2007 Toyota Prius

Change Vehicle
2007 Toyota Prius

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2007 Toyota Prius 4dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$6,148–$15,144
Estimated MPG

60 city / 51 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

64 out of 75 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 75 reviews

2007 Prius, A disappointment

by Dis Satsified from Atlanta, GA | May 1, 2014

I purchased my 2007 Prius November 2006. I average approximately 42-43 mph (combined city and hwy). We have driven approx. 127K miles in 7.5 years. The car has received all of the recommended services and then some. I have previously owned an Avalon and a Celica. Last week (April 2014) my wife was driving and multiple warning lights came on. She stopped the car, turned off the power, and restarted the engine; again the warning lights remained on. We immediately took the car to our local dealer and left it. They told me my transmission had failed and charged me $5400 to repair it. The next day the "check engine" warning light came on while driving and remained lit. We took it to the same dealer and we were told that the water reservoir float had become stuck and that this was a common problem after major repairs such as ours. They further advised that we continue to drive the vehicle without making any additional repairs. I am concerned that the transmission failed so prematurely and I suspect that other, as yet undiagnosed, engine failures may be the cause. The water reservoir's sensor error may be a clue. This model Prius has had known issues with its water pump. I am also concerned that the dealer suggested we continue to drive the vehicle without further repair despite the check engine warning light. According to my owner's manual, this type of warning requires the driver to return the vehicle immediately to the dealer for service. Additionally, should the light come on again I will have to take more time off from work to make additional visits to the dealership and more time without the use of our vehicle. After this experience I will not buy another Toyota hybrid. The cost of ownership is just too great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


misleading information

by sporty from Fresno | April 23, 2014

Seller lied about damage to car...will take your cash deposit and not give it back once you have car checked out

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Surprisingly Super!

by Too Tall for Tiny Toys from Albuquerque, NM | January 22, 2014

We would buy this car again! Exceptional gas mileage! Unheard of reliability! Everything always works! 110,000 miles just 1 issue (headlights -fixed free of charge) 2007 touring model is small for my 75" height Not ideal for really long trips and tall backseat passengers. Recommend using different tires than standard for better traction (safety) but will reduce fuel economy 1-2 mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great service and nice people!

by Hannah from houston tx | January 3, 2014

I was very pleased with my experience with this dealership. They were organized and knew a lot about their products. I love my new car and would definitely recommend this dealer to my friends and family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


prius review

by prius driver from Indianapolis, IN | September 29, 2013

Have back issues so it is not at all comfortable on my back. Recently took a 3 day trip across 3 states and legs even cramped up. Love the gas mileage-approx. 43.5mpg. Using the brake on the gear helps to slow the car down to almost 9 mph before having to use the brake-just don't tailgate people and take your time. Did pay too much for it but got the extended warranty with it. One dealer only offered $5,000 for a trade in on a brand new car. I'll be just fine with my Prius. It gets great mpg since I travel approx. 200 miles a week for work. I travel about 30,000 miles a year for work, vacations and everyday use. It had 26,000 miles when purchased (in 11/10) and now has 116,000 (almost 10/13)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Glad I purchased!

by Bob from Dallas, TX | September 26, 2013

Car runs great, and 42+mpg! I researched extensively and finally took the plunge to Prius-and glad I did. I have only had the car for about a month but it has peroformed great, plenty of power and you do ride 'high' for a small car so good field of vision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best mpg

by yoyo from new mexico | August 27, 2013

This is the second Prius I've owned. The electronic steering, and seat, steering wheel, arm rest configuration and road noise are my complaints. It is extremely reliable and still has the best mpg of ALL hybrid and or gas autmobiles. Electric cars still have too many disadvantages. I can have 5 people in the car and get 47 miles per gallon going 75 mph.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car!

by Tan from Dallas, TX | August 4, 2013

I was looking for a new car, (I previously drove a '90 Oldsmobile Eighty Eight) and decided to try out a hybrid once I found out that I could actually afford a used one. I ended up with the prius based on a series of good reviews as well as some recommendations from a friend who had one. It's fun to drive, handles well, and actually has a bit more get-up than I was expecting out of a 4 cylinder. The gas mileage is of course great, though the monitor average isn't accurate (It read just over 46 mpg after resetting but when I filled up I calculated 42 based off of trip miles and number of gallons). It's quite roomy, my girlfriend and I watched fireworks from the trunk on the 4th, and I've gotten no complaints about room in the back seats. I suppose one of the best things is it's relatively easy (i.e. cheaper) to replace or modify things. For example: I got my Prius used with only one key, but was able to purchase another smart key online and program it myself using "the chicken dance" method. Also, I was able to turn off the annoying beep when in reverse or when the driver/passenger seat belt is not in by using a similar method. All in all it's a great car. From a monetary standpoint if you can find a hybrid for the same price as another car you like, go for the hybrid. If you have to pay an extra few thousand up front; however, you won't break even on the gas savings until many years later. Maintenance costs are about the same.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2007 Prius

by Love Prius from Seattle, WA | April 14, 2013

This is a very nice car with easy operation. Usually I get about 42-44 mpg in the city and going up and down hills. The Hatchback has enough room to carry things, but it could get more room by lower the trunk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


2007 Pruis

by Owner from Asheville | December 14, 2012

Great car for the money and has plenty of pick up with good mileage. I bought it to run short errands and long trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 75 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2007 Toyota Prius.


Featured Services for this Toyota Prius

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.