2011 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle
2011 Toyota Highlander

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 8 styles:  2011 Toyota Highlander 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$20,137–$33,685
Estimated MPG

17–20 city / 22–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

30 out of 34 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 34 reviews

great milage

by pam from fairfield | July 18, 2014

Kelley taylor rion is an excellent sells person and the Toyota camry we bought is fantastic gets great gas milage and is very comfortabl

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


After 3 years no complaints

by 3 year old from maryland | June 16, 2014

I bought my 2011 Highlander three years ago and have 45000 miles on it. Only problem I have had have been tire punctures. My complaints are minor design things. I find the steering too sensitive. I'm not looking for play but I'd like turn the steering wheel a little more for little corrections. For me it is easy to oversteer the highlander, especially after driving my other car ...a Volvo. I have long legs and my right knee is often set against the center console, which is hard and painful. The bluetooth for my cell phone is okay in the car, but the audio is scratchy for those on the other end of the call. I can configure more than one bluetooth phone, but the radio doesn't switch automatically between them. I have to manually select one or the other for use. I would also put the speedometer in the middle of the instrument panel vice to one side. I did complain at dealer service department that speedometer reads 2.5 to 3 miles per hour to high. They said it was within tolerances and would not adjust. I really dislike the inaccuracy of the speedometer and often use my GPS for speed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Toyota Highlander 2010 (bad year for Toyota)

by Bubba from Atlanta GA | March 17, 2014

We were excited to buy our first Toyota after our Honda Pilot moved on with our daughter for college. We decided on the purchase from recommendations. What a shame. We cannot wait to sell this to someone so we can go back to buying Hondas. Maybe just a bad year for Toyota but we are never going to buy a Toyota again. I would put this vehicle on the same quality level as Dodge and GM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


falling apart!

by TOYO from New york | February 15, 2014

I own this car since 2011. Already the interor started to falling apart. The sun visors are always drooping. Problems with steering......I need to get rid of this one

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Steering failure twice in 6 months

by No longer a Toyota fan from Pittsburg, PA | February 2, 2014

Avoid this car at all cost! We have owned this vehicle for 6 months and have only 4,000 miles on it. Yesterday the steering locked up on us again while driving 45 mph. This is the second time since we bought it. This is due to the computer controls attached to the steering. This car is poorly engineered and extremely unsafe. Toyota just is not what it used to be!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Major Electrical Issues

by Family Guy from Hampton, VA | May 10, 2012

We have owned a Highlander for about a year. This is a comfortable car to drive and travel in with the family. That being said, we wish we never bought this vehicle. There are way too many electronically controlled systems that fail. This vehicle has electric steering and it has gone out several times while driving. It also has electronic brake distribution and it has failed. We also have had the car just not start periodically for no reason. These systems are controlled by the computer and have put our family in extremely unsafe situations. We now own a vehicle that we are afraid to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Nothing Better

by Bigdog from Des Moines, Ia | February 7, 2012

I have owned four toyotas. I currently have a 2004 tundra. The highlander limited I purchased in april 2010. It is a GREAT vehicle. I do my own oil changes, and the two I own are very consumer friendly. Will never buy anything other than toyotas. Great resale value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best of Breed

by Jersey Boy from New Jersey | December 28, 2011

I have been looking for a midsize suv for my wife for the past 4 months .I did an extensive research specifically we ultimately settled with Highlander after test driving about 6 other brands. We love the ride, looks and space. Got the crimson red with black leather in the SE version.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good car

by Mohan from Dallas, TX | December 28, 2011

The only thing I see is lacking is sluggish acceleration. Looks like there is some delay in accl. after you pedal gas. Good car for the price!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Mid Size SUV

by cloonkeen from New York | December 18, 2011

After months and months of research we finally bite the bullet and bought a se v6 model. great vehicle. we are very happy with it. Also own a 2001 sienna that have never given us a lick of trouble since we bought it new so it was hard to change to another brand..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 34 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2011 Toyota Highlander.


Featured Services for this Toyota Highlander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.