2015 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle
2015 Toyota Highlander
Available in 11 styles:  2015 Toyota Highlander 4dr FWD shown
Starting MSRP
$29,765–$44,140
Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 24–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

37 out of 45 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 45 reviews

Phenom comfort, superior safety

by Kid Hauler from Allen, TX | May 14, 2016

After test driving Lexus, Range Rover, Mercedes, Acura Ford, Buick and BMW SUV's, my fiancee suggested we try the Toyota Highlander. I was hesitant thinking it wouldn't have the luxury features but I was surprisingly wrong! I bought the XLE model with leather , moon roof, 2nd row bucket seats and couldn't be happier with my decision. The interior trim is classy with black, grey and accents of dark blue thoughtfully placed in leather stitching and dash. Drives extremely smooth and accelerates like a sports car. More importantly, I wrecked the car only 2 months after buying it. We were spun around and I could feel the top trying to roll but the anti-roll technology kept us upright and completely safe. 6K of damage was done, but I knew that if I had bought one of the competitors that notably were top heavy the outcome might have been much different. Incredible SUV and it holds its resale value well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Highlander '14 not so great

by (Used to be) Toyota Only from NJ | May 2, 2016

Nav/Radio unit frequently freezes during use. Requires easy reset but happens multiple times on a 1-3 hour trip. Lots of excess wind noise. Toyota seems to have forgotten how to build a quiet interior (like Camry, Avalon). This noise issue is on all '14 Highlanders I drove (5 AFTER buying this one.) Transmission not so smooth and, in auto mode, shifts gear at too low RPM (Probably gas-saving engine software). Manual gear mode works fine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Car great -- Tech features, not so much

by Vermonter from | March 5, 2016

This is our 3rd Toyota, 2nd Highlander so we like the car. However, if you drive and text or call (hands free), seriously look at competitors. We had a 2010 Highlander, that could send texts with a voice command. The 2015 CAN NOT. The 2010 Highlander was very hands free in making calls. The 2015 -- hands free, but you have to touch the screen a lot and I realize it's distracting me from driving. Not impressed with Entune system. If I could have the 2015 Highlander with the 2010 tech features, I'd give it 5 stars!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nice vehicle BUT

by MN to StL Bill from St Louis, MO | February 23, 2016

We drive between MN and St Louis 7 or 8 times a year and have a cabin in northern MN. Owned a 2005 Pilot before but didn't like the 2015 styling and was impressed with CR review of the Highlander. The Highlander is an impressive road car - very comfortable, although over engineered - almost anywhere you touch on the dashboard turns something off or or. BUT: The navigation and multi-media system repeatedly locks up on long trips - did ~every half hour on the last one. And the vehicle does poorly in the snow. Clearly, all wheel drive is not 4 wheel drive (although the Pilot was and did much better). Locking the TRAC system did very little. Yes, I need tires with better tread, but it should be better than this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2015 Highlander Almost Excellent

by csprof from San Antonio, TX | December 21, 2015

I like most of the features and performance of my 2015 Toyota Highlander. Its Blind Spot Monitoring is excellent. I have captains chairs in the middle row which are very comfortable. The back row is great when you need it, but it definitely doesn't compare in comfort. (This is understandable and I don't ding it on this.) The speedometer in my Limited is lousy. The analog speedometer has a range up to 140 MPH and is poorly graduated. Although the instrument display also has a digital area, it doesn't have an option to display the current speed. The worst feature is the range for the gas tank. My initial tank showed a range of about 320 miles.Since the Highlander has a fuel capacity of 19.2 gallons, even at a conservative 19 MPG, it should show over 360 miles. After driving for many miles and with an average of over 20 MPG, it still showed 320-340 mile range on a full tank of gas. On a trip, I decided to continue running the car well below its stated 0 miles range. On the next refill, the range jumped up to over 414 miles. This worked well until my next scheduled maintenance, causing it to drop back to the 320-340 mile range.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Look for yourself

by Yahoo from Tarentum, Pa | November 22, 2015

Check out the Highlaner, inside, outside and underside. Every detail is thought out. Fit and finish and the materials used. Test drive and the quietness and smoothness standout.With a Toyota it last yaers after the others.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very nice car

by pk from San Francisco, CA | November 18, 2015

This Highlander is beautiful to drive. The ride is very smooth and can accelerate like a sports car. It's more compact than a minivan and just enough space for the interior. I can't wait to go on a road trip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Pretty annoying

by Heff from silver spring, md | November 17, 2015

I have a 2015 Limited Platinum. Overall the car is pretty good. I wish i would of taken a long test drive before i bought. There is alot of wind noise. When driving above 60mph if sounds as if there are 200mph winds outside. its unacceptable and also noted in many reviews. its very annoying. Also there is a loud buzzing noise form the air servo motors. Its well documented on Toyota Nation. Its loud and annoying and as of now there is no fix, there is also a droning sound at 1750rpm. And last the JBL stereo is terrible. im going to trade in soon

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Buyer Beware

by Ngerbe1 from Baltimore, MD | November 6, 2015

there's a batch of 2015 highlanders with a servo which makes an intermittent buzzing. at first you won't really notice because you're loving the new ride, but once you hear it, the sound never goes away. at this point Toyota says the sound is "normal", but if you google "2015 Highlander buzzing sounds" you'll find a number of message boards with similar experiences. we even purchased the additional warranty on the car, but at this point Toyota and dealerships refuse to admit there's a problem. it's an expensive fix, but they shouldn't have let this batch of cars off the lot with this problem in the first place When you're test driving, make sure to turn the radio off and keep changing the driver and passenger temperature to see if the buzzing occurs. if it does, run!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


The radio system freezes

by Julio from PR | October 31, 2015

I love my Highlander 2014 XLE but the radio freezes frequently and the system reboots itself. The dealer service and maintenance area have no idea of how to fix it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 45 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2015 Toyota Highlander.


Featured Services for this Toyota Highlander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.