2011 Toyota Yaris

Change Vehicle
2011 Toyota Yaris
Available in 3 styles:  2011 Toyota Yaris 2dr Liftback shown
Asking Price Range
$7,033–$16,365
Estimated MPG

29 city / 36 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Peppy cute car

by Saving money on gas from Athens, Ga | May 7, 2012

I own a Tacoma and commute to work so my gas bill was high. I bought the car and still save money with the gas prices. It" has plenty of go" to get out of the way when accessing the highway. Only drawback is it's a little noisy. Road noise. I just turn up the radio.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2011 Toyota Yaris

by OldGuy from Durham, NC | February 13, 2012

I bought this car as a commuter car. My daily drive is about 65 miles, round trip, including some city and some interstate driving. The model I have has an automatic transmission. The average fuel economy has been averaging right around 36 mpg. It is very small, so the wind does push it around some. For such a small car, it is surprisingly roomy and comfortable. It has a nice sound system (and is ready for satellite radio, if you want it). The only change I'd really like is a cruise control. It does not come with one, cruise is not offered as an option, and the dealership will not install one (although they told me that I could have someone else do so). All-in-all, I really like the Yaris and would buy it again. Regarding reliability, I gave it 5 stars but have only owned the car for two months. No problems so far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Dude, who moved my speedometer?

by Rad Farher from East Coast US | December 31, 2011

I've driven a 2011 Yaris for a while as a long-term business rental rather than an owner. So far it's been a mixed bag.
Pros: Good mileage, an excellent seating position for a midsize driver, comfortable seats for its price class, solid road feel, a powerful heater, intuitive climate controls, and very good low-speed acceleration. Its size makes it easy to park (most of the time - see Cons) and it's very maneuverable on winding roads.
Cons: The car has a number of design negatives that could have been avoided without affecting its cost. Visibility is impaired by thick C pillars and wide door frames, though not so badly as on many other cars. The "bullnose" front end that Toyota has adopted for all of its sedans is pretentiously macho for an economy car but more importantly makes it difficult to judge clearances in tight parking spaces. The driver's side cupholder is very poorly placed and requires reaching behind both the steering wheel and light stalk which could be a danger when driving. But the single largest negative is the bizarre instrument cluster located in the center of the dash with the speedometer actually positioned closer to the passenger's field of vision than the driver's. Checking gauges requires the driver to take their eyes off the road rather than simply glancing down. The 2012 models have been redesigned to use a conventional layout, but in my opinion the cluster placement on earlier Yarises (Yarii?) is sufficiently hazardous that I would not recommend the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


A little car with a whole lotta room

by AintDeadYet from South Coastal Georgia | October 21, 2011

Our 2011 Toyota Yaris gets used for everything, from commuter trips to long-distance family vacations, grocery shopping to bringing home plants from the garden center. The 5-door hatchback design and fold-down back seat make a sizeable space, so I can manage shrubs and even small trees. The hatch is easy to tie down if I have to extend something out the back. We've taken five- and six-hour drives in the Yaris and have been just as comfortable as we would have been in my somewhat larger Subaru, while using about half the gas. My daughter is 5' 0" short, and she likes the centered speedometer console so she can see out over the dash. Toyota has the best warranties and service in the business. Our dealership is always a pleasure to deal with. And it is THE cutest car we've ever owned! Even in this small, inexpensive car the interior is right up to Toyota quality standards, unlike some of the "economical" models we looked at. No rattles or squeeks. We highly recommend this car to budget-conscious individuals and small families, especially those who live in flat places. The Yaris does have some problems with underperformance on hills.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Yaris, it's for everyone!

by Commuter Vehicle Man from Orlando, Florida | September 28, 2011

I put 175k miles on my focus and went to look for a replacement that was around 14,500$. The Focus's are now so over priced and uncomfortable that I looked elsewhere and found the Yaris. I am 6'2" 240lbs and cannot complain about the room the Yaris provides me and my passengers. It's engineering is well thought out. Like when we go grocery shopping and I need more trunk space, we flip two switches and both rear seats slide forward or fold down providing all the carrying capacity we need. The center instrument panel is futuristic and took a little getting used to but is easy to adapt to. I am ecstatic about the 40 Mpg and although it doesn't pack a huge engine it is very adequate for commuting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Rating my new Yaris

by Susan from RI from Tiverton, Rhode Island | September 26, 2011

This car is fun to drive, easy to park, great visibility and gas mileage. Very comfortable, love the hatchback for carry groceries,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Small weird car

by RedFlame from New Orleans | August 21, 2011

Very odd set up with center cluster and cup holders in front of AC vents. Smaller than my VW superbug. That said for a small cheap car-good performance, handling and mileage. Wonder about LT reliability as fit and finish have a fair amount of rattle. Maybe a good runabout.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


tank

by dpow from eastern oh | March 3, 2011

this vehicle has taken me,my friends everyone where we wanted to go. drove 6.5 hrs straigh at 72 miles an hour never stopped for gas car is a tank good with high rpms wish it was bigger but the milage and reliability is awesome

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love it!

by Chuck from Washington | February 28, 2011

Surprising little car for the money! What can I say about the quality After all, it is a Toyota. Have a look at the reliability ratings For yourself.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Never again

by Mama from | February 24, 2011

After owning this car 3 years, all the electronics started to break down. First, the CD changer jammed so I thought it was just the heat, understandable. A few weeks later, the dash refused to light up when I turned on the headlights. A week after that, 2 window mtors died and the air conditioner froze up. 3 weeks later, I traded it in for a Honda.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Toyota Yaris

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.