2001 Toyota Sequoia

Change Vehicle
2001 Toyota Sequoia

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2001 Toyota Sequoia 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$3,881–$11,793
Estimated MPG

14 city / 18 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Great SR5 4WD

by Shenika369 from Selma, Al | March 26, 2013

This is a great car for a reasonable price with a luxery look and a powerful engine. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great, great, great, great SR5 2WD! but...

by Satisfied from Santa Cruz, California | September 11, 2012

I cannot say how great our Sequoia has been to us, it's reliable, comfortable, and did I mention reliable? I can hop in this car and drive it anywhere without having any sort of doubt. After owning a car for a decade, you can't help it to notice certain things, like Fuel economy. I get 17 MPG mixed driving and being extra cautious on the accelerator pedal, I do not think its great, but not bad either. The trip computer is not accurate, its off by about 2-3 mpg. When the trip computer says I get 20 MPGs, I calculate about 18.xx mpg. The driver's seat could roll back further, I am 6ft tall. The third row is actually pretty comfortable, but NO SPEAKERS! what the heck Toyota! So you have to really turn up the awesome JBL audio system (like you would't anyway). There is a defect with the rear latch system that causes the plastic handle to separate from the mechanism that actually opens the hatch, so you have to resort to using the power sliding rear door (they should of added an additional latch that opens from inside). Horsepower..240..sounds sorry but the truck hauls... literally we use it to tow as well and if feels like there is nothing back there. The only thing we have had to do is regular maintenance like oil changes every 5000 miles, transmission fluid, rear differential fluid, brakes, timing belt, etc. the truck has 200,000 + miles and it does not leak oil! not from anywhere not even the valve covers! this truck truly is great we love it and won't part with it for many more years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


why get the mini-van

by hangout from New York | September 2, 2012

Drove home a Sequoia last month, I did the research, really think this is better car than a minivan, seats 8, and SUV drive in any weather. with 100k miles needed to replace the manifold, O2 sensor, otherwise it's a very good vehicle. headlight VERY weak, need to change to HID asap. In my case, maybe need to drive whole family (8 ppl) out 10 times a year and few days in deep snow. other days I drive a RWD luxury sedan. Sequoia is better than any mini-van, very good spare vehicle for multi-use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I,v had a suberban for a long time .But...

by saquoia nut from Seattle Wa | October 31, 2011

It was real hard to me give up my Suburban.But Im glad I did this Saquioa one nice ride.Has lots power after I put in a pro chip in turn up the power a bit works great 315 ft lbs of tork at the rear wheels. Not bad .over all this a great rig.Mine is a 2001 limited gold 4x4 with 122,000 miles when I got it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


the best

by DT08 from new berlin | November 22, 2008

i had two of these trucks and i owen my third 08 sequoia . i really love this type of suv! the best great for the winter!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


150,000 miles and counting

by Toyotaman from Santa Cruz, CA | May 19, 2008

Our Family has always had a Toyota in the driveway, from our 1988 Toyota Van with 300,000 miles (and still going strong), to our newest purchase 4 years ago ('01 Sequoia), I could not say anything bad about it except the 18 MPG we get. This is an overall great car and I greatly recommend this vehicle because of its reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2001 Toyota Sequoia Limited

by Experience with various brands/cars from Syracuse, NY. Fort Myers, FL | June 21, 2006

Nothing wrong with the vehicle. Vehicle still feels strong and runs like new, no rattles. PERFORMANCE The engine is clearly one of the smoothest of any full size SUV. Despite a 240 hp rating, it makes good use of its power, and hits 60 in 8.7 seconds. Gas mileage is OK considering its size. We average 16-19 mpg. 4 spd auto shifts smoothly, quickly. Quiet at all speeds, even on highway. Towing is also relatively low for a large SUV by today's standards at 62-6500 lbs, depending on 4 or 2WD. Newer models have a 5 speed with 280 hp. 4WD system is simple - click a button while driving. A rarity in its class at the time, it has a locking center differential for off road use, and with 11 inches of ground clearance, it can tackle rough stuff. Handling is unexceptional, though you can't expect much from a full size SUV. Secure with stability control and traction control. Brake feels somewhat spongy, but stopping distance is very short for its class. SEATING Seats 7 with ease, 8 with some squeezing in the third row. Sequoia carries an immense amount of cargo with the 2nd row folded up, rear row removed. Removing third seat takes some practice, and they are a bit heavy, but you can get used to it. All seats are very comfortable, with a large amount of room in the first two rows. Second row seats recline, flip up for easy access to the third row. Third row seats even slide back and forth and recline. There is an extra seat belt is hidden in the cieling, I believe for a child seat. All seats in the limited are leather. FEATURES The second row has its own climate control. Both of the front windows are auto up/down, and the rear windows are large. Huge moonroof tilts/slides with one touch. The driver can even lower the rear window with a button. Key fob and key in rear door can also do this. 6 CD changer w/ JBL sound. Clear, simple displays. Automatic air conditioning. Driver can also turn the rear a/c on and off with a button. Automatic lights, fog lights, several interior lights. Large storage bin in console. Convenient change holder organizes change nicely. The truck has a total of 10 large, supportive cup holders. Plenty of storage throughout the vehicle. Compartment left/behind the third row large enough to fit a battery charger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2001 Toyota Sequoia.


Featured Services for this Toyota Sequoia

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.