2013 Toyota Prius

Change Vehicle

2013 Toyota Prius

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2013 Toyota Prius 4dr Hatchback shown
Print


Starting MSRP
$24,200–$30,005

Estimated MPG

51 city / 48 hwy




See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

52 out of 55 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 55 reviews

Prius does exactly as advertised

by Sillyscreenname from Sacramento, California | June 29, 2014

During the past 16 days I put 2700 miles on a 2013 Prius Two rental. My 2012 Civic was totaled in an accident, and Hertz sent me a Prius - I had never been in one before. The technology in this car is great, and geared heavily toward evaluating the car's performance; MPGs are amaizing. About 80% of the miles I drove were highway miles, most above 75 mph (I-80 from Sacramento to Salt Lake City) and I averaged 50.5 mpg. The computer said 52.2 for the 2700 miles, but the computer overstated by 1.6 to 1.8 mpg on every tank. The cruise control feature on the Prius is worth it's weight in gold. It functions 10 times better than cruise control on any other car I've ever driven. The CVT allows the cruise control to maintain a constant speed up any hill without the awkward shifts and crazy RPMs in most cars. And the computer uses the momentum of the car to charge the battery on downhill while maintaining a constant speed. Additionally, the computer does an amazing job of using battery power while on cruise control to maximize mpg, especially at lower speeds. Some have noted that the car doesn't have enough power, but I couldn't disagree more. In power mode, this car does just as well as any other with a 1.8L engine. It accelerated fine, and maintained any speed I asked it to up the steepest grades. It climbed multiple steep hills and mountains at freeway speeds with no complaints whatsoever. With all that said, there are a few negatives in my opinion. My back did not favor the seats at all. In time, it became used to them, but I found them uncomfortable, and would need to purchase seat pads or lumbar support if I bought this car. The "bridge" or center console where the shifter is located is a waste of space and a poor design. The handling leaves something to be desired. The car wanders in the lane, and lacks the crispness, and responsiveness I was used to in my Civic. All in all, this car does exactly what Toyota advertises, and does it extremely well: moves people from point A to point B with excellent MPG. I loved going over 400 miles and having to put just a little over 8 gallons in the tank. The Prius is on my shopping list - but I'm really waiting for the 2015 model. . .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I Like It

by BBOWL10 from North Carolina | June 20, 2014

I traded my Dodge Avenger for a used 2013 Prius with only 770 miles and so far I have no regrets. My Prius has the XSP package which includes leather, grey wood applique, lighted door sills, ground affects, 17" wheels, and fog lights. I drive about 25,000 miles per year so I need something that has excellent fuel mileage. I am averaging about 51 MPG over the first 3000 miles which is almost twice what I was getting in the Dodge. I can sometimes get 54 MPG average on a tank of fuel if I really try. I am saving about $220.00 per month in fuel costs. Those that complain about the fuel mileage not being high enough are probably not using proven Prius driving techniques like the pulse and glide, stealth mode, and regenerative braking. Small frequent trips also kill the MPG's, as with any car. You have to forget a lot about what you know about conventional driving. Riding the brakes (correctly) is actually a good thing with the Prius. The interior is a bit utilitarian but serves the purpose. Most of the trim is hard plastic and weird cloth-like material on the center armrest and door armrests which are the locations I would much rather have some padded vinyl that is easy to keep clean. Most of the money went into the hybrid synergy drive so luxury is a little hard to come by in the Prius. The handling is decent and the road noise and road feel through the steering wheel are typical of sub $30,000 Japanese cars. Wind noise is not too offensive. I spend most of my time in ECO mode while switching to normal or Power mode when merging on the interstate or at an intersection where I may need to pull out quickly. Overall the Prius is a good value as far as hybrids are concerned. Toyota has been in the hybrid game for a decade now and although the current Prius technology is becoming dated, it is proven to be reliable. There are many Prii that are still on the road with 300,000 miles on them and the cost of replacing the drive battery has gone down significantly. I am sure Toyota will soon develop an electric biased vehicle that is more on par with the Chevy Volt. Toyota doesn't rush into anything before thoroughly testing it, which is why they are the reliability leaders. I am a big fan of the concept of the Volt - up to 900 miles per tank of gas, 38 miles of EV mode, etc. I just don't think the Volt will last 200,000+ miles. We will see what Toyota has to offer over the next 10 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great car

by car driver from State of Ill | June 19, 2014

Great car- wife wanted one and we have not regretted it. Nice handling and steering feel. Very reliable. 49 MPG is awesome especially with gas at $4. Roomy - I'm 6 ft 4 in tall and no problems. Quiet highway ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good Value for the Money

by Frontwheeldrivefan from Pittsburgh, PA | April 30, 2014

I drove off the dealership with 35 miles on the odometer and a full tank on 4/1. Now on 4/30 I have just over 700 miles on it (gentle driving for break-in) and a quarter of my second tank of gas still left. This is with 90% city driving. The seats feel like i'm wearing the car instead of driving it. The back up camera was an unexpected bonus, handy for street parking. The suspension is firmer than my '12 Camry but just enough to give the car really positive road feel. The dashboard display is well placed so that you don't have to take your eyes off the road to see your speed or distance traveled. I'm still evaluating things, but I'm happy with my purchase, and with the extended service contract, I expect many years of comfortable driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It's real ugly, but it's beautiful...

by The Accidental Prius Owner from Newport, RI | April 29, 2014

As long as you know exactly what you're in for, this is a great car. Any expectations of performance and comfort will probably go unmet. MPG and uniqueness/icon status are what you're really buying; if you're into that, then great. Car is not as loud at highway speeds as some suggest. III or higher interior is fine, IV has nice leather. I bought a PERSONA which is a III with added faux leather and cool alloy wheels. It helps a bit. Car rolls and moves around a little bit at highway speeds. I am considering the stiffer springs that Toyota lists as an option through the dealer. The added roll bars to stiffen the car might be worth it. Get the car if you can get a great deal; it'll last forever and you can check that, "now I'm part of the green movement" thing that's been itching away at you...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Overall Good Car- Don't get the MPG Promised

by thelm from | March 21, 2014

I've had this car for 4 months. I do mostly highway driving. I have never gotten over 41MPG. My controls on my car say I get 50MPG, but calculating it myself shows something different. I don't see how Toyota can promise 48-50MPG. Also, the beeping when in Reverse is very very very annoying. Does anyone know how to stop this?? Overall this car is great, just disappointed in the actual MPG. Awesome that blue-tooth comes standard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


One Fine Automobile!

by Maleko from Philly | February 14, 2014

Wow what a great car! I really don't have any complaints on the car at all… I traded in my 2003 Mini CooperS with almost 800K miles on it which I loved for my Prius4! I bought it back in Orlando, and got incredible MPG's down there! Even during the hot summers having to run the AC the whole time did very well. Now I live in Philadelphia and my neighborhood is just outside the city where its very hilly like San Francisco! I have to say, this car in the snow handles so well! Have not gotten stuck once, and the car heats up very well and fairly quickly. Overall I have to say the car is 100% buying. Not a single regret on my decision, and will definitely consider it again when it comes times to trade in for a new car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Superb quality and unbelievable MPG!

by Jay in Flrida from Jacksonville, FL | February 11, 2014

Purchased a 3 month old 2013 Toyota Prius Two from a high volume central Florida Toyota dealer in January. Got a great deal. Our Prius is a joy to drive - very quiet (especially compared to our former 2009 Hxxxa Cxxxc LX) and drives like it's on rails. On local highway trips, we usually get in the mid-50's MPG. On local non-highway trips, I have gotten as high as 83.5 MPG. Honestly! You learn to drive like you have a raw egg under your foot if you want the best MPG. This car is high quality - extremely well constructed. VERY comfortable seats and plenty of leg room. I'm 6'1" and I rode in the backseat during the test drive. Felt very comfortable. As the driver, I don't have to have the seat all the way back. Have a long highway trip coming in a few days and we're looking forward to the gas savings and seeing how good we can do on our MPG.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Happy with the car

by Amin from | January 27, 2014

gas millage is great . I do have problem for location of navigator, its not considered when it designed where to put external GPS and connect the cable for charge

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car investment I've ever made

by Long commuter from Kalamazoo MI | January 18, 2014

Wonderful--so quiet, spacious, comfortable, convenient, safe, excellent mileage, easy to get used to. Wish we had bought it sooner!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 55 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2013 Toyota Prius.


Featured Services for this Toyota Prius

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.