1998 Toyota Tacoma

Change Vehicle
1998 Toyota Tacoma
Available in 9 styles:  Tacoma Regular Cab shown
Asking Price Range
$2,559–$11,519
Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 20–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Excellent truck

by porqpine from SLC, UT | May 29, 2013

I've owned my Tacoma for several years, and have loved every second of it. I went from a 4cyl Toyota pickup to the V6 and it has the extra power i was looking for. I love the keyless entry, and the auto lock when the vehicle is turned on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Roldaddy

by Roldaddy from Wise, VA | November 15, 2011

I've never had anything for a personal vehicle besides a Toyota truck. This truck gets the job done....period. Change your oil, do the simple upkeep and it will go as long as you want it to. Doesn't get the best fuel economy, not the best interior in the world, it works.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


good around truck

by mc2 from | April 16, 2011

this truck is extremely reliable! i have a lift and 35inch tires the smaller v6 had some truble untill i put a new computer chip in it. now it is the best truck i have ever ower the chip worked magic for fuel efficiency and horse power

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very Reliable Truck

by First Time Truck Owner from Chicago, IL | February 7, 2011

I purchased this truck used several years ago so I could build a deck on my house. It has been a very steady vehicle and I'd recommend one, and buy one again. The interior isn't the greatest and look a little plain, but that is a minor deal. I've enjoyed having the truck, and would definately look to get one again. I really liked the body style.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great all around truck

by Yotaluver from MD | September 17, 2010

I've had this truck for about a year now and I love it. The 3.4 V6 4x4 5Spd got 23MPG when the truck was stock and still gets 17.5MPG with 5 1/2" lift and 33" M/Ts. It has all the power you could want and with the 4x4 and E Locker it will go anywhere you ask it to and it will beg for more. I will always have a Tacoma and I'll prolly stick with the 1995.5-2004 model as after that they got bigger and have more plastic on the body, thats not what I want from a Tacoma. the extra cab is great for your extra stuff and would work for people if it had to, but get double cab if you want to take people with you. A Taco might cost a little more to buy but will hold its value better than others.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Well worth the money

by Toyota Fan from Wichita KS | August 5, 2009

This truck was the best for any occasion. Whether four wheel drive or on the main streets. I would recommend this truck to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Truck Out There

by Tacoma Owner from Michigan | June 6, 2007

Awesome truck. Will run forever and then some. New or used they are a great deal and the resale value on them is tremendous.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most reliable truck I've owned

by Hayden from Houston | April 23, 2007

This truck was a great truck. In and out of mud. No matter what I had to haul carry or pull my toyota never failled me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Tacoma

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.