2010 Toyota Tacoma

Change Vehicle
2010 Toyota Tacoma
Available in 13 styles:  2010 Toyota Tacoma 4x2 Regular Cab 109.4" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$14,178–$31,402
Estimated MPG

14–20 city / 18–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

24 out of 29 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 29 reviews

Good Basic Truck

by Dave 01 from Owasso, OK | July 22, 2014

I bought this 2WD Toyota Tacoma PreRunner V6 (automatic) SR5 pickup new in November 2010. I now have 33,000 miles on it. The vehicle has been a good truck for light hauling and short trips. The vehicle interior/exterior has a nice layout, good looks, and has been overall sturdy. Problems I've encountered are at slower speeds the transmission appears to search for a gear. The driver seat is uncomfortable for any trip over about 45 minutes. The Radio/CD player failed early on still under warranty and was replaced. An interior vehicle fan (ticking sound) failed under warranty and was replaced.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Uncomfortable truck

by msgmak from Arizona | January 27, 2014

I have a 2010 Tacoma 4x4 with 40k miles. Overall just an average truck but very below average if you need to drive 2 or more hours. Seating is most uncomfortable than anything I have ever owned. Also clearcoat on the paint is horrible and Toyota will not take any responsibility. Unfortunately Toyota has gotten too big and quality has suffered.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


great truck

by truck lover from Waleska,ga | June 28, 2013

Very satisfied with my purchase. Only complaints were no floor mats were provided and the radio reception is not good. CD's play and sound great. Something must be awray with the antenna.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Too Bad

by TahoeTed from Lake Tahoe, California | January 24, 2013

First blush looked like a great vehicle when I bought it new in 2009. Wanted to buy the legend. Back to the shop at 500 miles for an improperly programmed auto trans. 2000 miles the steering developed a problem sticking while turning. Shop said maybe bad rack, but they had to see it to fix it. Brakes started to squeal at stops. 3000 miles the auto trans started to become erratic in shifting, and slammed into gear occasionally. Shop said " the trans. is learning how you drive" believe it or not. We have to see it to fix it. There are no service procedures on these. Run it until it fails. These problems developed in a small way over time. Just once in a while, then more and more often over 45,000 miles. Not enough to bring to the shop and be lucky enough to happen while the tech. was driving the truck. I did bring it to the shop to have them drive it several times, but no luck. Traded the truck in on the competition at 45,000 miles and said good riddance. By then the cruse control was acting up, overshooting the set speed, one body strut had broken from dirt road driving, and the transfer case electronic shift was taking so long to switch to 4WD I was driving past ice patches, and the hard spots on dirt roads where I wanted 4WD engaged, but didn't have it. Don't know what happened on the 2010 line, but Toyota quality isn't all it's cracked up to be in my opinion. And my experience with the dealers leads me to believe they don't know enough about the vehicles to serve the customer outside of moving units off the lot at sale time. Am very happy now driving the competition's offering. Toyota let me down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


SO FAR A GREAT TRUCK

by JUST AN EVERYDAY JOE from ALLENTOWN,PA | December 12, 2012

BEST WARRANTY COVERAGE FOR A USED VEHICLE I HAVE EVER GOT AND GREAT SERVICE AND SALES STAFF AT THE DEALER...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Poor quality, worse support

by High miler from New Hampshire | December 11, 2012

Purchased the truck new and had clutch fail prematurely. Obvious manufacturer's defect (search for Tacoma clutch problems - you'll find many). Toyota refuses to fix issue. Very displeased and will never buy Toyota again. Truck also has numerous lesser, nagging issues, indicative of a chronic quality problem. Perhaps Toyota has grown too quickly. Beware: quality ratings and reputation lag actual performance of the manufacturer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Nice Ride

by Fisherman from Bayville, NJ | January 30, 2012

The car is designed nice and rides well. I had three Toyota cars before so I am not surprised. Internet shopping is good. Only problem found is some dealers tell you they have car on lot and they just get you to lot and try to sell you something you don,t want. If you have the time you can find exactly what you want without driving all over the place.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Truck

by BW from Midwest | December 28, 2011

I bought my 2010 Access V6 Auto Tacoma used with only 6k on it. It looks and drives like it is brand new. I really love my truck and even bought a used set of tires to use in the winter, to save the new ones from the salt. I am 6'1" and have plenty of leg room. This truck is smaller than my old F150 but still has plenty of hauling space. I drove over 5 hours to get this truck from an out of state dealer and would do it again. BW

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Truck, No Honda Though

by JuanD from America | August 15, 2011

i got the 4 cyl. its not exactly quick, but I knew that when I bought it. But the 4 will pull and pull, darn good motor. My only ding is the interior layout. It not Honda good, but better than most american trucks I've been in. Buy one, get the v6 w/ manual tranny. You'll love it. ONe more thing, i have an access cab, never mind about thinking you'll fit an adult in the back. Anyone over about 5-1 has trouble fitting back there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


toyota forever

by det cord from fayetteville nc | July 5, 2011

owned toyota's forever. Have had two serious auto wrecks with toyota's. Escaped with minor injuries both times. Wife drives this vehicle everywhere. I put my trust in this vehicle and her camry every time she hits the road to travel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 29 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2010 Toyota Tacoma.


Featured Services for this Toyota Tacoma

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.