2001 Toyota RAV4

Change Vehicle
2001 Toyota RAV4

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2001 Toyota RAV4 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$4,205–$10,293
Estimated MPG

22–25 city / 27–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Good vehicle

by mandoguy from Minnesota | March 16, 2014

Standard transmission went out at around 80,000 miles, cost 1500 to get a new one. other than that, runs great and fun to drive. Great parking. Its so short I use it as my city car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A Fan

by Arizona Transplant from Knoxville, TN | February 9, 2014

Bought my Rav4 new in 2001 and now have 185,000 miles on it. It's been my best car ever, reliable, roomy, and has gotten 30 mpg the whole time -- unusual in a 4WD. Downside is that it's a 2L engine so doesn't have as much pickup in fast traffic, and is noisier at high speeds than I'd like. Overall, a great, reliable car, though, and I'm at a loss to decide what car I'd want to get next. IF this car ever gives out, I'll probably get another Toyota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great SUV

by SUV lover from Branford, CT | October 15, 2013

I bought a RAV 4 new and owned it for over 13 years with no problems - very reliable and stylish-looking SUV. Easier to park and maneuver than many larger SUV's and a more comfortable ride. Great on snow and ice. I'll never go back to driving a car now that I've owned an SUV - just bought a brand new one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


This car ROCKS!!!

by Dishisno1 from Southeast US | February 21, 2013

Just bought an '01 Rav4 and LOVE IT!!! Sturdy and built to last, but stylish and eye-catching. Great features like over-drive for gas-saving and passenger room plus cargo area for just about anything. I have not found a prettier, small SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


good buy

by keith from from Aurora, CO | January 29, 2013

The cars I looked at were clean and test drives were good. They were okay with me getting an inspection before buying, which is important with a used car. Everyone was polite and easy to work with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very Utilitarian Vehicle

by Sales Rep, from Bakersfield, Ca., | October 22, 2011

I was a sales rep. who had to cover an area of about 150 miles, so I put many miles on this vehicle. It was very reliable and never left me stranded. Naturally, I always took great care of it such as getting the oil changed revery 6-7,000 miles. Our family has only purchased Toyotas for about 30 years and we have always been very pleased with their vehicles. The only thing it lacked was a GPS navigation, but it wasn't a big deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice sporty looking

by RAV4 enthu from New Jersey | December 18, 2010

I bought a 2001 in 2009 when it had 85,000 miles. It is smooth and easy to drive. Not recommended for tall drivers. It does not have much driver leg room. I had issues with the ECU, but that was a manufacturer's defect, but the dealer would not fix it as it had passed 80,000 miles. Spent $1000 to fix it. My oxygen sensor had gone bad but the check engine light did not come on. Hence spent $1000 to change the catalytic convertor as the SUV started stalling at traffic lights.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very reliable

by Tonka Truck from Palm Harbor,Fl | November 14, 2010

Bought my 2001 used in 2007 for a cheap, reliable transport and to carry around my big dog. Its been a great car giving me no problems and is even fun and easy to drive. Though, it is a very small vehicle, it is perfect for shorter drivers. The rear door is a bit heavy and can be inconvenient if another car is parked behind you when you want to put anything in the rear. But does provide decent cargo space. It's a great little suv.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It is most reliable car I have owned .

by Eco Family Car. from MA | January 29, 2009

I have it for three years and NO problemo Just fill the gas , change the oil and you're good to go .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota RAV4

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.