2002 Toyota Sequoia

Change Vehicle
2002 Toyota Sequoia
Available in 4 styles:  2002 Toyota Sequoia 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$4,026–$12,134
Estimated MPG

14 city / 17–18 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Solid Investment

by JHD3 from Maryland | December 30, 2013

I was skeptical in 2003 when I forked over a good chunk of change for an '02 Sequoia in '03 w/22k miles - but it's totally been worth it. At the end of '13 it has almost 200k and only minor things have broken. The plastic parts (door handles, etc) are wearing out and are being replaced as they snap. The rear seat rails have been inserted and removed so many times that the springs are shot and the third row seating is no longer possible. Other than that, it's been basic maintenance. It rides like a living room and tows our boat effortlessly. It's still on the road and hopefully I can post a 300k status in a couple of years!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


After 10 Years still Great Ride

by Long term owner from Northfield New Jersey | February 5, 2013

We bought our Sequoia new as a Dealer demo with 2,500 miles in it. While I was leaning towards a 4 runner, the smaller body style felt cramped compared to our previous SUV (A 1991 Mitsubishi Montero) which was a big square box. I am very happy with the overall ride in this vehicle, we take it on long trips and always have had about 17 mpg even when riding 70+. It is quiet and comfortable. Hauls boats just fine, the anti skid VSC works great, ours was the first year for it and it has saved my butt on the ice and snow a couple of times when we were skiing. We have replaced the cat convertors had a minor leak in the power steering rack, and replaced the AC compressor under warranty . There are a couple of rust spots on either side on the edge of the rear wheels wells, right at the quarter panel weld but you cant see them easily. I have kept the maintenance up and the paint waxed, just replaced the slightly hazed headlights with new ones, and the truck looks new, even after 164,000 miles. The new units are a bit pricy now, but if you need a big hauler and intend to keep a vehicle for a long time I would highly recommend a Sequoia

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Extra comfort and safety

by harry the car specialist from Chicago, NY | May 30, 2011

The most amazing feature of this car is in its comfort and safety. I am driving this car and have travelled with it for long distances, and it has been the most comfortable car i have tried. The maintenance fees are so low and it practically needs only oil change most of the time. it's so powerful and gives you whatever you may expect from a SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


1 Awesome SUV!

by yoda from phoenix,az | September 4, 2010

This vehicle now has almost 200,000 miles on it and almost nothing has broke on the interior and it has needed practically nothing mechanically!! Extremely reliable!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Vehicle

by Bearmark12 from | July 16, 2010

Most comfortable SUV I've owned. Great interior features. Perfect for long trips. Feel Safe when traveling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Awesome vehicle

by fisherman from Pittsburgh, PA | July 1, 2010

This vehicle is the most comfortable car/truck I have ever driven. It handles wonderfully and the gas mileage is great on the highway. Lots of features inside give something to all the passengers. Seperate temp and airconditioning controls allow the riders in the backseat to adjust for themselves. Third row seating means space for everyone. Stylish and attractive body. Tows our boat like there is nothing behind it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Toyotas are the best

by Family with Four Kids from Mountain Town, Colorado | October 1, 2007

Now I know what everyone is talking about...bought our as a dealer demo (2002) with 24000 miles and have had it for 4 years. It has been the most reliable car we have ever owned and not one problem, unlike a suburban that went through THREE transmissions. We have hauled boats, trailers, popped out the seats (easy) and had every seats occupied with kids. It has room for luggage unlike other SUV's and we have made many ski trips with racks on top as well. This is a great family car and one you do not need to worry about having in the shop all the time. We LOVE ours.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very reliable car

by Outdoorsman from Utah | April 17, 2007

Solid performer - far better value than landcruiser I owned before with just a slighly rougher ride since its built on a Tundra body

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


reliable but terrible options

by SUV user from Phoenix, AZ | November 4, 2006

This car has bad options and handles and performs poorly. I am getting sick of how easily broken everything on the interior is and how bad the options are. I also got ripped off for the price they sold to me for; you could buy a new one with all the options mine has and a bunch more (even the expensive ones) for $15,000.00 more less. Toyota has also bumped up the monthly payments alot as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best in class SUV - luxurious, tough, and reliable

by Mt Everest from Northern Virginia | July 18, 2006

The Sequoia is by far the best overall SUV on the market. Powerful and rugged, but its drive is buttery -- feels like a Lexus for Toyota money. It's also very reliable, smart in all its family-friendly features, and I get 16mpg overall (not bad for a full-size SUV). It's also luxurious enough (I drive a black Limited 4WD) to drive into town for an evening show or fine dining -- c'mon, who looks twice at a Honda Pilot, Ford Expedition, GMC Yukon? This truck turns heads. This car has understated, classy bling w/out the ostentatious attitude of an Escalade. It drives well in snow, hauls well, and is the answer to anyone with a large family but refuses to be seen in a minivan. Best of all, it's priced nicely!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Sequoia

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.