Highlander Purchase

by Lonestar from Texas | June 29, 2011

After looking for a Highlander year model 2008 or 2009 for approximately six months I found one at an area independent dealer. My search engine was Cars.com. The information presented was accurate and complete. The Highlander is a great vehicle and the Limited package is full of extra features like leather seats, sun roof, JBL stereo, navigation system, rear camera, rear air conditioning and thrid row seats. The price was as stated. The test ride was an excellent experience. I made the purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Highlanders are Great!

by Bruceaz from Scottsdale, AZ | May 1, 2011

The Toyota Highlanders are great SUV's and the 2009 production run the best in their series. Consumer Reports Top SUV Pick.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Car I've ever had.

by LuvmyToy from Southern Iowa | April 19, 2011

Bought the car earlier this month. Had 17,000 on it from a lease return. Car has Nav, Bluetooth, DVD, leather/heated seats, etc. The nicest car I've ever owned. Toyota needs to make their owners manual a little more consumer friendly. Navigation is very good, but very intimidating if you've never had nav before. Give it a couple weeks and you'll learn and it will seem easy. Great vehicle. I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very confortable and safe

by Highlander lover from Fairview, NJ | March 28, 2011

While driving at 70 miles per hour on the Turnpike a got a flat tire, which it as recorder by the vehicle and it was safe, nice, and easy to decrease the speed and pull over safety.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Toyota Highlander.


Featured Services for this Toyota Highlander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.