1999 Toyota Tacoma

Change Vehicle
1999 Toyota Tacoma
Available in 10 styles:  Tacoma Regular Cab Base shown
Asking Price Range
$3,075–$12,223
Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 19–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

best thing to happen to my life

by yota tech from bakersfield ca | October 23, 2014

my dad handed down this truck to me and its has been put thru some serious pain everything you can think of from racing to 9 hours straight hauling a packed trailer it has done everything i have needed it to do and more with out a problem (the t3/t4 turbo helps too) and im almost at 300k miles original engine and basic maintenance i plan to have this truck till the day i die

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


You cannot go wrong!!!

by Tacoma lover from dallas | October 1, 2012

I purchased this truck (sr5, v6, 4wd, x cab) used with 32k. I currently have 141k. I have replaced struts, shocks, hoses, water pump, timing belt, and recently a starter. The starter was the only thing that I was a little disappointed in having to replace. Not too bad with that many miles. The other items wear out typically sooner on the vehicle that I have previously owned. I typically get around 19 mpg and the best was 23 on a long hunting trip. Everything still works flawlessly. Looking for a 2013 because I need a bigger cab for kids. Otherwise, I would not get rid of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable

by Owner from San Diego, Ca | March 26, 2012

I bought our 1999 2.7 5-speed manual, X-cab 4x4 new. Current milege 153,000. Excluding tires and batteries, oil changes and normal service, I've spent less than $2,000 on parts. Front brakes lasted 93 k, rear brakes are original with 4mm remaining at its 150K service. The white paint is as shiny as new. We use in to explore the desert in So Calif and running errands since I retired two years ago. Since I don't like the body style of the 2006 forward I will probably keep it until it or I die.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Hard to beat

by Yosamite Sam from SF | July 16, 2011

These are bullit proof trucks. I've owned tacpma's sense 1981 and have had only great service and reliability from these trucks with only very minor issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Toyota Tacoma

by caroftheday from | May 11, 2011

Excellent Truck, recomend to everybody. Next time again I will consider to buy Tacoma it last long and reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Owned 98 and 99 TRD PreRunners

by bnaction from Phoenix, AZ | February 17, 2011

Have never had an issue. Great reliability and love the look of the truck. 4x4 look w/ 2wd insurance

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


wrong picture

by sad customer from | October 18, 2010

This picture is not the truck that is for sale be very care ful what you buy. Read the fine print. It says its a regular cab and in the picture its extended cab, it says bench seats in the picture its bucket seats. Just becareful we all work hard for our money..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Wouldn't Buy Any Other Truck

by Popeye from Florida | June 7, 2010

We have Tacoma 2.7ltr 4x4s at all our company offices. From day one they are heavily tasked to pull 3k lb trailers across all terrains and interstates. Wouldn't have any other vehicle. To bad Toyota changed this excellant truck. After 175k miles we retire them. Employees stand in line to buy these from us. I drive a 99 with 220,000 on it and love it. Still gets 23 mpg in thg city. Frequently tasked to pull my son and friends Jeeps out of the rough stuff.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Truck

by Owner from | April 28, 2010

The truck has 186K miles on it> Its in real good shape. Keyless entry all electric and everything works. Truck is black.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Found My Dream Truck

by BassetHoundTrucker from Marysville, Washington | February 22, 2010

Looked over 6 months for this Tacoma truck. Lucked out and found this near perfect model and year. Drives well except for a little too much flexibility probably due to its number of miles and years on the road. I love the length of the bed and the color green. The 4-wheel drive will come in handy in the snow, still has great power with the 6-cylinders and perfect automatic transmission for this mature female driver. I found my dream truck off the beaten path. Would recommend it to anyone needing a small truck for general home use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Tacoma

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.