2014 Volkswagen Beetle

Change Vehicle
2014 Volkswagen Beetle
Available in 13 styles:  2014 Volkswagen Beetle 2dr Hatchback shown
Starting MSRP
$20,295–$32,755
Estimated MPG

21–29 city / 27–41 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Love this car!

by Patrick from El Cerrito, CA | October 17, 2014

I have a 2014 Yellow Beetle convertible with the 1.8T and automatic transition. I have also owned a 1999 New Beetle and a 1967 Beetle. This car is wonderful. First, I love the looks, top up or down. I get compliments and positive comments constantly. And guys, if you want to get women's attention, this is the automotive equivalent of a puppy. Several times while parallel parking (top down), women have come up to the car to ask about it, say how much they love it, or threaten to steal it while I am in the store. At stop lights and in slow traffic, I get people wanting to ask about the car. If you want to be left alone, get an Accord. The ride is excellent, much better than the previous model. Even though this is a convertible, it is quieter than my old 1999 hard top. The seats are also more comfortable. The engine is extremely smooth and quiet. You cannot tell if the motor is running without checking the tach. Fortunately, they have made it so that you cannot engage the starter when the engine is running. I have tried to start it several times, only to discover that is already running. This car makes me happy. When I find myself caught in bumper to bumper traffic, I take the top down, turn up the radio and enjoy the sun on my face.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Go drive/buy a VW TDI

by Danville John from Danville, CA | August 5, 2014

It's a pretty "special" feeling when seeing/driving any car can put such a "big smile" on your face, a "skip in your step" and attracts strangers like cute puppies! My wife is a bona fide "car snob". We have a beautiful Lexus SC430 Covt/Hdtp that she has driven maybe twice in 2 years! But when she saw a new Toffee-brown VW TDI Convt. with a Creme-colored Tan top - she said it was one of the "best looking cars" she had ever seen! Bingo! Sold the Lexus & here we are. I was traveling on a business trip to So Cal - so used the opportunity to shop for this "specific" vehicle on Cars.com on just my iPhone. Turns out there were ONLY 4 of these cars in the entire State of Calif. - yikes! The closest Dealer I could find ended up being a "perfect" choice - McKenna VW in HB. Alexi was my Internet Sales Contact & she was terrific! Highly recommended - zero pressure, very knowledgeable - the "exact opposite" of what you expect a car salesperson to be. :) My daughter has a new Jetta TDI Sportswagen and that might be the "most well-rounded, truly economical, German-engineered cars on the planet" but the VW Beetle TDI Convt. is totally "over-the-top". It is "pure pleasure" to drive and the performance & economy is in a "class by itself". Point: I drove the card from Orange County to San Francisco up Hwy 101 - almost exactly 500 miles on exactly 12 gallons of diesel (42+ MPG @ 75 MPH). Since I bought it almost a month a ago - I've never goteen less than 36 MPG and have routinely gotten over 53MPG @ 70+ Freeway speeds. You keep hearing about Porsche-type handling & on a trip to the Wine Country last weekend - it delivered on every promise! Go drive a Beetle or any VW - TDi & see the "smile on your face" - cars should be fun! LOL.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Love the Beetle TDI!!

by beetlebadboy from Marietta, GA | July 5, 2014

First 2 weeks of ownership -- and I am head over heals!! My first TDI, my first VW, and I am impressed. Impressive torque propels the beetle effortlessly, drives like a sports car. The 8 speaker standard satellite radio sounds nicer than my former Lincoln MKZ. In fact, probably the best sounding radio i have ever had in a vehicle. I wish the windows would not lower when opening a door. I had a Mustang that did the same thing, and it was plagued by frozen windows (stopping vehicle entry) during the winter months. Not looking forward to it happening to the beetle come winter. I do love the car through. Mine is black with the beige learette interior. Beautiful/classy looking with the interior black trim. Any Cons are so few compared to all the Pros - no need to mention them as all are personal preferences for most part. No regrets so far -- in fact I am sold on VW, particularly the beetle. Quite impressive and total FUN. TDI is a real keeper!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Miles-o-Smiles (Sun Tan Lotion Not Included)

by stew from New Jersey to Chicago | June 23, 2014

I bought an '03 convertible and it was a lot of trouble to own in a very short while and I essentially gave it away to a family member. But, because I really wanted a covertible still I continued looking around , Sebring, Camaro, the usual suspects and I always came back to the VW Beetle. Last week I paid cash for a new one and picked it up Saturday and the next day I drove it 800 miles on business. Well, 1st of all, when top down motoring? They sure got the radio right. At speed the car has everything else right. It has enough reserve power left to pass, and handling when a trucks tire blew right in front of me really made the difference as I snapped the car to the left a half a lane with out warning! Stable, sure footed, and confidence building. One button top down/up operation is great. No latches, flaps, or other worries here. The owners manual says you can drop or raise the top on the move up to about 30 mph. When the top goes down comes up, it unlatches and unlocks on its own, and if you continue to hold the switch, all four windows raise up simultaneously when it goes back up and the top latches and locks itself. Miles per gallon were as promised, BTW, it is an automatic powered by the 1.8 Turbo. I must admit, I expected less performance. How do they do that? Cruise control was a great help, seating was firm but not too hard at all. Having arrived at my destination yesterday afternoon, I topped up the tank and got a car wash ready for my business appointment this morning with confidence my new car was up for the task. A convertible Beetle is not for every one, but it sure is for me!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Always wanted a Beetle

by My Bugsy from Vermilion | May 22, 2014

Beautiful car which handles, drives and looks good. We have had many compliments already and we have told them to go to Spitzer in Amherst and the staff will treat you well. Ask for Daniel, Scott or Dawn. We love it and have been riding around with the top down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2014 Beetle TDI

by Meg from Ithaca, NY | April 10, 2014

The TDI offers great gas mileage (42+ mpg) and great handling. It's a peppy little car and the TDI is a unique driving experience if you've never driven one before. The engine sounds different and the car almost slows a little by just letting off of the gas. The interior is roomier than one would expect and the certain features light up at night in different colors!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cute Little Bug

by VW Lover 4 Life from Chicago, IL | February 24, 2014

I have enjoyed driving this car since the day I've purchased it. I live in Chicago and used it in the winter because it handled better than my VW 2009 CC. Its great on gas. All ages/ethnicity/genders constantly compliment on how "cute" she is...... I wouldnt trade her for the world! Looking forward to the summer months to style and profile.......

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Car for fun & particular people with value in mind

by ParticularBuyer from Virginia | January 17, 2014

Been watching serviceable convertibles for several years. Enjoyed our 2002 convertible very much (not a VW). It was a great car, gave us +100K miles, and taught us a lot about convertibles. Followed VW hardtop conv for several years. Replaced a SUV with a VW Jetta TDI Sportwagon and love it. When the VW TDI Beetle Conv arrived we paid attention. Researched this car for more than a year. Jetta TDI is very similar and proved very sound. Test drove a Beetle TDI Conv several months ago. Confirmed many of our conclusions. This car is smartly engineered and fun to drive. Good road vision. Improved side mirrors. Instrumentation very good for night driving. Nav and driver displays are sane and easy to use. They provide truly useful information without distraction. TDI has additional gauges on dash which give more data. Got the Windscreen accessory (necessary for putting the top down over a broad range of temperatures). Fender Subwoofer in the trunk is well tucked in to minimize its footprint. Windscreen tucks into its own shelf in top of trunk! Both are great space saving solutions. Sports supension => strong. DSG transmission => smooth. Car-Net services => High-5 value. Anticipate owning this car for +400K incredibly FUN miles! Grandkids can't wait to get their driving licenses!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very Cute and Sporty

by Fun Mobile from Sedona, AZ | November 22, 2013

We drove the car before we bought and had looked at several other cars, but the red convertible was just too cute to pass up. It has many very nice feature. Now we just have to learn about them and our sales person said he would help any time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Pretty Good Car

by Ed from Little Compton RI | October 29, 2013

I just purchased a 2014 Beetle TDI, Denim Blue with VW Skins to replace my Cyber Green TDI, which I gave to may grandson after 217,000 miles. This car is so different from the old car!!! It is simply gorgeous, looks almost like a Porsche. I get compliments every day on its' looks. The windows are as tight as a drum and the only noise you hear are the tires. The Fender sound system is great, much better than the Monsoon system in the other car. The DSG tranny is very nice and I like being able to shift it. Plenty of power and it is pretty quick in Sport Mode. You pay a price for that though. Fuel mileage is much less than the other car 38 v 47. That's a big hit. It has lots of toys, like the keyless entry, Navigation system (which is not as good as I expected). Interior quality is excellent and fit and finish is very nice. More power outlets would be nice. I think that once we get used to each other it will turn out to be as outstanding as the other car was.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2014 Volkswagen Beetle.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen Beetle

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.